Edington v Board of Trustees of the State Public Sector Superannuation Scheme [2012] QSC 211
SUPREME COURT OF QUEENSLAND
CITATION: Edington v Board of Trustees of the State Public Sector
Superannuation Scheme [2012] QSC 211
PARTIES: JOSEPH DAVID EDINGTON
(applicant)
v
BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE STATE PUBLIC
SECTOR SUPERANNUATION SCHEME
(respondent)
FILE NO: BS8074 of 2011
DIVISION: Trial Division
PROCEEDING: Application
DELIVERED ON: 13 August 2012
DELIVERED AT: Brisbane
HEARING DATE: 30 May 2012
JUDGE: Mullins J
ORDER: The application filed on 23 December 2011 is dismissed.
CATCHWORDS: EQUITY – TRUSTS AND TRUSTEES – PROCEEDINGS
BETWEEN TRUSTEES AND BENEFICIARIES OR
THIRD PARTIES – where the applicant was injured whilst
working and received income protection payments – where
the applicant applied for a total and permanent disablement
benefit under the insurance administered with the work
superannuation scheme – where the application was denied
by the Board of trustees administering the scheme on the
basis the disablement related to an undeclared pre-existing
medical condition – where the Board‟s decision was reviewed
by the Superannuation Complaints Tribunal – where the
applicant applies under s 8 Trusts Act 1973 (Qld) for review
of the Board‟s decision for alleged breach of duty as trustees–
whether the review of the Board‟s decision by the Tribunal
precludes this application in relation to the Board‟s process of
decision making
PROCEDURE – JUDGMENTS AND ORDERS – IN
GENERAL – CLASSIFICATION – FINAL AND
INTERLOCUTORY – where the respondent applies under r
16 of the Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 1999 (Qld) for
orders either striking out, setting aside or permanently staying
the proceeding – whether the applicant has no real prospect of
succeeding on any of the allegations – whether there should
be a final hearing of the application
-- 1 of 20 --
2
Superannuation (Resolution of Complaints) Act 1993 (Cth),
s 14, s 20, s 32, s 34, s 37, s 46
Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Act 1993 (Cth), s 350
Superannuation (State Public Sector) Act 1990 (Qld), s 3,
s 12, s 41
Trusts Act 1973 (Qld), s 8
Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 1999 (Qld), r 5, r 14, r 16,
r 293
Attorney-General (Cth) v Breckler (1999) 197 CLR 83,
considered
Board of Trustees of the State Public Sector Superannuation
Scheme v Edington [2011] FCAFC 8, considered
Finch v Telstra Super Pty Ltd (2010) 242 CLR 254,
considered
LCR Mining Group Pty Ltd v Ocean Tyres Pty Ltd [2011]
QCA 105, considered
Minister for Aboriginal Affairs v Peko-Wallsend Ltd (1986)
162 CLR 24, considered
Neumann Contractors Pty Ltd v Traspunt No 5 Pty Ltd
[2011] 2 Qd R 114, considered
Rusterholz v Board of Trustees of the State Public Sector
Superannuation Scheme [2011] QSC 276, considered
Spencer v The Commonwealth (2010) 241 CLR 118,
considered
COUNSEL: E Gass for the applicant
G J P Handran for the respondent
SOLICITORS: Black & Co for the applicant
G R Cooper, Crown Solicitor for the respondent
[1] The respondent Board which is established under s 3 of the Superannuation (State
Public Sector) Act 1990 (Qld) (the Act) administers the State Public Sector
Superannuation Scheme (known as QSuper) pursuant to the Superannuation (State
Public Sector) Deed 1990 (the deed). The applicant who is a former member of the
scheme applies for declaratory and other relief in relation to a decision by the Board
made on 25 September 2008 to decline his application for a total and permanent
disablement (TPD) benefit. The applicant‟s relief is based on a claim that the Board
breached its duties as trustee by rejecting his claim for a TPD benefit.
[2] The Board applies pursuant to r 16 of the Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 1999
(Qld) (UCPR) or the inherent jurisdiction of the court for orders either striking out,
setting aside or permanently staying the proceeding. The grounds relied on by the
Board are that the applicant has exercised his rights for an independent review of
the Board‟s decision pursuant to the Superannuation (Resolution of Complaints) Act
1993 (Cth) (the Complaints Act) which affirmed the Board‟s decision as fair and
reasonable, and/or the applicant seeks to re-litigate in this proceeding issues that are
hopeless, and the grounds relied on to review the Board‟s decision as a trustee have
no prospects of success.
-- 2 of 20 --
3
The scheme under the deed
[3] The Act applies to the State Public Sector Superannuation Fund. Pursuant to s 12 of
the Act the scheme under the deed was established for the provision of
superannuation, retirement, provident or other similar benefits payable from the
fund.
[4] “Disablement” is defined in s 4 of the deed to mean “any mental or bodily injury,
illness, disease or infirmity.” The definition of “total and permanent disablement”
is:
“„total and permanent disablement‟ means disablement of a degree
which, in the opinion of the board after obtaining the advice of not
fewer than 2 medical practitioners, is such as to render the member
unlikely ever to be able to work again in a job for which the member
is reasonably qualified by education, training or experience.”
[5] The functions and duties of the Board are set out in s 12 of the deed:
“The board shall administer the scheme in accordance with the
provisions of this deed and the Act for the purpose of providing
benefits upon retirement and certain other contingencies for present
and future members of the scheme and their dependants.”
[6] The benefit that is payable on total and permanent disablement is set out in s 46(1)
of the deed:
“(1) Where an employed member becomes totally and permanently
disabled before attaining the age of 55 years the board shall credit to
the member‟s accumulation account a percentage of final salary
comprised of-
(a) the member‟s compulsory contribution benefit; and
(b) the member‟s prospective membership benefit if payable;
and
(c) the member‟s basic benefit.”
[7] The member‟s prospective membership benefit where the member has fewer than
10 years contributory membership is specified in s 47(1)(c) of the deed:
“(1) An employed member‟s prospective membership benefit shall
be the applicable percentage as set out in schedule 1 multiplied by
prospective membership and shall be payable where-
(a) …
(c) (i) the member has fewer than 10 years contributory
membership; and
(ii) the member did not lodge a personal medical statement
at or about the time of entry to membership; and
(iii) it is established to the satisfaction of the board that the
total and permanent disablement or death was not
related to a condition that ought reasonably to have been
disclosed had a personal medical statement been
submitted at or about the time of entry to membership.”
[8] The reference to “personal medical statement” in s 47(1)(c)(ii) of the deed refers to
a personal medical statement in the form provided by the Board from time to time
and furnished by an employed member to the Board: s 63(1) of the deed.
