Dibb v CGU Insurance Ltd [2004] QCA 29
SUPREME COURT OF QUEENSLAND
CITATION: Dibb v CGU Insurance Ltd [2004] QCA 29
PARTIES: RAYMOND DIBB
(appellant/applicant)
v
CGU INSURANCE LIMITED ACN 004 478 371
(respondent/respondent)
FILE NO/S: Appeal No 9026 of 2003
DC No 978 of 2003
DIVISION: Court of Appeal
PROCEEDING: Application for Leave s 118 DCA (Civil)
ORIGINATING
COURT: District Court at Brisbane
DELIVERED EX
TEMPORE ON:
17 February 2004
DELIVERED AT: Brisbane
HEARING DATE: 17 February 2004
JUDGES: McMurdo P, Davies JA and Mackenzie J
Separate reasons for judgment of each member of the Court,
each concurring as to the orders made
ORDER: Application for leave to appeal refused with costs to be
assessed.
CATCHWORDS: INSURANCE - GENERAL - POLICIES OF INSURANCE -
CONSTRUCTION - application for leave to appeal under
s 118 District Court Act 1967 - where applicant tried to claim
legal costs of $16,324.27 incurred over a period of time from
his insurance policy - where policy was limited to the
relevant "period of insurance" - whether claim of legal costs
came within the scope of the insurance policy
COUNSEL: The applicant appeared on his own behalf
C Jennings for the respondent
SOLICITORS: The applicant appeared on his own behalf
Hunt & Hunt for the respondent
1
-- 1 of 11 --
DAVIES JA: This is an application for leave to appeal from a
judgment of the District Court on 12 September 2003 dismissing
an appeal by the applicant from a decision of the Magistrates
Court on 10 March 2003. The applicant's claim against the
respondent was for $16,324.27 with interest pursuant to a home
and contents insurance policy issued by the respondent to the
applicant and his wife.
I should say at the outset that the facts that this matter
involves a claim for only a little over $16,000 and that the
applicant has already had one appeal are facts which tend
against a grant of leave to appeal to this Court. In such
circumstances this matter would need to have some unusual
feature otherwise justifying leave.
It is necessary to say something about the facts and issues in
the case in order to determine whether that is so. The
applicant's employment was terminated by his employer on 12
August 1996. As a consequence of that termination he
commenced proceedings against his employer in the Queensland
Industrial Relations Commission in September 1996. He also
commenced proceedings in the Federal Court on 12 February 1999
against his employer arising out of that termination.
On 10 April 1997 the applicant and his wife entered into an
insurance contract with the respondent in respect of their
house and contents. That policy was then renewed from year to
2
-- 2 of 11 --
year. During the first period of insurance, in February 1998,
the applicant and his wife were advised by the respondent that
the policy would thenceforth include a legal costs and
expenses benefit in the following terms:
"We will pay legal costs and expenses you are liable to
pay following legal proceedings brought by you, or
against you, in Australia. You must advise us of any
legal proceedings brought by you or against you. We will
only pay claims notified to us during the period of
insurance shown on your most recent schedule. We will
only pay the legal costs and expenses incurred with our
consent. The most we will pay during any one period of
insurance is $5,000.
We will not pay legal expenses relating to
...
• any matter arising out of your business or
profession."
The applicant and his wife renewed the policy with that term
in it on 10 April 1998. He says that from 13 April 1998 he
began to incur legal costs and expenses relating to his claim
in the Queensland Industrial Relations Commission. I have a
little difficulty in seeing why legal expenses were not
incurred from September 1996 when he commenced proceedings,
but it is unnecessary to consider that question further.
The applicant and his wife renewed the policy again on
10 April 1999. From 12 July 1999 the applicant says he
commenced incurring legal costs and expenses in relation to
the Federal Court action. That action apparently also joined
3
-- 3 of 11 --
as defendant a superannuation fund for alleged improper
rejection of the applicant's nomination as a fund director in
October 1998.
