Dromahair Pty Ltd v K J and GL Schamburg Pty Ltd (as trustee of the Schamburg Property Trust [2014] QDC 87
DISTRICT COURT OF QUEENSLAND
CITATION: Dromahair Pty Ltd v K J and GL Schamburg Pty Ltd (as
trustee of the Schamburg Property Trust [2014] QDC 87
PARTIES: DROMAHAIR PTY LTD
(plaintiff)
v
K J AND GL SCHAMBURG PTY LTD (AS TRUSTEE
OF THE SCHAMBURG PROPERTY TRUST)
(defendant)
FILE NO/S: 119/13
DIVISION: Civil
PROCEEDING: Application
ORIGINATING
COURT: Rockhampton
DELIVERED ON: 17 April 2014
DELIVERED AT: Brisbane
HEARING DATE: 7th April 2014
JUDGE: Smith DCJ
ORDER: 1. The Application by the Defendant for summary
judgment is dismissed except to the extent that it is
declared that the Defendant was entitled to be
reimbursed the sum of $8800 held in the trust
account of Messrs Grant and Simpson on account
of the parties.
2. The application by the Defendant for an order
striking out the statement of claim is granted and
the statement of claim is struck out.
3. The Plaintiff is allowed until 30 May 2014 in which
to re-plead its case.
4. The Plaintiff is to provide security for defendant’s
costs in the sum of $25,000.
5. Pursuant to order number 4 the court directs that
the sum of $25,000 (presently held in the trust
account of Messrs Grant and Simpson on account
of the parties) be paid into the court which sum
shall be the Plaintiff’s provision as to security for
costs.
-- 1 of 14 --
2
6. There be liberty to apply on the giving of 2 days
written notice.
7. The matter be listed for trial in the sittings
commencing 8 September 2014.
8. The costs of and incidental to the making of the
declaration referred to in order 1 will be reserved.
9. I will otherwise hear the parties on the question of
costs. For this purpose the defendant may file and
serve written submissions on the question of costs
not exceeding 3 pages by 5pm on 2 May 2014 and
the plaintiff may file and serve written submissions
in reply by 5pm on 9 May 2014 not exceeding 3
pages.
CATCHWORDS: PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE- Application for summary
judgment- whether question to be tried- whether statement of
claim should be struck out – whether order for security for
costs should be made
CONTRACT- whether there was an implied term of good
faith
Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 1999 (Q) Rr 171, 292, 293,
670, 671, 672
Agar v Hyde (2000) 201 CLR 552
Alcatel Australia v Scarcella (1998) 44 NSWLR 349
Beach Petroleum NL v Johnson (1992) 7 ACSR 203
Far Horizons Pty Ltd v McDonald’s Australia Ltd [2000]
VSC 310
Gary Rogers Motors Australia Pty Ltd v Subaru (Australia)
Pty Ltd (1999) 21 ATPR 41-703
Kakavas v Crown Melbourne Limited [2013] HCA 25
Kendell v Sweeney and Ors [2005] QSC 64
National Mutual Life Association of Australia Ltd v Oasis
Developments Pty Ltd [1983] 2 Qd R 441
Projects Company No.2 Pty Ltd v Cushway and Associates
Pty Ltd & Anor [2011] QCA 102
Southern Cross Exploration NL v Fire and All Risks
Insurance Co Lt [1985] 1 NSWLR 114
Spencer v The Commonwealth [2010] HCA 28
Taylor v Johnson (1983) 151 CLR 422
Contract Law in Australia Carter JW, Peden, E & Tolhurst
-- 2 of 14 --
3
GJ 5th Edition.
COUNSEL: Mr. G. Byrne for the Plaintiff
Mr. S. Deaves for the Defendant
SOLICITORS: McNamara and Associates for the Plaintiff
Grant and Simpson for the Defendant
Introduction
[1] This is an application by the defendant for judgment on both the claim and
counterclaim as against the plaintiff under rules 292 and 293 of the UCPR.
Alternatively the defendant seeks to strike out the statement of claim under r 171
UCPR or alternatively seeks an order that further and better particulars be provided.
