Dinca v Simon Blackwood (Workers' Compensation Regulator) [2014] QIRC 36
QUEENSLAND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS COMMISSION
CITATION: Dinca v Simon Blackwood (Workers'
Compensation Regulator) [2014] QIRC 036
PARTIES: Dinca, Mariana
(Appellant)
v
Simon Blackwood (Workers' Compensation
Regulator)
(Respondent)
CASE NO: WC/2013/233
PROCEEDING: Appeal against the decision of Simon Blackwood
(Workers' Compensation Regulator)
DELIVERED ON: 19 February 2014
HEARING DATES: 28 January 2014
29 January 2014
MEMBER: Deputy President Kaufman
ORDERS : 1. The Appeal is allowed
2. The decision of the Regulator is set aside
3. The claim is one for acceptance
4. The Employer to pay the Appellant's
costs of and incidental to the appeal
CATCHWORDS: WORKERS' COMPENSATION - APPEAL
AGAINST DECISION - Whether an injury was
suffered - Whether injury arose out of, or in the
course of, employment - Whether the worker's
employment was a significant contributing factor
to the injury - Worker bears onus - Balance of
probabilities - Medical evidence - Appellant
discharged onus - Appeal allowed
CASES: Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act
2003, s 32, s 32(1), s 32(3)(b)
Toll Holdings Ltd v Q-COMP (WC/2010/96)
Suzanne Maree Karipa v Q-Comp
(WC/2011/453)
Pleming v Workers' Compensation Board of
Queensland (1996) 152 QGIG 1181
Goodman Fielder and WorkCover Queensland
(2004) 175 QGIG 871
-- 1 of 13 --
2
APPEARANCES: Mr. J. Morris, Counsel instructed by Shine
Lawyers for the Appellant.
Mr. G. Clark, of Simon Blackwood (Workers'
Compensation Regulator), the Respondent.
Mr. S. Sapsford, Counsel instructed by McInnes
Wilson for Woolworths Limited.
[1] This is an appeal by Mariana Dinca (the Appellant) against a decision of the Review
Unit, Q-COMP to confirm an earlier decision of the self-insurer of her employer,
Woolworths Limited (Woolworths), to reject the Appellant's application for worker's
compensation under the Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003
(the Act). Since the making of the claim for compensation, the Act has been
amended with the result that Q-COMP has been abolished and replaced by the
Workers' Compensation Regulator, Simon Blackwood, the Respondent
(the Regulator). In these reasons, Q-COMP will also be called the Regulator.
[2] On 16 January 2014, Deputy President O'Connor granted leave to Woolworths to be
heard on the appeal.
The Appeal
[3] The Appellant was employed by Woolworths as a console operator at a petrol station
in Southport.
[4] On 14 December 2012, pursuant to the Act, the Appellant lodged an application for
workers' compensation for a physical knee injury described as "knee pain" with
Woolworth's self-insurer, WOW Care (the Insurer).
[5] The Appellant alleges that, whilst employed by Woolworths, she suffered injuries to
her right knee over a period of weeks prior to the date of the incident in question,
12 June 2012. 1
[6] The claim was referred for determination and management for the purposes of the
Act to the Insurer. The Insurer decided:
"Based on the above information, I am unable to substantiate that you have
sustained a work-related injury within the terms of section 32(1) of the Act."
and determined that the Appellant had not suffered an injury for the purposes of s 32
of the Act.
[7] On or about 15 May 2013, the Appellant sought review of the Insurer's decision by
the Regulator and on 21 June 2013 the Regulator reviewed the Insurer's decision and
confirmed its decision to reject the claim.
1 The incident in question occurred at 3.00am in the morning of 12 June 2012. The Appellant's shift began
on 11 June 2012, and the incident is referred to, at times, as occurring on 11 or 12 June 2012 throughout this
decision.
-- 2 of 13 --
3
[8] On or about 12 July 2013, the Appellant filed a notice of appeal against the decision
of the Regulator and the appeal was listed for hearing before the Commission on
28 and 29 January 2014.
[9] This proceeding is by way of a hearing de novo and the Appellant has the onus of
establishing on the balance of probabilities that she has suffered an injury within the
meaning of s 32 of the Act. 2
[10] The issue for determination in this appeal is whether the Appellant sustained an
"injury" within the meaning of s 32 of the Act.