-- 3 of 20 --
4
[9] The Board is required under s 77 of the deed to keep an accumulation account for
each member. Under s 84 of the deed, the Board must provide insurance against the
debt or total and permanent disablement of each person who becomes an employed
member on or after 1 July 1995. It is for the Board to decide the terms on which the
insurance is provided: s 86 of the deed. As the applicant had that insurance, he did
not need to rely on s 47(1)(c) of the deed. The Board referred to the scheme under
the deed in order to show the consistency in terms between the deed and the
insurance terms.
The circumstances of the applicant’s claim for the TPD benefit
[10] The applicant was diagnosed with schizophrenia in 1994 when he was 29 years old.
After treatment and with medication, he entered a stable phase. He was interviewed
for a position with the Department Primary Industry (DPI) and disclosed that he
suffered from schizophrenia and of the current status of his condition. It was
determined that he was able to carry out the duties of a field assistant with DPI in its
Fire Ant Eradication Program and the applicant commenced employment with DPI
on 10 September 2001.
[11] The applicant automatically became a member of the scheme entitled to four units
of Death and TPD Insurance. In December 2001, the applicant applied for and was
given 17 additional units of Death and TPD Insurance. The applicant did not lodge
a personal medical statement with the Board.
[12] It is common ground that the terms of the insurance that applied to the applicant are
those entitled “QSuper Insurance for Accumulation Accounts and Additional
Insurance for Defined Benefit Accounts” dated 18 December 2001 with a
commencement date of 1 May 2000. Under those terms, any term which is defined
in the Act or the deed bears a corresponding meaning in the document containing
the insurance terms, unless otherwise defined. Under clause 4.1 of the terms, but
subject to clause 6 and the maximum cover specified in clause 4.1, the amount of
death and TPD insurance cover for an insured member at the date of death or TPD
is to be determined in accordance with schedule 1. The applicant claims to be
entitled to $991,200 as at 23 June 2003 calculated in accordance with schedule 1
together with interest from that date.
[13] Clause 4.4 of the insurance terms provides:
“An insured member‟s death and total and permanent disablement
benefit shall become payable on the insured member‟s death or upon
total and permanent disablement. The date on which an insured
member shall be considered by the board to have suffered total and
permanent disablement will be:
(a) where an insured member terminates employment after a
determination by the board that a total and permanent
disablement benefit is payable, the date of termination of
employment of the insured member; or
(b) where an insured member terminates employment prior to a
determination by the board that a total and permanent
disablement benefit is payable, the date which is 4 weeks after
the date of termination of employment of the insured member.”
-- 4 of 20 --
5
[14] Clause 6.2 provides:
“No insurance benefit will be paid for a claim unless:
(a) the member has been an insured member for 10 continuous
years or more; or
(b)
(i) the member has been an insured member for fewer than 10
continuous years; and
(ii) the member lodged a personal medical statement at or
about the date on which the member became an insured
member; and
(iii) the board is of the opinion that the total and permanent
disablement or death or temporary disablement was not
related to a condition that was disclosed on the personal
medical statement or which in the opinion of the board
should reasonably have been disclosed on the personal
medical statement; or
(c)
(i) the member has been an insured member for fewer than 10
continuous years; and
(ii) the member did not lodge a personal medical statement at
or about the date on which the member became an insured
member; and
(iii) it is established to the satisfaction of the board that the total
and permanent disablement or death or temporary
disablement was not related to a condition that ought
reasonably to have been disclosed had a personal medical
statement been submitted at or about the date on which the
member became an insured member.”
[15] Clause 6.5 provides:
“Where an insured member increases the number of units of
insurance, any increase in benefit resulting from the increased
number of units will not be paid unless:
(a) the member has held the increased number of units for 10
continuous years or more; or
(b)
(i) the member has held the increased number of units for
fewer than 10 continuous years; and
(ii) the member lodged a personal medical statement at or
about the date of the increase in the number of units; and
(iii) the board is of the opinion that the total and permanent
disablement or death or temporary disablement was not
related to a condition that was disclosed on the personal
medical statement or which in the opinion of the board
should reasonably have been disclosed on the personal
medical statement at or about the date of the increase in the
number of units; or
(c)
(i) the member has held the increased number of units for fewer
than 10 continuous years; and
-- 5 of 20 --
6
(ii) the member did not lodge a personal medical statement at or
about the date of the increase in the number of units; and
(iii) it is established to the satisfaction of the board that the total
and permanent disablement or death or temporary
disablement was not related to a condition that ought
reasonably to have been disclosed had a personal medical
statement been submitted at or about the date of the increase
in the number of units.”
[16] As a field assistant, the applicant worked as part of a small team that would search
for fire ants by inspecting domestic and commercial premises. On 2 January 2002
in the course of carrying out his duties the applicant was involved in an incident
concerning two Rottweiler dogs. The applicant was able to continue working. He
ceased work with DPI on 8 July 2002. The applicant made a claim dated 13
September 2002 for income protection benefits on the basis that he damaged his
right foot when he was running away from vicious dogs, tried to jump a fence and
fell. That claim was successful and he commenced receiving income protection
payments as from 26 July 2002.
[17] On 12 February 2003 the applicant applied for the TPD benefit. He described his
medical condition that prevented him from working as “damaged body anxiety
stress phobic nerves feet”. On 26 May 2003 the delegate of the Board determined
that as a result of schizophrenia the applicant was unlikely to work again and was
therefore totally and permanently disabled, but he was not entitled to the TPD
benefit because the evidence did not establish the schizophrenia was not related to a
medical condition existing before he became a member. The applicant was retired
from DPI on 23 June 2003.
[18] The applicant appealed to the Board against the decision of the delegate. On 31
August 2004 the Board affirmed the decision of the delegate for reasons expressed
in similar terms to the delegate‟s decision. The Board therefore accepted that the
applicant was totally and permanently disabled, and the focus of its decision was on
whether that disablement was related to the schizophrenia.
Proceedings under the Complaints Act
[19] On 5 November 2004 the applicant lodged a complaint with the Superannuation
Complaints Tribunal (the Tribunal) under s 14 of the Complaints Act in respect of
the Board‟s decision. Under s 14(6A) of the Complaints Act the Tribunal was
unable to deal with a complaint, unless it was made within two years after the
making of the decision to which the complaint related. The applicant‟s complaint
was therefore lodged within time.
[20] The Tribunal‟s power to deal with a complaint is restricted, if the subject matter of
the complaint was subject to court proceedings, as set out in s 20 of the Complaints
Act:
“(1) The Tribunal cannot deal with a complaint if a proceeding has
been begun in a court about the subject matter of the complaint
and the proceedings has not been finally disposed of.
(2) If, after a complaint has been made to the Tribunal, a proceeding
is begun in a court about the subject matter of the complaint, the
-- 6 of 20 --
7
Tribunal cannot deal with the complaint until the proceeding is
finally disposed of.”
