Ellington v Heinrich Constructions Pty Ltd & Ors [2004] QCA 475
SUPREME COURT OF QUEENSLAND
CITATION: Ellington v Heinrich Constructions P/L & Ors [2004] QCA
475
PARTIES: ROBERT SNEITH ELLINGTON
(plaintiff/not a party to the appeal)
v
HEINRICH CONSTRUCTIONS PTY LTD
ACN 080 897 605
(first defendant/not a party to the appeal)
WATPAC AUSTRALIA PTY LTD
ACN 010 462 816
(second defendant/respondent)
DUMARESQ CONSTRUCTIONS PTY LTD
ACN 080 341 564
(third defendant/appellant)
FILE NO: Appeal No 5490 of 2004
SC No 5805 of 2002
DIVISION: Court of Appeal
PROCEEDING: Personal Injury
ORIGINATING
COURT: Supreme Court at Brisbane
DELIVERED ON: 10 December 2004
DELIVERED AT: Brisbane
HEARING DATE: 18 October 2004
JUDGES: McMurdo P, Davies JA and Chesterman J
Separate reasons for judgment of each member of the Court,
each concurring as to the order made
ORDER: 1. That that part of the orders of 31 May 2004, whereby
judgment was entered ‘for the second defendant
[respondent] against the third defendant [appellant]
for damages for all sums and costs which, pursuant to
[those] orders, the second defendant [respondent] is
liable to pay’, be set aside.
2. Order instead that as between the second defendant
(respondent) and the third defendant (appellant) the
second defendant pay two-thirds of the damages and
costs ordered to be paid to the plaintiff and that the
third defendant (appellant) should pay one-third of
those damages and costs.
3. That the respondent pay the appellant’s costs of the
appeal to be assessed on the standard basis.
CATCHWORDS: INSURANCE – INDEMNITY AGAINST INDUSTRIAL
-- 1 of 12 --
2
AND LIKE RISKS – where the appellant was the
subcontractor of the respondent – where the learned trial
judge concluded that both the appellant and the respondent
were liable to pay damages to the plaintiff at first instance –
where the appellant and the respondent each issued notices
claiming contribution or indemnity in respect of the
plaintiff’s claim – where the learned trial judge ordered that
the appropriate apportionment was two-thirds to the
respondent and one-third to the appellant and made orders
allowing those parties to recover contributions from each
other – where the respondent also claimed indemnity on the
basis of cl 16 of the subcontract between the parties – where
the learned trial judge concluded that the requirements of cl
16 had not been complied with so offered no indemnity –
where the appellant was ordered to pay damages – whether
the learned trial judge erred in finding that the obligations
imposed by cl 16 had not been complied with – whether cl
16(a) was illusory, or void for uncertainty and not capable of
giving rise to any contractual right, breach of which would
sound in damages
Andar Transport Pty Ltd v Brambles Limited (2004) 78 ALJR
907, cited
Ankar Pty Ltd v National Westminster Finance (Australia)
Ltd (1987) 162 CLR 549, cited
Biotechnology Australia Pty Ltd v Pace (1988) 15 NSWLR
130, discussed
Canberra Formwork Pty Ltd v Civil and Civic Ltd & Anor
(1982) 41 ACTR 1, discussed
Chan v Cresdon Pty Ltd (1989) 168 CLR 242, cited
Coulton v Holcombe (1986) 162 CLR 1, discussed
Darlington Futures Ltd v Delco Australia Pty Ltd (1986) 161
CLR 500, discussed
Davis v Commissioner for Main Roads (1968) 117 CLR 529,
discussed
Gillespie Brothers & Co Ltd v Roy Bowles Transport Ltd
[1973] QB 400, discussed
Groves & Anor v BMW Finance Ltd [2001] QCA 16, Appeal
No 3316 of 2000, 9 February 2001, discussed
Photo Production Ltd v Securicor Transport Ltd [l980] AC
827, discussed
COUNSEL: Mr P A Keane QC, with Mr J B Rolls, for the appellant
Mr D B Fraser QC, with Mr R B Dickson, for the respondent
SOLICITORS: Minter Ellison Gold Coast for the appellant
Jensen McConaghy for the respondent
[1] McMURDO P: I agree with the orders proposed by Chesterman J and with his
reasons.