[11] Section 32 relevantly provides:
"32 Meaning of injury
(1) An injury is personal injury arising out of, or in the course of,
employment if-
(a) for an injury other than a psychiatric or psychological disorder-
the employment is a significant contributing factor to the injury; or
…
(3) Injury includes the following-
(a) a disease contracted in the course of employment, whether at or
away from the place of employment, if the employment is a
significant contributing factor to the disease;
(b) an aggravation of the following, if the aggravation arises out of,
or in the course of, employment and the employment is a significant
contributing factor to the aggravation-
(i) a personal injury other than psychiatric or psychological
disorder;
(ii) a disease;
(iii) a medical condition other than a psychiatric or
psychological disorder, if the condition becomes a personal
injury or disease because of the aggravation; …"
[12] The Appellant puts her case in two ways;
first, that she suffered a tear to the medial meniscus of her right knee
whilst in the process of bending down to look at a shelf on 12 June 2012
whilst in the course of her employment with Woolworths; or
alternatively
that a previously existing meniscal tear was aggravated whilst she was
undertaking the abovementioned employment duties and that this
constitutes an "injury" within the meaning of s 32.
2 Toll Holdings Ltd AND Q-Comp (WC/2010/96) - Decision <http://www.qirc.qld.gov.au>.
-- 3 of 13 --
4
Background
[13] The Appellant, a Romanian who moved to Australia in 1989 and speaks good
English, had worked for Woolworths for approximately five and a half years prior to
making her application for compensation.
[14] In the course of that employment the Appellant was primarily required to perform
console duties in a petrol station and to restock the shelves of the business therein.
[15] For some period of time prior to 12 June 2012 the Appellant had suffered from
increasing pain in her right knee. There is contradictory evidence from the
Appellant as to whether the onset of pain occurred in March or May of 2012.
[16] On 7 June 2012, whilst walking down a few stairs at her domestic premises, the
Appellant felt some instability and pain in her right knee. Although there is some
issue as to whether she slipped at this time, it is not disputed that she did not fall.
She leant on her husband for support and returned to her flat and applied ice to the
knee. The symptoms disappeared within approximately 20 minutes and she went
shopping for some three hours without experiencing any further difficulties with her
right knee.
[17] At approximately 1.00 am on 12 June 2012, the Appellant experienced pain in her
right knee. This was after she had commenced her shift shortly before midnight.
Her evidence was that at around 3.00 am she bent down to check stock on a bottom
shelf and suffered severe, sharp pain in her right knee. She said that she was unable
to move for some time and eventually hobbled to the till.
[18] The Appellant saw a General Practitioner on 12 June 2012, following the end of the
shift in question, and subsequently had an MRI.
[19] On 28 June 2012 the Appellant underwent a right knee arthroscopy performed by
Dr Michael Graze at the John Flynn Hospital.
[20] The Appellant made application to "HCF" to claim for the expenses associated with
the surgery and in so doing informed HCF that the cause of her injury was the event
which occurred at her domestic premises on 7 June 2012. There was no mention to
that organisation of any work related injury.
[21] In August of 2012, the Appellant began to experience worsening pain and
discomfort in her right knee and was referred back to Dr Graze. Until then she had
had no pain in her right knee.
Nature of the employment
[22] Until 26 March 2012 the Appellant had worked on day shift.
[23] She commenced working on night shift, or as she called it, the graveyard shift, on
26 March 2012. This shift ran from approximately midnight to 7.00 am. Her roster
required her to work five night and four day shifts per fortnight.
-- 4 of 13 --
5
[24] The duties performed on night shift differed from those on day shift, in that far more
lifting, bending and carrying of goods was required on night shift. It was during the
course of that shift that most of the placing of product into the storeroom and the
stacking of shelves and refrigerators in the retail shop associated with the petrol
station took place. The Appellant, when she worked on night shift, was the only
employee on the premises. The shop was locked and transactions, mainly payment
for petrol, were conducted through a window.
[25] On night shift the Appellant was also required to perform cleaning tasks, including
cleaning the toilets.