[21] The constitutional validity of the Tribunal was considered in Attorney-General
(Cth) v Breckler (1999) 197 CLR 83 where it was held that in making a
determination the Tribunal was not purporting to exercise the judicial power of the
Commonwealth. It was observed in the judgment of the plurality at [33] that:
“Section 20 also recognises the intention stated in s 350 of the
Supervision Act that the regulatory scheme not operate to the
exclusion of the law of a State or Territory to the extent that that law
is capable of operating concurrently with it.”
[22] The reference to s 350 is to the Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Act 1993
(Cth) which states:
“It is the intention of the Parliament that this Act is not to apply to
the exclusion of a law of a State or Territory to the extent that that
law is capable of operating concurrently with this Act.”
[23] Under s 32 of the Complaints Act the Tribunal organises a review meeting for the
purpose of reviewing the decision and must give notice to the parties of the review
meeting inviting written submission. Unless the Tribunal thinks it is necessary to
permit the parties to make oral submissions to the Tribunal at the review meeting,
the Tribunal conducts the review meeting without oral submissions from the parties:
s 34 of the Complaints Act.
[24] The Tribunal‟s powers in respect of a complaint under s 14 are set out in s 37 of the
Complaints Act. Under s 37(1), the Tribunal has all the powers, obligations and
discretions conferred on the trustee for the purpose of reviewing a decision of the
trustee of a fund and must make a determination in accordance with s 37(3). The
possible determinations under s 37(3) of the Complaints Act are affirming the
decision, remitting the matter to the trustee, insurer or other decision-maker for
reconsideration in accordance with the directions of the Tribunal, varying the
decision, or setting aside the decision and substituting its own decision. The
following provisions of s 37 of the Complaints Act govern the exercise of the
Tribunal‟s determination-making power:
“(4) The Tribunal may only exercise its determination-making power
under subsection (3) for the purpose of placing the complainant
as nearly as practicable in such a position that the unfairness,
unreasonableness, or both, that the Tribunal has determined to
exist in relation to the trustee‟s decision that is the subject of the
complaint no longer exists.
(5) The Tribunal must not do anything under subsection (3) that
would be contrary to law, to the governing rules of the fund
concerned and, if a contract of insurance between an insurer and
trustee is involved, to the terms of the contract.
(6) The Tribunal must affirm a decision referred to under subsection
(3) if it is satisfied that the decision, in its operation in relation
to:
(a) the complainant; and
(b) so far as concerns a complaint regarding the payment
of a death benefit – any person (other than the
-- 7 of 20 --
8
complainant, a trustee, insurer of decision-maker)
who:
(i) has become a party to the complaint; and
(ii) has an interest in the death benefit or claims
to be, or to be entitled to benefits through, a
person having an interest in the death benefit;
was fair and reasonable in the circumstances.”
[25] The Tribunal conducted its review of the Board‟s 2004 decision on the papers and
received written submissions from the applicant and the Board. The applicant
obtained a report dated 22 October 2005 from psychiatrist Dr de Leacy and
provided it to the Tribunal. On 2 October 2006 the Tribunal affirmed the Board‟s
decision. The Tribunal accepted that the applicant had a post traumatic stress
disorder (PTSD) or anxiety disorder after the dog incident, but that it was
sufficiently related to his schizophrenia such as to render the decision of the Board
fair and reasonable in its operation in relation to the applicant in the circumstances.
The Tribunal stated:
“Based on the Tribunal‟s analysis of the medical reports, the
Tribunal is satisfied that the Trustee‟s decision to decline payment of
the TPD benefit to the Complainant on the grounds that, on the
balance of probabilities, his medical condition, be it PTSD or an
anxiety disorder, was related to the pre-existing, long-standing
paranoid schizophrenia was fair and reasonable, given the conflicting
psychiatric opinions.”
[26] Under s 46(1) of the Complaints Act, a party may appeal to the Federal Court, on a
question of law, from the determination of the Tribunal. The applicant appealed
against the Tribunal‟s decision to the Federal Court. That appeal was dismissed on
14 December 2007: Edington v Superannuation Complaints Tribunal [2007] FCA
1989. An appeal to the Full Court of the Federal Court was allowed by consent on
15 May 2008, as the Board conceded that the Tribunal had made an error in
concluding that a relationship had been demonstrated between the applicant‟s
schizophrenia as a pre-existing medical condition and the post traumatic stress
disorder which was the basis of the claim under the relevant policy. The Tribunal‟s
decision was set aside and the matter remitted to the Board: Edington v
Superannuation Complaints Tribunal [2008] FCAFC 78. The court identified at [4]
that:
“The consequence will be that the matter will go back to the Board,
at which time the report of Dr De Leacy that was not before the
Board when it made its decision, will be before the Board and it can
make a decision fully informed about the evidence relevant to the
appellant‟s condition.”
[27] As the Tribunal‟s 2006 decision was set aside, it is of no further relevance.
Further decision of the Board
[28] When the matter was before the Board again, it had before it Dr de Leacy‟s report
dated 22 October 2005 and medical reports requested by QSuper from psychiatrist
Dr Reddan dated 9 March 2006 and 15 July 2008. The Board had an opinion from
barrister Mr McLeod which it did not disclose in its decision on the basis that it was
subject to legal professional privilege. The Board also considered letters from the
-- 8 of 20 --
9
applicant‟s solicitors dated 30 June, 4 and 18 August and 11 September 2008. The
applicant‟s solicitors were of the view that the Full Court of the Federal Court did
not contemplate that fresh evidence would be obtained by the Board before
reconsidering the matter. They objected to Dr Reddan‟s report dated 15 July 2008.
The applicant therefore elected not to put further evidence before the Board, but his
solicitors‟ submissions in the letter dated 11 September 2008 addressed deficiencies
they perceived in Dr Reddan‟s report dated 15 July 2008 and argued that the
applicant had been left with a chronic PTSD, because QSuper decided to have him
retired instead of assisting in treating the PTSD. Despite the applicant‟s solicitors‟
submissions, the Board was not limited to acting on the evidence that was before the
Full Court, if there were further evidence available or required (such as Dr Reddan‟s
2008 report) to deal properly with the issue it had to decide.