-- 2 of 12 --
3
[2] DAVIES JA: I agree with the reasons for judgment of Chesterman J and with the
orders he proposes.
[3] CHESTERMAN J: The respondent, the well known building company, was
engaged to build new grandstands for the Brisbane Cricket Ground. It
subcontracted part of the work to the appellant which carries on business as a steel
fixer and concreter. By the terms of the relevant subcontract between the
respondent and the appellant the latter was to supply and fix reinforcing steel and
mesh for stage five of the ‘redevelopment of the Brisbane Cricket Ground’.
Payment was to be made at the rate of $515 per tonne of reinforcing steel supplied
and fixed and $2 per square metre for mesh. The concrete was to be supplied and
poured by others.
[4] The plaintiff in the action (who was not a party to the appeal) was employed by the
appellant as a steel fixer. On 30 June 1999 he fell from a partly constructed
grandstand onto the ground some four metres below. At the time he was helping
put a prefabricated steel beam in place and was required to stand on a ledge at the
perimeter of the construction.
[5] The plaintiff was seriously injured and sued the respondent and two of its
subcontractors. One of them, the appellant, was, as I have said, his employer. On
21 May 2004 Muir J gave judgment for the plaintiff against both the appellant and
the respondent. The action against the other subcontractor was dismissed. The
appellant and the respondent had each issued to the other notices claiming
contribution or indemnity in respect of the plaintiff’s claim. Muir J found that the
respondent was ‘more culpable and that its acts and omissions played a more
significant role in causing the plaintiff’s damage than did those of the [appellant].’
His Honour concluded that the appropriate apportionment was as to two thirds to
the respondent and one third to the appellant and made orders allowing those parties
to recover contribution from each other to the extent of their respective
responsibility for the plaintiff’s damages and costs.
[6] The respondent had a separate basis for its claim for indemnity against the
appellant. It relied upon the terms of cl 16 of the subcontract between them which,
the respondent contended, obliged the appellant to indemnify it against, inter alia,
its liability to compensate the plaintiff. The trial judge rejected this submission but
found that the clause obliged the appellant to effect a policy of insurance which
would have indemnified the respondent against that liability. The appellant had not
taken out the requisite policy and his Honour found that that failure constituted a
breach of contract by the appellant. Damages were assessed in the sum for which
the respondent was liable to pay the plaintiff and its costs of resisting the plaintiff’s
claim.
[7] The appellant submitted on appeal that the trial judge erred in concluding that cl 16
of the subcontract obliged it to effect a policy of insurance indemnifying the
respondent against the plaintiff’s claim. The submission was, in effect, a rehearsal
of the argument addressed to the trial judge. The appellant raised a second
argument which had not been advanced at trial. It was that cl 16(a) was illusory, or
void for uncertainty and not capable of giving rise to any contractual right, breach of
which would sound in damages. The appellant accepted that this ground could not
be made out if there was any possibility that, with notice of the point, the
respondent could have led evidence at trial to defeat it.
-- 3 of 12 --
4
[8] The respondent by notice of contention submitted that the trial judge erred in
concluding that cl 16 did not oblige the appellant to indemnify the respondent
against the plaintiff’s claim.
[9] It is convenient to deal with this point first.
[10] Clause 16 provided:
‘The Subcontractor shall not commit any act of trespass or commit
any nuisance or be guilty of any negligence and shall effectually
protect and hereby indemnifies the Builder and the Builder’s
employees against all loss, damage, injury or liability whatsoever
that may occur in respect of the Works or through the execution of
the Works and in case of any such loss, damage, injury or liability
occurring the Subcontractor shall make full compensation and shall
make good all such loss, damage, injury or liability and if the Builder
is required to pay any damages for such loss, damage, injury or
liability the amount of such damages may together with all costs
which the Builder may have incurred in defending or settling the
claim for such damages may be deducted from any monies due or
becoming due to the Subcontractor under this Contract or may be
recovered from the Subcontractor as liquidated damages in that
respect incurred and without any way affecting the generality of the
foregoing the Subcontractor expressly covenants and agrees with the
Builder that in respect of –
(a) Injury to Persons and Property
The Subcontractor shall effect a Public and Products Liability
Insurance Policy in the joint names of the Proprietor, the
Builder and the Subcontractor, for an amount not less than that
stated in the Second Schedule in respect of any one occurrence.