[26] I gather that the products sold at the premises were the usual range of products found
at convenience stores. In order to take product to the storeroom, the Appellant was
required to move cartons that had been delivered and placed in the centre of the shop
to a storeroom located at the rear of the premises. The heaviest of the cartons
contained eight two litre bottles of soft drink. Although the Appellant had the use of
a trolley this appears to have been of limited utility. According to the Appellant, she
had almost no time to rest during the course of the night shift.
[27] I accept the evidence of the Appellant and Mr Paul Annette, another employee at the
store who also worked night shift, that far more bending, lifting and twisting took
place during the course of night shift than was the case with day shift when more
time was required to serve customers. I am also satisfied that most of the "load
nights" were worked by Mr Annette and not by the Appellant. Load nights are the
night shifts after deliveries of, particularly, the eight bottle cartons have occurred.
Injury
[28] The Appellant's primary submission is that her injury occurred when she bent down
to check a low shelf at approximately 3.00 am on 12 June 2012 on the shift that had
commenced just before midnight of the previous day, 11 June 2012.
[29] Her evidence was that after commencing work she began to suffer the onset of pain
at around 1.00 am. At 3.00 am she bent down to check stock on a bottom shelf and
experienced severe pain in her right knee. This was accompanied by an inability to
move. She stated she was in shock, began to cry and, after a period, limped to the till
and rested.
[30] Her evidence was that when the manager, Mr Matt Ruyter, arrived at about 7:30 am
she was crying and he asked her what was wrong and she told him what had
happened and that she thought she had a serious problem. He told her to have her
husband collect her and that is what occurred. Mr Ruyter, who was called by
Woolworths, has almost no memory of this, but says that he would have noted the
incident in accordance with Woolworths' policies had it occurred as suggested by the
Appellant.
[31] Following the end of her shift, the Appellant made an appointment with her GP. As
her regular doctor was unavailable she saw Dr Bromberg on 12 June 2012. She said
that she informed him of the incident. She had an MRI and returned to see her
regular GP, Dr Alexander, on 15 June 2012.
-- 5 of 13 --
6
[32] The Appellant was eventually referred to an Orthopaedic surgeon, Dr Graze, who
performed an arthroscopic partial medial meniscectomy on 28 June 2012. The
surgery appeared to be successful and she was given a certificate enabling her to
return to work on light duties from 23 July 2012. However, Woolworths would not
allow her to return to work without a full clearance, which she obtained from Dr
Alexander. She returned to full time day shift, but some time later the pain in her
right knee recurred.
[33] The Appellant said she did not make a workers' compensation application after the
12 June 2012 incident because she didn't want to get her employer involved. It had
been her intention to return to work as quickly as possible after her surgery. It was
only when she suffered continuing problems after her surgery and returned to work
in about August 2012 that she obtained a Workers Compensation Certificate and
made an application for compensation.
[34] It is accepted by all the parties to this appeal, and I agree, that whether or not the
Appellant might have sustained a work related injury in the period following her
return to work after surgery does not fall for consideration as part of this appeal.
[35] Dr Alexander's evidence did little more than confirm that the Appellant had tried to
see her on 12 June 2012, and that due to the doctor's unavailability she had seen
Dr Bromberg who had ordered an MRI. Dr Alexander informed the Appellant of
the result of the MRI and referred her to an orthopaedic surgeon, which referral
resulted in Dr Graze performing the arthroscopic surgery.
[36] It appears that after the Appellant had had the surgery on 28 June 2012, she saw
Dr Alexander on 25 July 2012 at which time she told the doctor that she had slipped
but not fallen whilst going downstairs, prior to being diagnosed with the meniscal
tear. It also appears that the Appellant had told Dr Alexander that her specialist
suggested that the tear was related to "the fall" [Exhibit A9].
[37] Dr Graze was not called to give evidence, but his correspondence to Dr Alexander
was tendered by consent. In his letter of 27 June 2012 he notes that the Appellant
had a medial meniscal tear "although she recalls no injury to the knee specifically.
She has had symptoms for the last 3 or so months. The knee has a sensation of
giving out at times." There then follows correspondence detailing his review of the
Appellant's progress from time to time.
[38] Dr Peter Dodd, an orthopaedic surgeon, examined the Appellant at the behest of
Woolworths on 29 January 2013. In relating her history he observed that her night
shift "job is varied in that she is expected to do some bending and lifting such as
when filling shelves etcetera." He noted that "her initial discomfort in her right knee
began towards the end of May 2012. She noticed some discomfort in the parapetellar
region on bending, lifting and squatting. This became particularly severe on
11 June 2012 when the pain at the end of her shift at 6.00 am was very severe and
she could not weight bear. She had difficulty continuing with work."