[29] The Board also had before it a submission prepared by the Manager Legal Review
of QSuper for the purpose of making its decision on 25 September 2008. That
submission set out the question to be resolved as “Was Mr Edington‟s total and
permanent disablement related to a pre-existing condition pursuant to the QSuper
Insurance Terms?” The submission summarised the background of the claim and
set out clauses 6.2 and 6.5 of the insurance terms. The evidence to be considered
was in an appendix to the submission. The submission then summarised some of
the evidence and then proposed the options for the Board‟s decision. Option A was
a finding of total and permanent disablement that was related to pre-existing
schizophrenia which should reasonably have been disclosed in a personal medical
statement submitted at or about the time the applicant became an insured member
and when he increased his insurance which would result in the Board affirming its
previous decision that the applicant was not entitled to the insurance benefit for his
21 units. Proposed material findings for option A comprising 19 numbered
paragraphs were then set out in the submission. Option B was a determination that
the applicant‟s symptoms of stress were due to his reaction from the dog incident in
2002 and caused his total and permanent disablement, and he was entitled to the
insurance benefit for his 21 insurance units.
[30] On 25 September 2008 the Board approved option A and affirmed its previous
decision that the applicant was not entitled to the insurance benefit for his 21 units
after further review of the evidence, as the Board determined that:
“1. Mr Edington was totally and permanently disabled pursuant to
the QSuper Trust Deed.
2. Mr Edington‟s disablement was related to his schizophrenia
which should reasonably have been disclosed had a personal
medical statement been submitted at or about the time he
became an insured member with 4 units ie 10 September 2001
and when he increased his insurance by 17 units ie 10 December
2001.”
[31] The Board made material findings in terms of the 19 numbered paragraphs in the
submission made by QSuper. Those findings identified the incident on 2 January
2002 as the cause of the applicant‟s injury to his right foot. The Board expressly
noted diagnoses and comments made by the applicant‟s treating psychiatrist Dr
Butler in his report dated 13 January 2003, consultant physician in occupational and
environmental medicine Dr Olsen in his report dated 2 April 2003, Dr Reddan‟s
report dated 3 May 2003, orthopaedic surgeon Dr Jameson‟s report dated 9 May
2003 and Dr de Leacy‟s report dated 22 October 2005.
-- 9 of 20 --
10
[32] The Board noted that Dr Butler diagnosed schizophrenia paranoid sub type (which
was first diagnosed in 1996) with ongoing residual negative symptoms and an
anxiety disorder and considered that the applicant‟s work options had been
drastically reduced and he would be suitable for part time work involving
predominantly manual duties. The Board referred to treating psychologist Ms
Jooste‟s report dated 11 March 2003 in which she expressed the opinion that, with
suitable counselling and therapy, the applicant should make a full recovery from the
traumatic effects of the Rottweiler incident and that his condition of schizophrenia
would continue as before.
[33] The Board‟s findings recorded that Dr Olsen made a primary diagnosis of an injury
to the applicant‟s right foot as well as his back and neck, and a secondary diagnosis
of schizophrenia and that the applicant was “struggling with his psychiatric illness”
and he could not predict the short term progress, but was of the opinion that the
applicant qualified for total and permanent disability.
[34] The Board set out Dr Reddan‟s opinion from her report dated 3 May 2003 that the
applicant was permanently unable to perform the duties as a field assistant and the
most significant issue which prevented him from returning to that position was the
residual symptoms of schizophrenia, the applicant‟s anxiety around dogs would not
prevent him from returning to some form of work, and the negative features of the
applicant‟s schizophrenia on its own were of sufficient severity to impair the
applicant‟s capacity for sustained work.
[35] The report noted that the applicant “was extremely defensive about his
schizophrenia to Dr Reddan and apart from admitting that he may have been
hospitalised, once or twice, he refused to provide any details.”
[36] The report noted that Dr de Leacy stated that “although Mr Edington‟s anxiety
symptoms may result from him being more susceptible as a result of his
schizophrenia, his current symptoms of stress … were not due to schizophrenia but
due to a severe stress reaction from the dog incident in 2002.”
[37] The Board noted in paragraph 13 of the findings that Dr Butler had recorded in his
report that when the applicant was seeking reemployment he “described a
considerable improvement in his physical symptomatology and that he no longer
had the marked anxiety associated with exposure to dogs.” The Board noted in
paragraph 14 of the findings that the applicant subsequently reported to Dr de Leacy
an extreme fear of dogs and that Dr de Leacy stated that the applicant “had a range
of symptoms that fulfilled the DSM IV criteria for post traumatic stress disorder by
having the requisite number of symptoms from each category of intrusive
symptoms, avoidance symptoms and hyperarousal symptoms.” The Board then set
out what Dr Reddan stated in her report dated 15 July 2008 that “the dog incident in
2002 was not a severely traumatic event for a diagnosis of post traumatic stress
disorder” and that Dr Reddan stated “it was the schizophrenia which prevented Mr
Edington from successfully maintaining a longitudinal work history.”
[38] In paragraph 16 of the findings the Board expressed the preference for the reasoning
outlined in Dr Reddan‟s reports “because of the different medical histories given by
Mr Edington to Dr Butler and Dr De Leacy.” That particular finding was the focus
of the subsequent proceedings under the Complaints Act, although the reference to
medical histories appears to refer back to the findings in paragraphs 13 and 14.
-- 10 of 20 --
11
Further proceedings under the Complaints Act
[39] On 15 January 2009 the applicant lodged a complaint with the Tribunal on the
ground that the Board‟s decision was unfair and unreasonable. The Tribunal
conducted the review of the Board‟s decision on the papers and received
submissions from the applicant and the Board. The applicant lodged with the
Tribunal extensive written submissions to which some documents were attached
which comprise exhibit 1 in this proceeding. The attachments included Ms Jooste‟s
report dated 11 March 2003, Dr Butler‟s reports dated 13 January 2003 and 15 July
2004 and QSuper‟s letter dated 26 June 2008 to Dr Reddan requesting her reasons
as to why Dr de Leacy‟s report did not cause her to alter the opinions expressed in
her report dated 3 May 2003.
[40] The applicant‟s written submissions to the Tribunal advanced detailed arguments as
to why the Board failed to have proper regard to the opinions of Dr Butler and Ms
Jooste and the unsoundness of reasoning resulting in the Board‟s preference for Dr
Reddan‟s opinion over Dr de Leacy‟s opinion. The submissions treated the Board‟s
statement in paragraph 16 of its findings as finding that “there were seemingly
different versions given by the complainant to Dr Butler and Dr De Leacy with
regard to the intensity of his fear of dogs.” The submissions suggested that a careful
analysis of Dr Butler‟s reports and Dr de Leacy‟s report and the circumstances in
which they were given would show there was no anomaly and result in the
conclusion that the applicant had a PTSD as diagnosed by Dr de Leacy, in the
absence of a specific phobia regarding dogs, which was consistent with Dr Butler‟s
report. The submissions also dissected Dr Reddan‟s criticisms of Dr de Leacy to
advance the submission that they were without foundation and that Dr Reddan‟s
opinions were based on erroneous assumptions. The ultimate submission was that
Dr Reddan‟s opinions could not have provided a legitimate justification for
rejecting the opinions of Dr de Leacy, as supported by those of Dr Butler and Ms
Jooste, and little or no weight could reasonably have been placed on Dr Reddan‟s
opinions on a proper analysis of the material on which they were based.