[2] There is a further application by the defendant that the plaintiff pay the sum of
$62,000 by way of security for costs.
[3] The Plaintiff opposes these applications.
The pleadings
[4] The plaintiff sues the defendant for $80,000 for money owing or $80,000 damages
for breach of contract. Alternatively it seeks a declaration that the plaintiff is
entitled to $80,000 by way of equitable compensation.
[5] In the statement of claim, the plaintiff alleges that on 11 December 2012, the
plaintiff as vendor and the defendant as purchaser entered into a contract for the sale
of a property at 128 East Street Rockhampton. The purchase price was $1,380,000
with settlement due to occur on 3 April 2013.
[6] On the evening of 24/25 January 2013, the property was damaged by a storm. Prior
to settlement Mr O’Rourke (on behalf of the plaintiff) and Mr Schamburg (on
behalf of the defendant) agreed that the plaintiff would make an insurance claim.
Further in paragraph 10 it is alleged that the contract was varied to the extent that:
(a) The vendor would use all endeavours to ensure insurance claims
were lodged and processed as soon as possible with its insurer;
(b) $80,000 of the purchase price would be retained in the trust account
of the defendant’s solicitors Grant & Simpson;
(c) In the event the repairs were not completed within two calendar
months after settlement the purchaser (the defendant) would be at
liberty to access the funds to arrange for the repairs to be completed;
and
(d) The defendant would be at liberty to access the retention money to
subsidise the shortfall in rent which the defendant would have
received from Pimp My Party Pty Ltd if not for the repair work.
-- 3 of 14 --
4
[7] It is alleged that Mr O’Rourke on behalf of the plaintiff lodged an insurance claim
(paragraph 11).
[8] In paragraph 13 it is alleged “in making the contract, John O’Rourke, who as
director was the decision maker for and representative of the plaintiff with respect
of the contract, was not aware of or did not turn his mind to clause 17 of the
contract, whereby risk passed to the defendant on 12 December 2013 and he
assumed that since the plaintiff had insurance, that the insurance would pay for the
repairs.”
[9] It is then alleged that on 4 April 2013 the plaintiff made the insurance claim
(paragraph 15).
[10] The plaintiff pressed for an urgent resolution of the insurance claim and at the
request of the insurer it requested information of insurance details regarding the
property from the defendant via its solicitors (paragraph 19).
[11] It is then alleged there were two relevant implied terms in the contract namely:
(a) That each party had agreed to do all such things as were necessary on
its part to enable the other party to have the benefit of the contract
(paragraph 22). It is alleged that there was an agreement the plaintiff
would use all endeavours to ensure the insurance claims were lodged
and processed and this could not effectually be done unless the
defendant cooperated and supplied information required by the
plaintiff’s insurer.
(b) The second implied term is that each party would act with good faith
in respect to the contract with respect to the duties of the other party
to the contract (paragraph 24). It is alleged that since the plaintiff’s
insurer did not receive information from the defendant it did not
process the plaintiff’s insurance claim (paragraph 28). It is further
alleged that prior to 19 June 2013 (two months after settlement) the
defendant’s solicitors made many attempts to obtain the information
required by the plaintiff’s insurer but this was not forthcoming from
the defendant (paragraph 29).
The plaintiff claims the relief I have mentioned earlier.
The defence and counterclaim
[12] In the defence and counter claim the defendant admits a number of the allegations
contained in the statement of claim.
[13] However the defendant denies:
(a) There was an implied term that each party would act in good faith to
each other (paragraph 7);
-- 4 of 14 --
5
(b) That no invoices or quotes were supplied by the defendant to the
plaintiff. Indeed in this regarding [9] of the defence, the defendant
alleges that a number of relevant documents were provided.
[14] Further the defendant alleges the property was subject to a number of registered
easements which were not disclosed in the contract and constituted a material miss-
description (paragraph 10).
[15] Further it is alleged that without notice the plaintiff in or about February 2013
agreed with the lessee Pimp My Party to reduce lease B payments from $4,000 per
week to $2,200 per week until the storm damage was repaired (paragraph 15). No
notification of this was given to the defendant.