The Policy shall include a Cross Liability Clause, in which the
Insurer waives all rights of subrogation against any of the
parties comprising the Insured, and accepts that each of these
parties is considered as if a separate Policy had been issued to
each of them. The Policy must indemnify the Insured parties in
respect of claims made against them by any person who is not
defined as a “worker” under the WorkCover Queensland Act
1996. The Policy shall be maintained until the Final Certificate
under the Head Contract is received by the Builder.
(b) Injury to Employees and PPS Workers
The Subcontractor shall insure and keep insured against any
liability, loss, claim or proceedings whatsoever whether arising
at Common Law or by virtue of any statute relating to Workers
Compensation or Employer’s Liability by any person employed
by him in or about the execution of the Works. The amount of
insurance in respect of Common Law Liability shall be for an
unlimited amount. The Subcontractor shall also insure any
person engaged by them, who is not defined as a “worker”
under the WorkCover Queensland Act 1996, under an Eligible
Persons cover or Income Protection Insurance.
-- 4 of 12 --
5
If any statute requires the Subcontractor or any secondary
Subcontractor to insure against the liability stated in this clause,
the Subcontractor must ensure that insurance is in place in strict
accordance with that legislation for workers covered by that
legislation.
If the Subcontractor or secondary Subcontractor is not required
by any statute to insure against the liability stated in this clause,
the Subcontractor must ensure that, in respect of those workers
not covered by insurance required by legislation, the
Subcontractor or secondary Subcontractor takes out insurance
under which those workers will receive benefits at least
equivalent to the benefits available under the Construction
Accident Protection Plan (CAPP).
(Details of what constitutes equal benefits to CAPP are
available from the Queensland Master Builders Association).
(c) Damage to the Works or Plant And Equipment
(i) The Subcontractor shall effect a Contract Works
Insurance Policy in the joint names of the Subcontractor
and the Builder, in respect of the works, for an amount
not less than the Contract Sum. The Policy shall be
maintained until the Certificate of Practical Completion
under the Head Contract is received by the Builder.
(ii) the Subcontractor shall effect a Contractors Plant
Insurance Policy covering all plant and equipment to be
used by the Subcontractor in connection with the works
for their full market value.’
[11] The subcontract defined the appellant’s Works to be:
‘Provide all supervision, labour, materials, plant and equipment
necessary to place and fix of all the steel reinforcement and
associated works, in accordance with the plans, specification and
tender documentation.’
[12] The rival contentions were these. The respondent, at trial and in support of its
notice of contention, submitted that that part of cl 16:
‘… hereby indemnifies the [respondent] … against all loss, damage,
injury or liability whatsoever that may occur in respect of the Works
or through the execution of the Works …’
meant that, as they appear to say, that the appellant should indemnify the respondent
against its liability to the plaintiff which occurred in respect of or through the
execution of the works. The appellant contended that the clause should not be
construed so as to oblige it to indemnify the respondent against the consequences of
the respondent’s own negligence or fault.
-- 5 of 12 --
6
[13] A term very similar to cl 16 was the subject of judicial examination in
Canberra Formwork Pty Ltd v Civil & Civic Ltd and Anor (1982) 41 ACTR 1.
Muir J accepted the reasoning of Blackburn CJ and concluded that the clause did
not require the appellant to indemnify the respondent against its liability to the
plaintiff arising from its own fault. The structure of the clause in issue in
Canberra Formwork is a little different to that in issue here but the effect of both
provisions appears to be very similar, if not identical. What appears in cl 17 of the
subcontract between the appellant and the respondent appeared as para (d) to the
clause considered in Canberra Formwork. The difference in structure appears
insignificant and may be ignored.
[14] It must be remembered that the trial judge found that the respondent itself, by its
servants, had not taken reasonable care for the protection of the workmen building
the grandstand. The plaintiff was injured because of the respondent’s failure to
protect him by adequate guard rails. What the respondent seeks, pursuant to cl 16,
is that the appellant should indemnify it against the consequences of its own
negligence.