[41] The Tribunal in its reasons summarised the medical reports, set out the essence of
the respective submissions made by the applicant and the Board, and then explained
the results of its deliberations. The Tribunal considered at [102] that the history
given by the applicant in late 2005 to Dr de Leacy differed significantly to that
given by to Drs Butler and Reddan. The Tribunal concluded at [110]:
“The Tribunal accepts that the Complainant experienced an anxiety
reaction/disorder in response to the dog incident and that his
response may have been exaggerated by his pre-existing
schizophrenia. The majority of the psychiatric evidence indicates
that his anxiety disorder was temporary and had essentially resolved
by mid 2003 based on the medical history proffered by the
Complainant to his treating psychiatrist at that time. There is no
evidence that he was subsequently re-exposed to a similar or new
event which might have reactivated his anxiety or caused PTSD.
Thus his accepted incapacity for any form of work arises from his
long-standing schizophrenia.”
[42] On 11 September 2009 the Tribunal affirmed the Board‟s decision on the basis that
it was satisfied that it was fair and reasonable, given the conflicting psychiatric
opinions and the Tribunal‟s preference for the opinions of Dr Butler and Dr Reddan.
-- 11 of 20 --
12
[43] The applicant successfully appealed to the Federal Court and the Tribunal‟s
decision was set aside by Reeves J: Edington v Superannuation Complaints
Tribunal [2010] FCA 504. Reeves J considered (at [36]) that the Tribunal‟s role
under s 37 required it to identify the reasoning process that the Board employed to
reach its decision and to assess whether, having regard to that reasoning process, the
decision was fair and reasonable. Because the Board had noted that the applicant
had given different medical histories to Dr Butler and Dr de Leacy, Reeves J
considered (at [39]) that the Tribunal should have considered the different medical
histories that the Board said the applicant had given to Dr Reddan on the one hand
and to Drs Butler and de Leacy on the other and determined whether, and how,
those different histories affected the cogency of the various opinions given, to
determine whether it was fair and reasonable for the Board to accept and rely upon
Dr Reddan, but not the other two doctors. Reeves J noted (at [40]) that whereas the
Board accepted and relied upon Dr Reddan‟s opinions in preference to those of Drs
Butler and de Leacy, the Tribunal accepted and relied upon the opinions of both Drs
Reddan and Butler, but did not ask the question whether it was fair and reasonable
for the Board not to accept Dr Butler‟s opinions when the Tribunal thought they
should be accepted and relied upon. Reeves J raised (at [47]) that the Tribunal
should have examined whether the Board had due regard to the context in which the
various medical opinions were expressed. Reeves J therefore concluded (at [51])
that the Tribunal committed an error of law by not properly exercising its powers of
review of the Board‟s decision in accordance with s 37 of the Complaints Act.
[44] The Board appealed to the Full Court of the Federal Court and the appeal was
allowed and in lieu of the orders made by the Federal Court, it was ordered that the
appeal from the Tribunal‟s decision be dismissed: Board of Trustees of the State
Public Sector Superannuation Scheme v Edington [2011] FCAFC 8. The Full Court
considered (at [42] and [71]) there were fundamental defects in the appeal from the
Tribunal to the Federal Court in that the notice of appeal did not posit questions of
law for determination by the court as required by s 46 of the Complaints Act, but
proceeded to hear the appeal on the basis that the issue that was determined by
Reeves J about whether the Tribunal misdirected itself as to the nature of its powers
of review could be characterised as a question of law. Kenny and Lander JJ (with
whose reasons Logan J generally agreed) stated (at [53]) that the Tribunal in
discharging its functions under s 37 of the Complaints Act must make its own
assessment of the evidence and other information before it, in order to determine
whether or not it is satisfied that the decision under review was, in its operation in
relation to the applicant, fair and reasonable in the circumstances.
[45] Kenny and Lander JJ then stated (at [54]):
“Thus, we do not consider that it was incumbent on the Tribunal to
focus on the reasoning that supported the decision of the Board of
Trustees. In deciding whether the decision of the Board of Trustees
was relevantly fair and reasonable, the Tribunal was required, plainly
enough, to consider the decision the Board of Trustees had made;
and the Board‟s reasoning process, as outlined in its written
statement, was necessarily part of the information before the
Tribunal. The Tribunal‟s own reasons for decision make it clear that
the Tribunal was well aware of the Board‟s reasoning process,
including the fact that the Board of Trustees preferred the evidence
of Dr Reddan to that of Dr Butler and Dr de Leacy because of the
different histories given to them. However, the Tribunal undertook
-- 12 of 20 --
13
its own assessment of the evidence and information before it, as it
was required to do; and, as a consequence, made its own findings
with a view to determining whether the decision under review was
relevantly fair and reasonable, as it was entitled to do. The Tribunal‟s
findings differed in some respects from those of the Board and so did
its reasoning. Since the Tribunal was undertaking a hearing de novo
for the purpose of determining for itself whether or not the decision
(as opposed to the reasoning) of the Board of Trustees was, in its
operation in relation to the complainant, fair and reasonable, the
Tribunal was not obliged to scrutinize the reasoning process of the
Board; but, rather, was required to make its own decision on the
material before it as to whether the decision made by the Board was
fair and reasonable in its operation in relation to Mr Edington. In so
doing, it might pursue a process of reasoning that it considered best
took account of the facts as it found them, bearing in mind the trust
deed, the insurance terms and the law as the Tribunal understood it:
compare the Complaints Act, s 37(5). The Tribunal was not required
to take the extra step of comparing the Board‟s reasoning process
with its own.”
[46] Kenny and Lander JJ found that the Tribunal did not commit any error of law in the
discharge of its functions under s 37 of the Complaints Act and, in particular (at
[59]):
“The Tribunal‟s conclusion that the medical condition in the nature
of an anxiety disorder attributable to the dog incident was supported
by Dr Butler‟s evidence. Its conclusion that Mr Edington‟s
incapacity for work was related to his pre-existing schizophrenia was
supported by Dr Reddan‟s evidence. The Board of Trustees had also
accepted Dr Reddan‟s evidence in this latter regard. In substance, in
concluding as it did, the Tribunal accepted different aspects of the
evidence of the medical opinions given by these two medical
practitioners. It was open to the Tribunal to approach the matter in
this way and, on the basis of Dr Reddan‟s evidence, to find that Mr
Edington‟s total and permanent disability was related to a pre-
existing condition of schizophrenia. It was therefore open to the
Tribunal to make the finding it did, and no error of law is disclosed
in this regard.