[16] It is therefore alleged that the defendant was entitled to terminate the contract
(paragraph 18).
[17] It is alleged the defendant’s solicitor advised the plaintiff’s solicitors of the above
circumstances and provided the plaintiff agreed to (a) repair the damage, (b)
reimburse any shortfall in rent and (c) to a retention, the contract would be affirmed
(paragraph 19).
[18] It then alleges that the agreement in paragraph 10 of the statement of claim was
reached and $80,000 was retained (paragraphs 20, 21).
[19] In the counterclaim it is alleged the plaintiff failed to cause the damage to be
repaired by 3 June 2013 (paragraph 23).
[20] It is then alleged the defendant repaired the damage by October 2013 for the
following costs:
(a) Day to Day Construction $1,295;
(b) Day to Day Construction $27,325.10;
(c) Goode Air Refrigeration and Air Conditioning $16,187.33
Total: $44,807.43.
[21] It is further alleged the rental shortfall was $8,800 (paragraph 27).
[22] In the premises declarations are sought that the defendant is entitled to $44,807.43
plus $8,800 or alternatively damages in the sum of $53,607.43.
Reply and answer
[23] The plaintiff admits the allegations that the easements were not disclosed in the
contract (although in paragraph 4 it alleges they were disclosed in correspondence
on 18 January 2013); the allegations concerning the rent reduction; and agrees there
-- 5 of 14 --
6
was an election by the defendant to affirm on the basis alleged by the defendant in
paragraph 19 (see paragraph 2 of the reply).
[24] In answer to the counterclaim it alleges that the repairs were not done as the
defendant refused to provide details of its insurance (see paragraph 7). It cannot
admit that the repairs were done or the cost of them (see paragraphs 8,9 and 10).
[25] It admits the defendant is entitled to a shortfall in rent but cannot admit the quantum
(see paragraph 12).
[26] It further says that the GoodeAir Refrigeration and Conditioning account of
$16,187.33 does not relate to the storm (see paragraph 10).
The affidavit material
Defendant’s material
[27] Bianca White in an affidavit filed on behalf of the defendant on 19 March 2014
states that on 29 January 2014 a rule 444 letter was sent by the defendants to the
plaintiff (BRW5) which required particulars of the statement of claim. These do not
appear to have been provided.
[28] Georgina Schamburg, the sole director of the defendant has sworn an affidavit
which was filed on 26 March 2014.
[29] In this affidavit she produces the contract (GLS02) and also produces the lease to
Pimp My Party Pty Ltd (GLS03).
[30] She alleges that on or about 22 February 2013 she became aware of the reduced
rental agreement to the lessee and that no consent had been obtained from the
defendant regarding this (paragraphs 5-6).
[31] Further, in paragraph 7, she alleges she instructed the defendant’s solicitors to
advise the plaintiff’s solicitors that she was willing to affirm the contract on the
condition that the plaintiff agreed to be responsible for repairing the damage, the
plaintiff would reimburse any rental shortfall and there would be a retention
amount. Ultimately it was agreed the retention amount would be $80,000.
[32] She alleges in paragraph 11 that the plaintiff failed to cause the repairs to the
damage to be completed by 3 June 2013 and indeed had not caused the repairs to be
completed by the end of September 2013 (paragraph 11).
[33] The defendant thereby caused the repairs to the damage to be completed and the
following costs were incurred:
-- 6 of 14 --
7
(a) Day to Day Construction $1,295;
(b) Day to Day Construction $27,325.10 and
(c) Goode Air Refrigeration and Air conditioning $16,187.33.
[34] She confirms that these amounts had been paid. She also confirms that the sum of
$8,800 was received on or about 23 April 2013.
[35] On or about 1 July 2013 the defendant’s solicitors wrote to the plaintiff’s insurer’s
solicitors indicating the defendant did not have insurance over the property
following the signing of the contract.
[36] Turning to the exhibits contained in Ms Schamburg’s affidavit, GLS04 sets out
relevant correspondence. I have had regard to this. There is a letter from Goode
Air dated 21 February 2013 which indicates that the sum of $14,715.75 excluding
GST did relate to the storm damage. Additionally the letters from Day to Day
Constructions prove, in my opinion, that the amounts relate to repairs caused by the
storm.