[15] Blackburn CJ (21) analysed the clause in question and noted that it contained parts
or ‘limbs’ as his Honour called them. Adopting the analysis the parts, or limbs, are:
First – ‘the [appellant] shall not commit any act of trespass or …
nuisance or … negligence’
Second – ‘and shall effectually protect and hereby indemnifies the
[respondent] against any loss damage injury or liability’ whatsoever
that may occur in respect of the works or through the execution of
the works
Third – ‘and in case of any such loss, damage, injury or liability’
occurring the appellant ‘shall make full compensation and shall make
good all such loss, damage, injury or liability’
Fourth – ‘and if the [respondent] is required to pay any damages for
such loss, damage, injury or liability the amount of such damages
may together with all costs … be deducted from any moneys due …
to the [appellant] under this order …’.
[16] As Blackburn CJ noted some of the parts, taken in isolation, lend support to the
respondent’s contention that the appellant should indemnify it against the plaintiff’s
claim. The second part is sufficient to achieve that result. The third part might also
answer that description.
[17] The question is whether the second part or limb is to be read as a separate obligation
or whether it is to be seen as part of the subject matter of the clause as a whole.
There would, as the Chief Justice observed, be more force in the respondent’s
contention if the clause were punctuated in such a way as to suggest separate subject
matters were being dealt with in the clause. If, for example, a full stop followed the
word ‘negligence’ and a new sentence began, ‘The appellant hereby indemnifies the
respondent against any loss etc.’, the respondent’s case would be stronger. As it is
the promise of indemnity follows hard on the expression of the appellant’s
obligation not to commit any act of trespass or commit any nuisance or act of
-- 6 of 12 --
7
negligence. The indemnity is against any loss, damage, injury or liability in respect
of the works or through the execution of the works. The indemnity, constrained as
it is between the promise not to commit trespass, nuisance or negligence and the
liability to make good that damage or loss in respect of, or through the execution of,
the appellant’s works suggests that it is limited to damage or loss occasioned by the
appellant’s conduct.
[18] This was the view expressed by Blackburn CJ. His Honour said (22):
‘But as the clause stands, I think that the first limb indicates the
extent of meaning of the phrase “loss, damage, injury or liability” in
the second and third limbs – that is, loss etc occasioned by fault of
the kind indicated by the first limb. To construe the second limb
more extensively is to attribute to the draftsman a grossly forced
conjunction of two distinct provisions. Construed as I think it should
be, the second limb does not extend to loss etc occasioned by the
fault of the general contractor. It indemnifies the general contractor
against liability for breach of a non-delegable duty … or for strict
liability … occasioned by the trespass, nuisance, or negligence of the
sub-contractor, but not against liability arising from the fault of the
general contractor itself.’
[19] The Chief Justice was ‘fortified in [his] tentative conclusion’ by the expression of
opinion of Buckley LJ in Gillespie Brothers & Co Ltd v Roy Bowles Transport Ltd
[1973] QB 400 at 419 that:
‘It is … a fundamental consideration in the construction of contracts
of this kind that it is inherently improbable that one party to the
contract should intend to absolve the other party from the
consequences of the latter’s own negligence.’
and by the remarks of Kitto J in Davis v Commissioner for Main Roads (1968) 117
CLR 529 at 534:
‘It seems to me impossible to suppose that the parties were intending
that the appellant should indemnify the respondent against claims
based upon the respondent’s negligence.’
[20] The trial judge was persuaded by this analysis to reach the same conclusion. His
Honour also noted that the appellant and respondent agreed to the inclusion of cl 16
in their contract ‘well after’ the decision in Canberra Formwork which had
determined the proper construction of a relevantly identical clause. His Honour
supposed the parties intended cl 16 to have the meaning ascribed to it by Blackburn
CJ. This, in my opinion, is an eminently sensible approach. I agree with it.
[21] The respondent argued on appeal that, contrary to the remarks of Buckley LJ and
Kitto J, that there is nothing improbable in a construction which made the appellant
liable to indemnify the respondent against the consequences of the respondent’s
own wrongdoing ‘because the obligation would be backed by the insurance policies
in the names of the appellant and the respondent’, which cl 16(a), (b) and (c)
required the appellant to effect.