[47] The result of the 2011 Full Court judgment was that the Tribunal‟s 2009 decision
remained in effect. Section 41 of the Complaints Act deals with the operation of a
determination made by the Tribunal. Unless the Tribunal specifies otherwise, it
comes into effect immediately upon the making of the determination.
This proceeding
[48] After the applicant had exhausted his rights under the Complaints Act, he
commenced this proceeding by originating application on 12 September 2011,
relying on s 8 of the Trusts Act 1973 (Qld) (Trusts Act). The applicant seeks a
declaration that the decision made by the Board on 25 September 2008 was void for
breach of fiduciary duty by it as trustee, that it be set aside, and that a substitute
decision be made by order of the court, recognising that when the applicant ceased
work with DPI on 23 June 2003 he was totally and permanently disabled within the
-- 13 of 20 --
14
meaning of s 4 of the deed and the insurance terms issued pursuant to the deed, the
applicant‟s total and permanent disablement was not related to his pre-existing
schizophrenia, and that the applicant be paid his full TPD entitlement.
[49] In accordance with directions given by the court, the applicant filed points of claim,
the Board filed points of defence, and the applicant filed a reply to the points of
defence. These documents are in the nature of pleadings.
[50] The points of claim raise the construction to be given to clauses 4, 6.2 and 6.5 of the
insurance terms. The applicant claims that, as a consequence of the dog incident, he
developed PTSD/anxiety disorder and it worsened until he ceased work on 8 July
2002 because of the PTSD/anxiety disorder and his physical injuries and, as a result
of not being able to meet the expense of treatment for the PTSD, it became chronic.
The applicant claims that his PTSD is due to the PTSD/anxiety disorder and is not
related to his pre-existing schizophrenia condition.
[51] The applicant‟s allegations that the Board failed to exercise its duties as trustee in
accordance with the law can be summarised as:
(a) the Board did not carry out a real and genuine consideration of the
evidence because it relied on an inadequate record of the evidence, as
it did not have before it the whole of the file that was before the Full
Court of the Federal Court on 15 May 2008;
(b) the Board abrogated the decision making function vested in it when
making the 25 September 2008 decision, as it adopted verbatim the
reasons submitted to it by QSuper Limited and failed to conduct any
analysis of the submissions made on behalf of the applicant, and was
tainted by the bias and bad faith of QSuper;
(c) the Board misapplied the deed and the insurance terms causing it to
accept flawed evidence and to ignore probative evidence, so that any
consideration that it carried out could not be said to have been real or
genuine;
(d) the Board accepted the reports of Dr Reddan which were flawed as
Dr Reddan failed to identify a date when the applicant became totally
and permanently disabled, Dr Reddan relied on a written position
description for the applicant‟s job as a field assistant, instead of
consideration what he actually did in the role, referred to the wrong
dog incident in making her assessment, and failed to identify any
fluctuation in the applicant‟s pre-existing schizophrenia condition
referable to the dog incident;
(e) the Board failed to give appropriate weight to the opinions of the
applicant‟s treating doctors on the basis of the different histories
given to them, when on close analysis there was no inconsistency
between the opinions based on the histories given by the applicant;
(f) the Board failed to obtain additional evidence to determine the nature
of the applicant‟s performance at work with DPI prior to the dog
incident in light of conflicting medical reports.
[52] In its points of defence, the Board claims that the applicant by seeking to have the
2008 decision reviewed by the Tribunal elected to be bound by the Tribunal‟s
decision, this proceeding is an abuse of process or a collateral attack on the
determination of the Tribunal and the 2011 Full Court judgment, and the matters
that are raised in this proceeding could and should have reasonably been raised
-- 14 of 20 --
15
before the Tribunal. The Board asserts that its 2008 decision is no longer the
operative decision, as the Tribunal upon a de novo hearing affirmed the Board‟s
decision on the basis that it was fair and reasonable in the circumstances. The
Board denies that it did not carry out a real and genuine consideration of the
evidence and puts in issue the allegations to that effect made by the applicant and
claims that it properly assessed and weighed the reports of Drs de Leacy and Butler.
The Board denies that there was any obligation on the Board to obtain information
as to the applicant‟s performance at work prior to 2 January 2002, in order to assess
the effect of the pre-existing schizophrenia condition on the applicant‟s work. After
the Board filed its points of defence, it filed the application on 23 December 2011
that seeks to summarily dispose of the proceeding.
The inherent jurisdiction and r 16 UCPR
[53] As the proceeding was commenced by originating application and no order was
made under r 14 of the UCPR that the proceedings continue as if started by claim,
the Board was unable to rely on r 293 of the UCPR to pursue summary judgment. It
has therefore based its application to bring the proceeding to an end summarily on
the court‟s inherent jurisdiction to control its own processes to prevent an abuse of
process or the jurisdiction conferred by r 16 of the UCPR, but the application is in
substance seeking summary judgment. In view of the fact that points of claim,
points of defence and a reply to the points of defence have been filed and served
which articulate the issues, the approach to determining whether the proceeding
should be brought to an end summarily should be no less stringent than that
provided under r 293.
[54] Under r 293(2) of the UCPR, the two conditions of which the court must be satisfied
before it can give judgment for a defendant is that the plaintiff has no real prospect
of succeeding on its claim and there is no need for a trial of the claim. Although
r 293 (and its counterpart r 292) are modern procedural rules for applying for
summary judgment in the context of the philosophy of the UCPR found in r 5,
authoritative statements about exercising caution in terminating a proceeding
summarily remain applicable: Spencer v The Commonwealth (2010) 241 CLR 118
at [24] and [60], LCR Mining Group Pty Ltd v Ocean Tyres Pty Ltd [2011] QCA
105 at [29], and Neumann Contractors Pty Ltd v Traspunt No 5 Pty Ltd [2011] 2 Qd
R 114 at [80]-[81]. Although the provision considered in Spencer was that applying
in the Federal Court where the test for summary judgment is “no reasonable
prospect,” rather than “no real prospect,” the comments in the judgments in Spencer
about the exercise of caution in dismissing an action summarily were intended to
apply generally in respect of the procedure of summary judgment.
[55] At the commencement of the hearing I invited the parties to consider whether I
should hear the matter as a final hearing, rather than the application for summary
judgment. It appeared to me that the parties had placed before the court extensive
material that was relevant to the final hearing and that for the purpose of the
application I had to traverse much of the ground that would be considered in the
final hearing. The applicant was concerned, however, that not all the documents
that might be necessary for the final hearing were before the court and could not say
with confidence that there might not be further evidence. The applicant‟s solicitors
had obtained disclosure of 247 folios from DPI prior to making the submissions to
the Tribunal in 2009, but noted that FOI access to 25 folios had been declined by
DPI. The applicant‟s solicitors did not identify in specific terms any outstanding
-- 15 of 20 --
16
documents or evidence that the applicant intended to obtain for this proceeding,
other than raising the possibility in general terms of expert evidence and putting
before the court parts of the applicant‟s personnel file. I proceeded to hear the
submissions relevant to whether the Board should obtain the summary relief sought
in its application on the basis of the material that had been filed in the proceeding.