Plaintiff’s material
[37] Mr O’Rourke a director of Dromahair, the plaintiff, has provided an affidavit. He
says in this affidavit that the delay in this matter has been caused by a lack of cash
flow within Dromahair.
[38] In relation to the affidavit of Ms Schamburg sworn 26 March 2014 he says “it was
my expectation that the repairs would be covered by the insurance policy which
Dromahair Pty Ltd had on the property. Once the insurance claim was approved the
repairs would have been completed. The insurance company sought to clarify if the
defendant had insurance as the insurance risk passed to the defendant under the
terms of the contract, the day after the contract was signed. The defendant would
not provide any response to the plaintiff for its insurer. The defendant’s solicitors
could not give any instructions from the defendant for months.”
[39] He attaches as JP01 correspondence in this regard.
[40] On 19 June 2014 CLS Lawyers on behalf of SRS Underwriting wrote to Grant &
Simpson noting that that they had spoken to Mr Schamburg who advised he had
contacted his insurance broker and requested a response as a matter of urgency.
[41] There is also a letter dated 17 May 2013 requesting notification as to whether the
defendant had insurance covering the property. There is further a letter from
McNamara Associates to Grant & Simpson alleging “your clients’ action or
omission in failing to provide to provide details of its insurance and tenancy
frustrates the agreement you allege in the 15 May letter to us. The correspondence
and discussions demonstrate that your client has not answered this simple query,
-- 7 of 14 --
8
that you cannot get instructions regarding it and that my client’s insurance claim
will not be processed until such information is supplied.”
[42] It is alleged in paragraph 17(c) “the repairs were not completed because of the
defendant’s delay as the insurance company would not approve the claim until it
knew if they were the insurance company liable or whether the defendant should
make a claim under their own insurance policy.”
[43] Exhibit JP02 is a letter from Dromahair’s insurer which indicates it was prepared to
accept the claim arising in the sum of $28,433.27 (the excess was $20,000).
Submissions
Defendant’s submissions
[44] The defendant submitted that summary judgment should be given in favour of the
defendant in respect of both the claim and counter claim. It is submitted that the
plaintiff appears to be relying on the doctrine of mistake and upon breach of implied
terms. The only type of mistake alleged appears to be a unilateral one. In this
regard the defendant relies on [20] – [38] of Contract Law in Australia Carter JW,
Peden, E & Tolhurst GJ 5th Edition and Taylor v Johnson (1983) 151 CLR 422 at
432. It is submitted there is no pleading that the defendant knew or ought to have
known of the plaintiff’s mistake nor is there any pleading that the defendant in any
way contributed to the mistake.
[45] Turning then to the implied terms it is submitted that the first implied term namely
“each party agree to do all such things as were necessary to enable the other to have
the benefit of the contract” is admitted but there is no pleading to explain how this
term was breached. The plaintiff does not explain on its pleading how any benefit is
being lost.
[46] With respect to the alleged implied term of good faith the defendant denies the
existence of such an implied term. It is submitted by reference to Kendell v
Sweeney and Ors [2005] QSC 64 that such a term is not implied into commercial
contracts in Queensland. In any event the plaintiff pleads no facts which would lead
to a conclusion that such a term should be implied as a matter of fact.
[47] Finally it is submitted that the pleading does not explain how the plaintiff suffered
any loss. There is no pleading the plaintiff lost any right to claim an indemnity
under its insurance policy for the cost of repairs. The claim is the $80,000 is owed
by way of a “debt” which is simply not explained.
[48] In terms of the claim for judgment on the counterclaim it is submitted that when one
considers the affidavit of Ms Schamburg, the plaintiff’s claim cannot succeed
because the amendments to the existing contract were agreed to in circumstances
where the defendant had an entitlement to terminate the existing contract and agreed
-- 8 of 14 --
9
to a varied contract in consideration of the amendment. The plaintiff was
represented by lawyers in connection with the existing contract and the agreement
to amend.