-- 7 of 12 --
8
[22] The submission cannot be accepted because the insurance policies called for by
those clauses do not afford protection to the appellant against the full width of the
indemnity for which the respondent contends. Its claim is that the appellant is liable
to indemnify the respondent against ‘all loss, damage, injury or liability whatsoever
that may occur in respect of the Works or through [their] execution.’ The policy of
insurance, which the appellant was to effect pursuant to cl 16(a), was one which
indemnified both appellant and respondent ‘in respect of claims made against them
by any person who is not defined as a “worker” under the WorkCover Queensland
Act 1996.’ This would include the plaintiff’s claim against the respondent but the
policy falls far short of covering all of the liability which the respondent would
impose on the appellant pursuant to the indemnity. Likewise the policy required by
cl 16(b) is only the statutory workers’ compensation policy in respect of the
appellant’s own employees. The policy required by subclause (c) is one to
indemnify the appellant and the respondent against damage to or loss of the
subcontract works themselves. It says nothing of any liability which the respondent
may incur during or through the performance of the works.
[23] The respondent’s contention would make the appellant liable for the financial
consequences of the respondent’s acts that could be seen to be in respect of the
works, though the appellant had not authorised or performed the act, and was not
insured for the loss. This is an unlikely construction.
[24] The respondent relies also on the principle which found expression in
Photo Production Ltd v Securicor Transport Ltd [l980] AC 827 at 851:
‘In commercial contracts negotiated between business-men capable
of looking after their own interests and of deciding how risks
inherent in the performance of various kinds of contract can be most
economically borne (generally by insurance), it is … wrong to place
a strained construction upon words in an exclusion clause which are
clear and fairly susceptible of one meaning only even after due
allowance has been made for the presumption in favour of the
implied primary and secondary obligations.’
[25] There is no need to doubt the principle which, in any event, was approved by the
High Court in Darlington Futures Ltd v Delco Australia Pty Ltd (1986) 161 CLR
500 but it has no application in the present appeal. The meaning which the
respondent seeks to ascribe to the clause is not that which its words ‘clearly and
fairly’ give rise to. On the contrary the respondent’s favoured construction involves
a misreading of the clause which is, in any event, only ambiguously certain. There
is an element of doubt about the true construction but, for the reasons already given,
its meaning should be taken to be contrary to the respondent’s contention.
The respondent also points to the principle which guides the construction of
contractual indemnities, which is to resolve doubts in favour of the surety. See
Andar Transport Pty Ltd v Brambles Limited (2004) 78 ALJR 907 and Ankar Pty
Ltd v National Westminster Finance (Australia) Ltd (1987) 162 CLR 549 and
Chan v Cresdon Pty Ltd (1989) 168 CLR 242 at 256. Again, the principles
expressed in these cases must be accepted, but they are of no assistance in the
present case in which the point is not the construction of an indemnity provision but
the construction of a building contract to see whether it contains an indemnity.
-- 8 of 12 --
9
[26] In my opinion the trial judge was correct in his construction of cl 16. The
respondent’s attack upon the conclusion should be rejected.
[27] The appellant did not effect the policy of insurance which cl 16(a) appeared to
require. The trial judge found it liable to pay damages for this breach of contract,
the amount of which was equal to the judgment the plaintiff obtained against it. The
appellant submits this part of the judgment is wrong on the ground that the
subclause did not require the appellant to effect a policy of insurance that would
have provided cover to the respondent against the plaintiff’s claim. The submission
is that the scope of the policy required by cl 16(a) is limited by the introductory
words of the clause so that the policy was to protect the respondent against claims
that had their origin in some act of trespass, nuisance or negligence of the appellant,
and did not extend to the respondent’s own acts of negligence. As a separate point
the appellant argued that the policy required by the clause was to indemnify the
appellant and respondent in respect of claims made against them by any person not
a worker. The plaintiff was a worker. He was employed by the appellant. The
policy would not, it is argued, have indemnified the respondent against the
plaintiff’s claim, in any event.
[28] The arguments should be rejected.
[29] The concluding words of the first part of the clause, those which immediately
precede 16(a) are:
‘… without any way affecting the generality of the foregoing the
[appellant] expressly covenants and agrees with the [respondent] that
in respect of –
(a) Injury to Persons and Property
The [appellant] shall effect … Insurance …’.