The Board’s submissions
[56] The Board‟s submissions reflected its points of defence, submitting that it is
oppressive for the applicant to exhaust his rights under the Complaints Act and on
appeal, “vexing” the Board on each occasion, before seeking to review the same
exercise of discretion under the Trusts Act. It is submitted that the applicant is
seeking to canvass in this proceeding the same issues already canvassed and
resolved before the Tribunal and the Full Court of the Federal Court. The Board
submits that, on the basis of the need for finality of litigation and to avoid collateral
attack of the Tribunal‟s 2009 determination that was upheld in the Full Court of the
Federal Court, there is no real prospect that, if the proceeding were allowed to
continue, the discretion to grant declaratory relief would be exercised. The Board
submits that, in any case, the complaints made about the failures of the Board in its
decision making process are doomed to fail. The Board relies on the circumstance
that that the entitlement to a benefit under clauses 6.2(c)(iii) and 6.5(c)(iii) of the
insurance terms is conditioned on it being established to the satisfaction of the
Board that the TPD was not related to a condition that ought reasonably to have
been disclosed had a personal statement been submitted when the applicant became
an insured member or increased the number of units of insurance.
The applicant’s submissions
[57] The applicant‟s written submissions are primarily directed to why the applicant
should be allowed to proceed in this proceeding after exercising his rights under the
Complaints Act. The applicant submits that it was appropriate for him to exhaust
his rights under the Complaints Act, before bringing the application under s 8 of the
Trusts Act, because of the operation of s 20 of the Complaints Act.
[58] The applicant seeks to distinguish between the respective processes under the
Complaints Act and s 8 of the Trusts Act and that the review by the Tribunal which
was an administrative review of a limited nature to ascertain whether the Board‟s
decision was fair and reasonable in the circumstances did not require the Tribunal to
consider the process by which the Board reached its decision, as recognised in the
2011 Full Court judgment at [54].
[59] The applicant relies on the confirmation by the High Court in Finch v Telstra Super
Pty Ltd (2010) 242 CLR 254 at [66] that the decision of a trustee of a
superannuation fund may be reviewable for want of “properly informed
consideration” on the basis that if the consideration is not properly informed it is not
genuine. The applicant relies on the observations made by Reeves J in the course of
his 2010 decision about possible deficiencies in the Board‟s reasoning processes
and submits there is a serious question to be tried on whether the Board breached its
duties as trustee or under the insurance terms in the way it considered the
applicant‟s application for TPD benefits.
[60] On the basis of the importance of TPD benefits to a person of the applicant‟s age
who can no longer work and is in a relatively vulnerable position vis-a-vis the
-- 16 of 20 --
17
Board, it is submitted that the interests of justice tips the balance in his favour
against striking out, setting aside or permanently staying the proceeding.
Issues
[61] The issues that will decide this application are:
(a) does the review of the Board‟s 2008 decision by the Tribunal under
the Complaints Act preclude the applicant‟s seeking to invoke s 8 of
the Trusts Act in relation to the Board‟s process of decision making?
(b) has the applicant no real prospect of succeeding on any of his
allegations?
(c) should there be a final hearing of this application?
The relevance of the Board’s 2008 decision being affirmed by the Tribunal
[62] In view of the administrative nature of the review by the Tribunal under the
Complaints Act, the limited jurisdiction given to the Federal Court under s 46 of the
Complaints Act to hear an appeal from the Tribunal‟s determination only on a
question of law, and that s 20 of the Complaints Act contemplates that an applicant
may pursue a complaint under the Complaints Act in addition to pursuing the same
subject matter in a court proceeding, the fact that the Tribunal affirmed the Board‟s
2008 decision does not, as a matter of law, preclude the applicant from seeking to
invoke s 8 of the Trusts Act in respect of the Board‟s 2008 decision, as affirmed by
the Tribunal. Any consideration of the Board‟s 2008 decision under s 8 of the
Trusts Act cannot ignore that the Board‟s decision has been affirmed by the
Tribunal. There may be practical consequences from the intervention of the process
of review by the Tribunal in affirming the Board‟s decision for the application
under s 8 of the Trusts Act.
[63] To the extent that the applicant‟s complaints about process in respect of the Board‟s
decision making were addressed in the course of the Tribunal‟s decision making,
pursuit of those same complaints under s 8 of the Trusts Act may be affected by the
opportunity the applicant had to address those matters on the review before the
Tribunal and how the Tribunal dealt with them.
[64] The Board asserts that, even if the applicant had some prospects of success in
showing that the Board breached its duty in making its 2008 decision, there are
good reasons arising from the applicant‟s exercise of his rights under the
Complaints Act for not exercising its discretion to grant relief. In a particular case, it
may be that the nature of the declaratory relief sought by an applicant under s 8 of
the Trusts Act after being unsuccessful in the review by the Tribunal of a trustee‟s
decision will result in a court refusing to grant relief on discretionary grounds,
because of the prior exercise of rights under the Complaints Act. This possibility
was adverted to in Rusterholz v Board of Trustees of the State Public Sector
Superannuation Scheme [2011] QSC 276 at [2]. Whether that should be done on a
summary basis is another question. It is not appropriate at this stage where a
particular breach of duty has not yet been the subject of a finding (because there has
not been a final hearing) and therefore where all the factors relevant to the exercise
of the discretion cannot be stated with precision to predict how the discretion would
be exercised.
[65] The Board is not entitled to have the proceeding struck out on the basis that the
applicant had the Board‟s 2008 decision reviewed under the Complaints Act.
-- 17 of 20 --
18
The prospects of success of the applicant’s allegations
[66] When the Board came to make its 2008 decision, it proceeded on the basis that the
applicant was totally and permanently disabled when he was retired from DPI, but
the issue to be resolved was whether that TPD related to a pre-existing condition.
This was a reasonable approach, in view of the conditions that had to be fulfilled
under the insurance terms for an insured member to receive benefits for TPD where
the member had been an insured member for the relevant units of insurance for
fewer than ten continuous years. The applicant‟s contention that under clause 4.4 of
the insurance terms the TPD benefit became payable upon the applicant‟s becoming
totally and permanently disabled and that clauses 6.2(c)(iii) and 6.5(c)(iii) were
disentitling or exclusionary terms is incorrect. Clause 4.4 refers to the TPD benefit
that becomes payable under the insurance terms which relevantly brings in clauses
6.2 and 6.5 that set out the conditions on which the benefit becomes payable.