[49] The terms of the amending contract were clear and despite the fact there was some
delay in confirming that it did not have insurance in place, the defendant waited a
further four months after the agreed two month period had expired before
undertaking the repairs itself.
Plaintiff’s submissions
[50] On the other hand the plaintiff submits that the defendant in the face of multiple
requests failed to answer a simple question “do you have insurance on the building
the subject of the contract?” It is submitted that the primary consideration is that
the court would be exceedingly reluctant to deny a defendant [to a counter-claim] an
opportunity to present a valid defence to a counterclaim regardless of the amount of
time that has elapsed (see National Mutual Life Association of Australia Ltd v Oasis
Developments Pty Ltd [1983] 2 Qd.R.441 at 449).
[51] It is further submitted that it is open to the court to imply a term for the parties to act
in good faith into the contract. There is no decision in Queensland which would
prevent such an implication and indeed the law in New South Wales is clear as there
have been a number of pronouncements that such a term can be implied into
commercial contracts (See Alcatel Australia v Scarcella (1998) 44 NSWR 349). In
addition in both the Supreme Court of Victoria (see Far Horizons Pty Ltd v
McDonald’s Australia Ltd [2000] VSC 310) and the Federal Court of Australia (see
Gary Rogers Motors Australia Pty Ltd v Subaru (Australia) Pty Ltd (1999) 21
ATPR 41-703 it has been held that a term of good faith can be implied into a
commercial contract.
Principles to be applied
[52] The application here is one of summary judgment in favour of the defendant both in
respect of the claim and counter-claim. The relevant rules are rules 292 (for a
plaintiff) and 293 of the UCPR (for a defendant). The court is empowered to give
summary judgment where:
(a) The plaintiff has no real prospect of succeeding on all or part of the
plaintiff’s claim; and
(b) There is no need for a trial of the claim or part of the claim.
[53] The tests for both 292 and 293 are the same i.e. what is required is there is a high
degree of certainty about the ultimate outcome of the proceeding – if it were
allowed to proceed in the ordinary way (see Agar v Hyde (2000) 201 CLR 552).
[54] As French CJ and Gummow J in Spencer v The Commonwealth [2010] HCA 28
said at [24]:
-- 9 of 14 --
10
“The exercise of powers to summarily terminate proceedings must
always be attended with caution. That is so whether such disposition
is sought on the basis that the pleadings fail to disclose a reasonable
cause of action or on the basis that the action is frivolous or
vexatious or an abuse of process. The same applies where such a
disposition is sought in a summary judgment application supported
by evidence. As to the latter, this court Fancourt v Mercantile
Credits Ltd said:
‘The power to order summary or final judgment is one
that should be exercised with great care that there is no
real question to be tried’.”
More recently, in Batistatos v Roads and Traffic Authority (NSW)
Gleeson CJ, Gummow, Hayne and Crennan JJ repeated a statement
by Gaudron, McHugh, Gummow and Hayne JJ in Agar v Hyde
which included the following:
"Ordinarily, a party is not to be denied the opportunity to
place his or her case before the court in the ordinary way,
and after taking advantage of the usual interlocutory
processes. The test to be applied has been expressed in
various ways, but all of the verbal formulae which have
been used are intended to describe a high degree of
certainty about the ultimate outcome of the proceeding if
it were allowed to go to trial in the ordinary way.’”
[55] Further in Projects Company No.2 Pty Ltd v Cushway and Associates Pty Ltd &
Anor [2011] QCA 102 at [27] the court noted that where the law is uncertain
especially in a state of development, it is inappropriate to strike out a claim.
Conclusions as to the summary judgment application
[56] In reaching my decision I have had regard to the material filed, the submissions of
the parties and the legal principles applicable. I also consider the onus is on the
defendant.
[57] As noted above it seems clear from the correspondence attached to Mr. O’Rourke’s
affidavit that requests were made to the Defendant as to its insurance position as
early as 15 May 2013. On 15 May 2013 Grant and Simpson was advised that the
insurance claim would not be processed until the defendant provided details of its
insurance. In addition CLS lawyers on behalf of the Plaintiff’s insurer wrote to
Grant and Simpson on 17 May 2013 and 19 June 2013 in this regard. It seems that a
reply was only given on 1 July 2013, after the 2 month period. It may be relevant
why there was such a delay.