The words are an explicit indication that the obligation to effect the policy of
insurance is a separate and independent obligation from that which appears in the
first part of the clause. To read (a) as being limited to the subject matter of the
preceding part of the clause is without warrant and is contrary to the express
intention of the parties. Moreover the point already mentioned is also relevant here.
The subject matter of the policy of insurance which must be effected in performance
of (a) is not the appellant’s liability to the respondent in the event that the appellant
commits some act of trespass, nuisance or negligence in carrying out the subcontract
works. The policy is to cover the respondent for claims against it by third parties.
To read the promise to effect insurance in (a) as commensurate with the appellant’s
potential liability for breach of its promise in the first part of the clause is to ignore
the discrepant natures of the contents of the two promises.
[30] The second argument is no more persuasive. The policy which must be effected
pursuant to cl 16(a):
‘… must indemnify the Insured parties in respect of claims made
against them by any person who is not defined as a “worker” under
the WorkCover … Act …’.
-- 9 of 12 --
10
The insured parties are the proprietor, presumably the Brisbane Cricket Ground
Trust, the respondent and the appellant. The policy was to include a clause by
which the insurer waived all rights of subrogation against any of the parties to the
policy who comprised the insured, each of whom was to be considered ‘as if a
separate policy had been issued to each of them.’
[31] Had a policy been effected as required by cl 16(a) the respondent would have been
an insured and would have had cover for a claim made against it by any person who
was not a worker. To give efficacy to the protection the clauses must provide
indemnity in respect of a claim by anyone not a worker employed by the particular
insured. The insurance required is the equivalent of three separate policies
protecting the separate interests of proprietor, appellant and respondent. Each of the
insured would have been protected against claims by their own workers by reason
of their statutory obligation to take out a policy under the WorkCover Act. It would
make little sense to require the appellant to effect insurance for the co-insured
against claims made by a worker employed by that insured. The policy was clearly
meant to indemnify the insured parties against claims brought by persons in respect
of whom the particular insured would not be covered by a WorkCover policy.
[32] The argument about uncertainty arises this way. Clause 16(a) required the appellant
to effect a policy which would protect the respondent against, inter alia, the
plaintiff’s claim ‘for an amount not less than that stated in the Second Schedule in
respect of any one occurrence.’ The second schedule consists of eight items, each
identified by the number of the clause in the subcontract to which the item relates.
Under the heading ‘Clause 16’ the following appeared:
POLICY NO. INSURANCE CO INSURED FOR AMOUNT EXPIRY DATE
WORKCOVER
POLICY
PUBLIC RISK
CONTRACTOR’S
RISK
[33] The subcontract was executed by both appellant and respondent. The page
containing the second schedule was signed, or at least initialled, on behalf of both
parties. Apparently by oversight the amount of cover (and other details) to be
effected by the insurance policy was omitted.
[34] The appellant submits that the consequence is to invalidate its promise to effect the
policy. It is said that that part of the contract comprising the obligation to take out
the policy is illusory or ‘irremediably obscure’. Another way of expressing the
point is that the promise is void because an essential term of it was uncertain or was
left to be agreed.
[35] There can be no doubt about the correctness of the submissions. They are supported
by Groves & Anor v BMW Finance Ltd [2001] QCA 16 especially at paras [20],
[40], [43] and [44]. In that case the lessor of motor vehicles was entitled, in the
event of the lessee’s default, to recover an amount of money calculated in
accordance with a formula set out in the lease. The calculation depended upon a
sum representing the ‘final value’ of the vehicles being inserted in a schedule to the
lease. The amount was omitted and it was held that the calculation on which proof
of the lessor’s claim depended could not be made.
-- 10 of 12 --
11
[36] The extent of the appellant’s obligation to effect insurance was to be measured by
the agreement of the parties recorded in Schedule 2. The terms of the contract
suggest, irresistibly, that the parties did not reach agreement on the point and did not
record the measure. According to Kirby P in Biotechnology Australia Pty Ltd v
Pace (1988) 15 NSWLR 130 at 135, although the court endeavours to uphold the
validity of agreements it cannot do so:
‘… where, in effect, it is asked to spell out, to an unacceptable
extent, that to which the parties have themselves failed to agree. Nor
will the court clarify that which is irremediably obscure.’