[67] In relation the allegation by the applicant that the Board did not have before it the
whole of the file that was before the Full Court of the Federal Court on 15 May
2008, the applicant identifies that the Board did not have the report of Dr Butler
dated 15 July 2004 and the report of Ms Jooste dated 19 November 2001 (sic). The
Board had before it the QSuper submission that had been made to it on 26 August
2004 that summarised Dr Butler‟s report of 15 July 2004 which was also referred to
in other documents before the Board and was appended to the 26 August 2004
submission. (The 2008 QSuper submission records the 2004 submission as
comprising 91 pages which must include its appendices.) Similarly, the report of
Ms Jooste (incorrectly dated November 2011) was an appendix to that same
submission, but in addition was a referral to a general medical practitioner that was
subsumed by Ms Jooste‟s comprehensive medico-legal report provided to QSuper
on 11 March 2003 and addressed in Dr Reddan‟s 2003 report. This allegation has
no substance.
[68] The applicant‟s allegation that the Board abrogated its decision making function by
adopting the reasons submitted to it by QSuper does not take account of the role of
the trustees of the Board in making decisions and the role of QSuper in preparing
the material and reports for the purpose of equipping the Board to make decisions.
The reliance by the Board on the observations in Minister for Aboriginal Affairs v
Peko-Wallsend Ltd (1986) 162 CLR 24, 30-31 and 65-66 by analogy is apt. The
Board is still bound to give real and genuine consideration to all materials and
submissions relevant to the decision that it has to make, but the process by which
the QSuper submission with proposed options A and B was prepared and put before
it does not of itself indicate that the Board abrogated its decision making function.
There is no substance in this allegation.
[69] With respect to the allegation that QSuper was biased and acted in bad faith, it is
relevant that the decision was made by the Board and not QSuper. The applicant
challenged putting Dr Reddan‟s 2008 report before the Board, but that was a
relevant document for the Board‟s consideration in making its decision. The
alleged bad faith and bias of QSuper was not reflected in improper material or
submissions before the Board. There does not appear to be any substance in this
allegation.
[70] The applicant alleges that the Board misapplied the terms of the deed in the
insurance terms by concluding that a relationship existed between the applicant‟s
-- 18 of 20 --
19
disablement and the pre-existing schizophrenia condition as at the date of the
Board‟s decision on 25 September 2008 rather than the date of his retirement on 23
June 2003. That is not a correct characterisation of the Board‟s findings and
overlooks the fact that there was no issue about the applicant‟s TPD from the time
he ceased his employment with the DPI. The Board correctly identified the issue
that had to be resolved in relation to the applicant‟s claim at the 25 September 2008
meeting and acted on Dr Reddan‟s report of permanent disablement when she
examined the application on 29 April 2003. There is no substance in this allegation.
[71] In relation to the allegation that the reports of Dr Reddan were flawed, the Board
had before it the applicant‟s solicitors‟ letter dated 11 September 2008 that made the
submissions about flaws in Dr Reddan‟s reports that are the basis of this allegation.
(Those submissions were repeated and expanded unsuccessfully before the
Tribunal.) It was a matter for the satisfaction of the Board on the relevant issue. It
does not follow from the fact that the Board preferred Dr Reddan‟s opinion that
there was not real and genuine consideration by the Board of all the psychiatric,
psychological and related evidence. This allegation suggests the applicant is
seeking a merits review in this proceeding which is not available under s 8 of the
Trusts Act.
[72] To the extent that the applicant challenges the Board‟s decision making where it
expressed its preference for Dr Reddan‟s opinion “because of the different medical
histories” given by the applicant to Dr Butler and Dr de Leacy, those different
histories were patent from the reports, identified in paragraphs 13 and 14 of the
findings on the Board and were the subject of observations in Dr Reddan‟s 2008
report. The applicant submits in this proceeding, as he did before the Tribunal, that
on “close analysis” there was no inconsistency between the opinions of Dr Butler
and Dr de Leacy based on the histories given by the applicant. That again is
descending into a consideration of the merits which is not available in this
proceeding.
[73] The applicant‟s challenge to the Board‟s decision making on the basis that it failed
to obtain additional evidence (such as the applicant‟s personnel file with DPI) to
determine the nature of the applicant‟s performance at work with DPI assumes that
the symptoms of his schizophrenia affected him the same way before and after the
dog incident. That was a matter for expert opinion and was addressed by Drs
Reddan, Butler and de Leacy. It is simplistic reasoning to suggest that as the
applicant had schizophrenia when he was employed by DPI before the dog incident
and could do the job, when he became disabled from employment after the dog
incident, it could not have been attributable to his schizophrenia. This allegation
has no substance.
[74] There does not appear to be any real prospects of success of the applicant‟s
allegations on the basis of the material relied on for the application to end the
proceeding in a summary way.
Should there be a final hearing?
[75] The claim for insurance benefits for total and permanent disablement that is pursued
by the applicant is a significant sum. If there is any prospect that the applicant
could be successful after a full hearing of his claim, this matter should not be
terminated summarily. I am conscious that to express the view that I have on the
-- 19 of 20 --
20
applicant‟s prospects of success in showing a breach of duty on the part of the
Board under s 8 of the Trusts Act, I have analysed the material that was relied on by
both parties in great detail in a way that is inconsistent with the usual role of the
court in an application to strike out the proceeding under r 16 or the inherent
jurisdiction, and where it was not conceded by the applicant that all the evidence to
be adduced by the applicant in the proceeding was available for the hearing of the
application. I am also concerned that the submissions made by the Board on the
merits of the applicant‟s claims were more appropriate to addressing the application,
as if it were under r 293 of the UCPR, when that was not the type of application the
applicant had primarily come to meet. Having regard to the sense of grievance that
the applicant has about the Board‟s decision making, he might have a justifiable
sense of grievance if he were denied the opportunity to pursue this proceeding to a
final hearing.
[76] In all the circumstances of this proceeding, I am not prepared to exercise the
discretion to terminate the proceeding summarily.
Orders
[77] It follows that the application filed on 23 December 2011 is dismissed.
[78] I will hear submissions of the parties on an appropriate costs order. It is relevant
that the Board took the forensic decision (with the associated risk) of attempting to
bring this proceeding to an end on a summary basis. That would have been an
appropriate strategy, if the Board had been successful in showing that the exercise
by the applicant of his rights under the Complaints Act precluded him from seeking
to invoke s 8 of the Trusts Act. The Board has been unsuccessful in convincing the
court to dispose otherwise of the proceeding on a summary basis. Subject to
hearing the parties‟ submissions, my inclination is to order the Board to pay the
applicant‟s costs of the application to be assessed.
-- 20 of 20 --
Official source: https://www.sclqld.org.au/caselaw/QSC/2012/211