[Exhibit W3].
[39] The doctor went on to say that the Appellant "denied problems with her right knee"
but had recently developed similar problems with her left knee. The Appellant, in
her evidence-in-chief, denied having told the doctor that she was experiencing
-- 6 of 13 --
7
problems with her left knee, but said she might have told him that she feared that she
would develop such problems because she was overcompensating with her left leg.
[40] Dr Dodd opined that his diagnosis of the Appellant's current right knee injury is
osteoarthritis of the median femoral condyle and the patellofemoral joint. He went
on to state that he didn't think that the Appellant had had a particular work injury.
Rather he thought that "… she has had a degenerative tear of the medial meniscus
concurrent with degenerative changes in the medial femoral condyle and the
patellofemoral joint." [Exhibit W3].
[41] The doctor did not think her current symptoms were the result of her returning to full
time duties too early following surgery. Rather, he thought that her current
symptoms were a natural progression of the degenerative changes that are present in
the medial compartment as indicated by her recent MRI scan. He doubted that her
current symptoms had any relationship to her employment.
[42] Given that this appeal is not concerned with the Appellant's current state of health,
the doctor's observations as to her current situation are of limited assistance, other
than his opinion that the Appellant had not had a particular work injury. He did,
however, expand on this issue during his oral testimony.
[43] In his evidence-in-chief, when the doctor was informed of the 7 June 2012 stairs
incident, he opined that that it was possible that the slip on the stairs had caused the
meniscal tear, or that it had aggravated pre-existing degeneration.
[44] Associate Professor David Morgan, an orthopaedic surgeon, examined the Appellant
on 2 October 2013, and provided a report which was tendered without objection. In
his opinion, the Appellant had suffered with some clinically unrecognised
degenerative disease in the right knee, which condition was significantly worsened
by the work practices required of her at the service station. He also considered the
incident of 12 June 2012 to be of some importance. The Appellant had given
Professor Morgan a similar outline of her work experience and the incidents of 7 and
12 June 2012 as she related to the Commission.
[45] In examination-in-chief, the doctor thought it unlikely that the incident of
7 June 2012 gave rise to a meniscal tear. Professor Morgan disagreed with
Dr Dodd's view that the tear was essentially degenerative. He supported this view
by reference to the X-rays, which were essentially normal, showing only some
minor degeneration of the joint. During cross-examination he observed that bending
and squatting can be powerful stimulants to tear a cartilage.
[46] I prefer the evidence of Professor Morgan to that of Dr. Dodd. Dr. Dodd's
examination of the Appellant, and his report, appeared to be less comprehensive
than that of Associate Professor Morgan. Dr Dodd's description of the 12 June 2012
incident in the "History" section of his report does not accord with that of the
Appellant or the history narrated by Professor Morgan. Dr Dodd noted: "She noticed
some discomfort in the parapetellar region on bending, lifting, and squatting- This
got particularly severe on 11 June 2012 when the pain at the end of the shift at
6.00 am was very severe and she could not weight bear." Dr. Dodd did not note the
onset of sharp pain at 3.00 am when the Appellant bent to look at the low shelf.
-- 7 of 13 --
8
[47] In the Professor's opinion the degenerative changes in the patellofemoral and
medical compartments were more likely to have been of an age-related nature,
although they may have been aggravated by her work practices. He felt that some
significant part of the Appellant's current circumstance could be linked with the
work practices required of her, and the 12 June 2012 incident. I note that he stated
that he relied heavily on the Appellant's denial of previous problems in coming to
this view.
[48] In his evidence-in-chief, after having been apprised of the Appellant's version of
what happened, the professor said that in his opinion it
"is unlikely that the first incident, that's the incident that occurred on the 7th of
June when she was on her way to the shopping excursion, it is [un]likely 3 that
that incident gave rise to a meniscal tear. The second incident, that's the one
that occurred early in the morning of the 11th when she was squatting and
working and bending at the Woolworths service station, would have the
capacity to give rise to a tear. And the onset of the symptoms of the discomfort
would suggest that that is when the tear occurred. A third possibility is that the
meniscus was previously abnormal, prior to both of those, but she was
essentially asymptomatic, especially prior to May. On the balance of
probabilities, it appears that the meniscal tear occurred during that incident on
the 11th of June." [Transcript, 1-53, Lines 25-31].