[37] The respondent’s answer is to point to the principle which finds expression in such
cases as Coulton v Holcombe (1986) 162 CLR 1. If at trial evidence could have
been given, which by any possibility could have prevented a party from succeeding
on a point, it cannot be raised, for the first time, on appeal. This leads to a
consideration of whether there is any possibility that the respondent might have led
evidence to overcome the deficiency in the contract.
[38] The appellant first intimated it intended to take this point in its outline of
submissions filed 13 July 2004. The respondent’s solicitor filed an affidavit on
12 October 2004. The affidavit deposes to information obtained from the
respondent’s senior contracts administrator, Mr Carman, who, on its behalf, made
the subcontract with the appellant. The affidavit contains no hint that the parties
had agreed on the amount for which the policy of insurance was to be effected, or
that they shared an intention about the amount. The affidavit exhibits a letter which
Mr Carman wrote to the appellant prior to the execution of the subcontract. It read:
‘Please find enclosed two (2) copies of our Subcontract Agreement
for your section of the Works.
These should have all the relevant insurance details completed, be
signed with each page initialled and both Subcontracts returned to
this office within seven (7) days. A signed Agreement will be
returned for your records.’
The letter might suggest that ‘the relevant insurance details’ had been agreed and
were to be inserted in the schedule. The affidavit does not, however, depose to this
fact. Mr Carman, it can be confidently inferred, did not inform the deponent that
agreement as to the amount had been made or that both he and the appellant’s
representative had come to a common intention about the amount.
[39] The affidavit drew attention to the fact that the appellant and respondent had made a
subcontract for the performance of work on an earlier stage of the construction of
the grandstands. The second schedule to that earlier subcontract did contain detail
of insurance policies, and the amounts of cover, referred to in cl 16. This fact is not,
however, relevant to the question whether the parties had turned their minds to the
amount of cover for which insurance should be effected for the purposes of the later
subcontract.
[40] Had there been agreement or a shared intention as to the amount which the written
contract did not reflect the respondent could have sought to have the agreement
rectified by a separate claim brought in the action. Had there been any evidence to
-- 11 of 12 --
12
support such a claim then the appellant could not be allowed to raise that point on
the appeal. No such evidence has been put forward. There is no indication that it
exists. The solicitor’s affidavit must be taken as the most that can be said on the
point on behalf of the respondent. It is insufficient to overcome the deficiency in
the contract.
[41] The affidavit concludes that had the issue of the deficient schedule been raised at or
before trial the solicitor would have received instructions ‘to investigate [the
respondent’s] rights …’. It was to be expected that the investigation would have
included ‘issues as to estoppel, the ability of a party to derive a benefit from its own
wrong, … misleading and deceptive conduct … as well as … rectification.’ What is
missing is an indication that between July and October the deponent had been able
to find any evidence to support a claim for rectification or any statement made by or
on behalf of the appellant giving rise to an estoppel or a claim for contravention of
the Trade Practices Act (Cth). Accordingly it is safe, and indeed appropriate, to
infer that the respondent was not able to adduce evidence to address the omission in
the schedule.
[42] It follows that cl 16(a) did not oblige the appellant to effect a policy of insurance
indemnifying the respondent against the plaintiff’s claim. It was not in breach of
contract in not securing such a policy and was not liable to pay damages for breach
of cl 16(a).
[43] Judgment was entered ‘for the second defendant [respondent] against the third
defendant [appellant] for damages for all sums and costs which, pursuant to [the]
orders [made on 31 May 2004], the second defendant [respondent] is liable to pay’.
This part of the judgment should be set aside. Instead there should be an order that
as between the second defendant (respondent) and the third defendant (appellant)
the second defendant pay two-thirds of the damages and costs ordered to be paid to
the plaintiff and that the third defendant should pay one-third of those damages and
costs.
[44] I would not disturb the order for costs made by the trial judge. Those orders
reflected the outcome of the trial on the basis of the arguments addressed to the
court. The judgment has not been disturbed on that basis. The appellant has
secured victory by an argument discovered after judgment. It should have the costs
of the appeal because the respondent chose to resist it with notice of the new
ground. There should be an order that the respondent pay the appellant’s costs of
the appeal to be assessed on the standard basis.
-- 12 of 12 --
Official source: https://www.sclqld.org.au/caselaw/QCA/2004/475