[58] That is of course not the end of the matter because none of the above matters if this
was irrelevant to an insurance payout to the Plaintiff. I was told from the bar table
-- 10 of 14 --
11
that it was, but there is no pleading as to this nor is there evidence in the form of the
insurance contract.
[59] It may be there is an argument on the part of the plaintiff that a term of good faith
may be implied.
[60] In Kendell (supra) Muir J at [59] noted there is to be caution applicable to this are
but it was not necessary for his Honour to express a concluded view as to which line
of authority should be followed (see [60]). I certainly do not think it appropriate for
a District Court judge to strike out a claim where there is some uncertainty as to the
state of the law.
[61] In this case it may be if the plaintiff properly pleads his claim there is a case
arguable concerning the breach of such an implied condition and further an arguable
case on mistake engendered by unconscionable conduct.
[62] In all of the circumstances having considered the affidavit material and the
correspondence it might be argued that the plaintiff was shut out of his insurance
claim and thus his contractual position by reason of the defendant’s conduct.
[63] I obviously enough do not express any concluded view as to this because for
reasons I am about to express the statement of claim is presently defective.
[64] In the circumstances I am prepared to make a declaration in terms of paragraph (a)
of the counterclaim (which was conceded) and reserve the costs relating to such
declaration but am not prepared presently to enter judgment for the defendant either
relating to the plaintiff’s claim or to the counterclaim. I will give the plaintiff a
chance to properly plead its case.
[65] I note that on 18 September 2013 CLS approved an insurance payment of
$28,433.27 ($20,000 was the excess payable by the Plaintiff). At the least it would
seem the quantum of the Plaintiff’s claim may be reduced. It may be that this is
relevant to the central issue in dispute as well.
Strike out application
[66] Rule 171 of UCPR permits a court to strike out all or part of a pleading if inter alia
it discloses no reasonable cause of action
[67] It is my respectful opinion the statement of claim is defective and presently does not
disclose a reasonable cause of action.
[68] There are a number of problems with the pleading as follows:
(a) No factual basis is alleged for the implication of the terms here;
(b) No factual basis is alleged as to how the money is due and owing;
-- 11 of 14 --
12
(c) There is no factual basis linking any condition with the claim for
damages;
(d) There is no factual basis sufficiently alleged proving unconscionable
conduct. At the moment the alleged mistake appears to be unilateral
only;
(e) It is alleged that the plaintiff was denied from pursuing its insurance
claim because the defendant failed to advise as to whether it was
insured. This is not pleaded. One would have thought that this was a
central matter upon which the plaintiff’s case entirely rests.
[69] It may well be that the action is a difficult one for the plaintiff. The fact is unless
there was some positive misrepresentation or misleading or other unconscionable
conduct on the part of the Defendant it would appear to be Mr O’Rourke’s fault that
he did not turn his mind to clause 17 and it was his decision to enter into the varied
contract which does appear clear in its terms.
[70] In Kakavas v Crown Melbourne Limited [2013] HCA 25 at [18] it was said:
The invocation of the conscience of equity requires "a scrutiny of the exact relations
established between the parties" to determine "the real justice of the case". Where
an appeal is made by a plaintiff to the standards of equity embodied in the Amadio
principle, the task of the courts is to determine whether the whole course of dealing
between the parties has been such that, as between the parties, responsibility for the
plaintiff's loss should be ascribed to unconscientious conduct on the part of the
defendant. In Louth v Diprose, Deane J explained the basis on which the conscience
of equity is engaged to apply the Amadio principle:
"The intervention of equity is not merely to relieve the plaintiff from the
consequences of his own foolishness. It is to prevent his victimization."
[71] I do not express any concluded view on the matter as I have not heard all of the
evidence on the matter.
[72] Given the state of the matter I consider it appropriate to give the Plaintiff another
chance to repair its pleading.