[49] Counsel for Woolworths relies on the evidence of the Appellant's GP, Dr Alexander,
particularly her evidence to the effect that the Appellant had not told her of the
12 June 2012 incident to support his contention that that incident did not feature in
the aetiology of injury. I do not accept this submission. I accept the Appellant's
explanation for not having mentioned it at the time. Nor do I place much weight on
what the Appellant may or may not have thought was the reason for her pain.
Consideration
[50] The Appellant's case is that she suffered a tear of the meniscus of the right knee,
which was an injury for the purposes of s 32(1) of the Act. Additionally, or in the
alternative, the onset of the symptoms associated with the meniscal tear was an
aggravation of a pre-existing degenerative condition which, by virtue of s 32(3) of
the Act, becomes an "injury" within the meaning of s 32.
[51] Woolworths contends that the meniscal damage was not an injury for the purposes of
s 32(1) of the Act. It was Woolworths' case that the "insidious onset of
symptomatology" was not a consequence of work but a result of a degenerative tear
of the Appellant's right medial meniscus as a result of degeneration and the possible
contribution of the event of 7 June 2012. It was not submitted by Woolworths that
the Appellant had not incurred a meniscal tear.
[52] It was Woolworth's submission that the work undertaken by the Appellant could not
reliably be said to have been a significant contributing factor to the aggravation of
the existing constitutional underlying disease as opposed to an exacerbation of
symptoms.
3 The transcript records the word "likely", but, having listened to the CourtFM recording, I am satisfied that
this is an error.
-- 8 of 13 --
9
[53] Counsel for Woolworths submitted that the "evidence does not support the
Appellant's contention that work was a significant contributing factor to the
contraction of injury."
[54] Much was made by Woolworths of the six month delay between the time of the
alleged squatting incident and the Appellant making her application for workers'
compensation. Similarly, Woolworths placed a good deal of emphasis on the
apparent onset of, at least mild, symptoms from March, or on one account, May
2012. In his submissions, Mr Sapsford emphasized the stair incident of 7 June 2012
and almost ignored the incident of 12 June 2012. He pointed to the Appellant
initially having informed HCF only of the stair slip and not the squatting incident.
These matters were put in support of Woolworth's submission that the Appellant was
an unreliable witness.
[55] I do not accept this submission. In particular, I am satisfied, on the balance of
probabilities, that the incident on 12 June 2012 occurred in much the manner related
by the Appellant. She struck me as a largely truthful witness. I prefer her version of
what occurred later that morning to that of Mr Ruyter, who seemed to me to be
somewhat reconstructing the event.
[56] I am also satisfied that the Appellant slipped on the stairs leading to the garage at her
premises on 7 June 2012, that her knee felt as though it was giving way, that she did
not fall, that she leant on her husband for support, that she experienced some pain,
that she applied ice to her right knee and that after she rested for a relatively short
time her symptoms subsided and she went shopping for several hours without
experiencing further symptoms.
[57] It is not disputed that the Appellant was a "worker" for the purposes of the Act.
[58] It is also not in contention that the Appellant sustained a personal injury, a meniscal
tear.
[59] The Appellant puts her case in the alternative. First, that she sustained the tear at
work on 12 June 2012 when she bent and squatted to check the contents of a low
shelf. Secondly, that that the tear is an aggravation of a personal injury. She thus
puts her case under sections 32 (1) and 32 (3)(b) of the Act.
[60] To succeed she must establish, on the balance of probabilities, that the injury, or the
aggravation, arose out of, or in the course of, her employment with Woolworths and
that the employment was a significant contributing factor to the injury.
[61] Mr Sapsford properly conceded that the Appellant suffered a personal injury in the
early hours of 12 June 2012 when she experienced pain whilst bending and
squatting. [Transcript: 2-27, Lines 13 - 17.] Thus, it is not in contention that the
injury occurred in the course of the employment.
[62] The issue I must decide is whether or not work was a significant contributing factor
to the injury.
-- 9 of 13 --
10
[63] Both counsel took me to the recent decision of Deputy President O'Connor in
Suzanne Maree Karipa v Q-Comp 4 ('Karipa') in support of their respective cases.
In Karipa his Honour summarized some of the relevant jurisprudence. It is
convenient to refer to some passages from his Honour's judgment:
" [34] It was the Respondent's submission that the work undertaken by the
Appellant cannot reliably be said to be a significant contributing factor to
the aggravation of the existing constitutional underlying disease as
opposed to an exacerbation of symptoms. The Respondent drew a
distinction between an 'exacerbation' of the underlying disease and an
'aggravation'.
[35] Counsel for the Respondent submitted to the Commission that 'work
cannot reliably be said to be 'a significant contributing factor' to the
aggravation of the pre-existing, constitutional underlying disease, as
opposed to an exacerbation of symptoms.'
[36] In short, the Respondent was submitting that the Appellant did not suffer
a compensable injury as she experienced an exacerbation of the
underlying condition (as opposed to an aggravation), which resulted in a
temporary increase in the symptoms associated with the carpal tunnel
syndrome, and which later returned to the pre-exacerbated state.
[37] In Ward v Q-COMP his Honour President Hall wrote:
'The statutory definition of 'injury' at s. 32 of the Workers'
Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003, includes the aggravation
of an injury 'which arises out of or in the course of the employment'.
It has long been settled that the activation of pain is equated with
aggravation of an underlying disease i.e. that it is sufficient that an
asymptomatic underlying degenerative disease becomes painful, even
if there is no change to the underlying pathology, see Pleming v
Workers' Compensation Board of Queensland at 1182 per de Jersey
P, and WorkCover Queensland v BHP (Qld) Workers Compensation
Unit at 143 per Hall P. If indeed, Ms Ward's degenerative back and/or
her degenerative right knee had become symptomatic, i.e. painful,
whilst she was doing that which she was employed to do, I should
have thought that the only sustainable conclusion was that she had
suffered an injury in the course of her employment.'
[38] It must be accepted by the Commission that employment significantly
contributed to the occurrence of the injury. It is insufficient to establish
that the employment was the setting in which the aggravation occurred or
the background to its occurrence.
[39] The Commission must be further satisfied that it is more probable than
not that there is a significant causal relationship between the work injury
and the Appellant's post-accident condition.
4 Suzanne Maree Karipa v Q-Comp (WC/2011/453) - Decision <http://www.qirc.qld.gov.au>.
-- 10 of 13 --
11
[40] In Fielder v Workcover Queensland his Honour President Hall wrote:
'The medical evidence is such that one must accept, as has been
accepted in other cases, that the degenerative spinal disease had
reached the point at which it might be exacerbated and rendered
symptomatic by stretching to get something out of a pantry, bending
over to tie shoe laces or turning over in bed. What happened to the
worker in this case might well have happened to him at his home, on
a council bus or at a religious service. However, once the Industrial
Magistrate accepted that the incident of 3 April 2001 did in fact occur
and accepted that there was proximity of time between the incident
and the onset of the pain it was, in the absence of any evidence about
a competing causal incident, inevitable that the Industrial Magistrate
would conclude on the balance of probability that the worker's
employment had been "a significant contributing factor to the
aggravation". On the state of the evidence any other conclusion would
be speculation.'
[41] In Carman v Q-COMP his Honour President Hall wrote:
'It must be remembered that Pleming v Workers' Compensation Board
of Queensland (1996) 152 QGIG 1181 is an often cited but ageing
authority. The worker who was successful on the point of law about
the content of "aggravation" was unsuccessful on the facts. Pleming v
Workers' Compensation Board of Queensland, ibid, does not decide
that a worker afflicted by a degenerative back suffers an injury if the
back becomes painful at work. Neither does Pleming, op. cit.,
establish that a worker with a degenerative back suffers an "injury" if
the work is a cause of the onset or intensification of pain. Pleming,
op. cit., establishes that a worker with a degenerative back will suffer
an injury where the back becomes painful or more painful and the
employment is a significant cause of the onset or intensification of
pain.'
[42] I do not accept the submission that there is a distinction between an
'exacerbation' and an 'aggravation'. In Omanski v Q-COMP his Honour
President Hall accepted that the definition of "aggravation" in sch. 6 to
the Act is inclusive, and that "aggravate" can carry the meaning
'exacerbate'. In forming that view, his Honour referred to the decision in
Commonwealth v Beattie and, in particular, to the reasoning of Evatt and
Sheppard JJ who found that 'a synonym for 'exacerbate' is to aggravate'.