[73] In those circumstances I propose to strike out the statement of claim. I do not strike
out the action or the claim itself. I will permit the plaintiff to re-plead its case
bearing in mind the reasons I have given. I propose to allow the plaintiff 28 days in
which to re-plead its case.
[74] I note that a party may plead a conclusion of law if the supporting facts are pleaded
(see Rule 149(2) UCPR). This would be desirable in the instant case.
Security for costs
-- 12 of 14 --
13
[75] The defendant submitted that if the plaintiff was permitted to re-plead its case an
order for security for costs should be made pursuant to r 670.
[76] Rule 670 is subject to rules 671 and 672. I have regard to the matters listed in 671
and 672.
[77] A corporation will be considered unable to pay the costs of a successful defendant if
the circumstances are that it can only do so if given extended time to realise assets
which it might be difficult to realise (see Southern Cross Exploration NL v Fire and
All Risks Insurance Co Lt (1985) 1 NSWLR 114 of 121 and Beach Petroleum NL v
Johnson (1992) 7 ACSR 203 at 205).
[78] I take into account Mr O’Rourke’s affidavit. It would seem a fair conclusion that
the plaintiff might be regarded as “asset rich” but “cash poor” with significant
liabilities. Indeed it is clear he had difficulties funding his present solicitors which
led to a delay of this action (see paragraph 11).
[79] The affidavit indicates the assets are worth $12.7m and liabilities are $5.85m. There
are presently refinancing negotiations. No valuations are produced. Mr. O’Rourke
was hoping to access the $80,000 to improve the Plaintiff’s cash flow position.
[80] He states in [10] the fact the company did not received the $80,000 or $200,000
from Pimp My party “had an enormous impact on the cash flow of [the Plaintiff].”
[81] I find that without security, there is a real possibility the Plaintiff will be unable to
pay the Defendant’s costs if ordered to pay them. Further the justice of the case
requires the making of the order because as I have indicated I find the Plaintiff may
have difficulties proving its case. In light of the fact there is a retention fund I
consider it not oppressive to make the order as the funds from that fund may be paid
into court.
[82] I have had regard to the amounts sought as specified in the affidavit of Bianca
White.
[83] In all of the circumstances in the exercise of my discretion I find this is an
appropriate case for the plaintiff to provide security for costs of the defendant of and
incidental to the proceeding.
[84] In all of the circumstances I am prepared to make an order for security for costs in
the sum of $25,000. It seems to me $62,000 is excessive in terms of standard costs
up to and including the first day of the trial. Such an order should be made up to and
including day 1 of the trial. A further application for security can be made at the
conclusion of the first day of the trial and can be considered on the merits at that
stage.
-- 13 of 14 --
14
Orders
[85] The orders will be as follows:
(a) The Application by the Defendant for summary judgment is dismissed except to the
extent that it is declared that the Defendant was entitled to be reimbursed the sum of
$8800 held in the trust account of Messrs Grant and Simpson on account of the
parties.
(b) The application by the Defendant for an order striking out the statement of claim is
granted and the statement of claim is struck out.
(c) The Plaintiff is allowed until 30 May 2014 in which to re-plead its case.
(d) The Plaintiff is to provide security for the defendant’s costs in the sum of $25,000.
(e) Pursuant to order number 4 the court directs that the sum of $25,000 (presently held
in the trust account of Messrs Grant and Simpson on account of the parties) be paid
into the court which sum shall be the Plaintiff’s provision as to security for costs.
(f) There be liberty to apply on the giving of 2 days written notice.
(g) The matter be listed for trial in the sittings commencing on 8 September 2014.
(h) The costs of and incidental to the making of the declaration referred to in order 1
will be reserved.
(i) I will otherwise hear the parties on the question of costs. For this purpose the
defendant may file and serve written submissions on the question costs not
exceeding 3 pages by 5pm on 2 May 2014 and the plaintiff may file and serve
written submissions in reply by 5pm on 9 May 2014 not exceeding 3 pages.
-- 14 of 14 --
Official source: https://www.sclqld.org.au/caselaw/QDC/2014/087