[43] In JBS Australia Pty Ltd v Q-COMP, an aggravation, in the sense of an
increase of symptoms associated with a degenerative condition which,
after the cessation of the symptoms, returns to its pre-aggravation state,
was held by his Honour President Hall to be a compensable injury. His
Honour wrote:
'The view attributed to the Court by the Commission in Scott Newton
AND Q-COMP and relied upon by JBS Australia Pty Ltd, is quite
another matter. At paragraph [60] and [61] the Commission asserted:
-- 11 of 13 --
12
[60] There is another matter that also needs to be considered,
that is, that there are two types of aggravation to a degenerative
condition. In Heald v Q-COMP Hall P said:
'A degenerative condition may be aggravated in the sense
that it may be made worse, i.e. after the aggravation the
degenerative disorder is worse that it was before. But there
can also be aggravation in the sense of an increase of
symptoms associated with a degenerative condition which,
after the cessation of the symptoms, returns to its pre-
aggravation state.'
[61] The second type of aggravation, where it arises in an
employment context, is one that does not attract workers'
compensation benefits.'.
On the contrary, in Heald v Q-COMP, ibid, at 771, the Court accepted
that aggravation in the second sense was compensable."
[64] I have extracted these passages from Karipa 5 because they summarize much of the
jurisprudence relevant to the issues that I must decide. Woolworths does not seek to
distinguish between aggravation and exacerbation, but I have nevertheless included
the passages of Deputy President Hall's judgment for completeness.
[65] I have already indicated that I accept the evidence of Professor Morgan that it is
more probable than not that the meniscal tear occurred during the 12 June 2012
incident.
[66] This is not a case where a worker with a degenerative knee merely experiences pain
whilst at work, or where work is merely a cause of the onset of pain. As
Pleming v Workers' Compensation Board of Queensland 6 explains, in such cases,
the worker does not suffer an "injury" within the meaning of s 32 of the Act.
[67] I find that the Appellant suffered a personal injury, a meniscal tear to her right knee
on 12 June 2012, whilst bending and squatting to reach a low shelf. That injury
occurred in the course of her employment.
[68] It now falls to be decided whether the employment was a significant contributing
factor to the injury. Given that the tear occurred whilst she was performing the very
activity that caused it, I find that the employment was a significant contributing
factor to the injury. Fielder 7 seems to be apposite.
[69] If I am wrong, and the Appellant had a pre-existing injury, a degenerative knee, I
find that there was an aggravation of her underlying condition for the purposes of
s 32(3) of the Act. As was the case in Karipa, the Appellant was asymptomatic
when she commenced her employment with Woolworths.
5 Suzanne Maree Karipa v Q-Comp (WC/2011/453) - Decision <http://www.qirc.qld.gov.au>.
6 Pleming v Workers' Compensation Board of Queensland (1996) 152 QGIG 1181.
7 Goodman Fielder and WorkCover Queensland (2004) 175 QGIG 871.
-- 12 of 13 --
13
[70] I am satisfied that there was a causal connection between her work duties, in
particular the bending, twisting and squatting necessary to perform her tasks to
move stock to the storeroom and to restock shelves, and the onset of symptoms of
knee damage.
[71] In any event, unlike Karipa, in this case there was a discrete activity, the squatting
and bending on 12 June that was the aggravating trigger. Even Dr Dodd accepted,
during cross-examination, that the pre-existing condition was aggravated by the
12 June 2012 activity [Transcript 1-66, Lines 21-25; 1-67, Lines 30-35; 1-70, Lines
39-41].
[72] The Appellant has discharged the onus of establishing that the injury, or the
aggravation, arose out of, or in the course of, employment, and that the employment
was a significant contributing factor to the injury or aggravation.
[73] I allow the appeal, set aside the decision of the Regulator dated 21 June 2013 and
determine that the Appellant's claim is one for acceptance.
[74] I order that Woolworths pay the Appellants costs of and incidental to the appeal.
-- 13 of 13 --
Official source: https://www.sclqld.org.au/caselaw/QIRC/2014/036