In April or May 2001 these legal actions were settled. In the
meantime the applicant and his wife had continued to renew the
house and contents policy and did so again on 10 April 2001.
By letter dated 28 June 2001 the applicant requested the
respondent to indemnify him for legal costs incurred in the
legal proceedings to which I have referred.
The policy is a standard buildings and contents policy. Under
the heading "What is Insured?" appears the following:
"Your buildings and/or contents as set out in your schedule
are insured if they are destroyed, lost or damaged. They
are insured only if you own them, or are liable for them.
If you only insure buildings, the cover provided for
destruction, loss or damage does not apply to contents.
If you only insure contents, the cover provided for
destruction, loss or damage does not apply to buildings.
Your buildings and contents are insured while at your
situation.
Cover for your contents while away from your situation is
not provided unless we say so.
We will cover your buildings and contents for any
accidental damage or accidental loss including that
caused by:
..."
4
-- 4 of 11 --
After that there follow a number of specific inclusions. The
policy then states that it will not cover building and
contents or accidental damage or accidental loss by other
specified clauses. It then provides for additional things
which the insurer will pay for when buildings have been
insured and additional things which it will pay for when
contents have been insured. These are dealt with in Sections
1 and 2 of the policy.
Under the heading "What Section 1 and Section 2 of the Policy
do NOT Cover", Section 1 being building and contents, to which
I have referred, and Section 2 being valuable items, appears
the following:
"We will not pay claims for loss, damage or liability
arising from ...
• any event that does not occur within the period of
the insurance..."
Before the learned District Court judge and in this Court the
respondent has submitted that for any of four reasons the
claim must fail and so must this application. I should set
those reasons out. They are:
1. The phrase "legal costs and expenses" must be read in
context, namely in an insurance policy for accidental
damage to a home or its contents. So read, it was
5
-- 5 of 11 --
submitted, the object of the policy in this respect was
to insure against legal expenses relating to any accident
causing damage to either the insured's home or its
contents;
2. Relies on the provisions which I have already set out
that the insurer will not pay claims arising from "any
alleged or actual act or omission ... prior to the
commencement of the policy" or "any event that does not
occur within the period of insurance". It was submitted
that the event from which the applicant's liability for
legal costs arose was the termination of his employment
on 12 August 1996 and that this was prior to both "the
commencement of the policy" and "the period of insurance"
in which the claim was made;
3. Relies on the exclusions of "any matter arising out of
your business or profession" and "arising from any ...
business, profession, trade or occupation carried on by
you". It was submitted that the claim came within this
exclusion because it resulted from the alleged wrongful
termination of the applicant's occupation; and finally -
4. Relies on the requirement that the insured persons
"advise [the respondent] of any legal proceedings
brought" by them and the provision that the respondent
"will only pay the legal costs and expenses incurred with
our consent". The failure to so advise and to obtain
such consent, it was submitted, disentitled the applicant
6
-- 6 of 11 --
from recovery. Section 54 of the Insurance Contracts Act
1984 may have been relevant to a consideration of this
contended for a reason.
The learned District Court judge to whom these submissions
were made did not find it necessary to deal with all of them
for he took the view that either the second or the third of
those reasons was alone sufficient to exclude liability. The
learned magistrate specifically rejected the applicant's claim
for the first of the reasons I have set out, although he added
that he accepted all of the arguments advanced by the
respondent, whatever that may mean.
In his written outline the applicant has criticised the
learned District Court judge for not deciding whether the
magistrate was correct in the specific reason which he gave
for dismissing the claim. That is to misunderstand the nature
of an appeal. It is against a decision, the decision to
dismiss the claim, not against reasons.
An appellate court may therefore affirm the decision the
subject of an appeal to it on some basis other than that on
which it was decided in the first instance. This is, of
course, subject to adequate opportunity being given to argue
the point on which the appellate court later decides and
subject in a case in which pleadings have been filed to the
7
-- 7 of 11 --
basis upon which the court decides being within the scope of
the pleadings.
The appellant says in his oral submissions today that he was
not given such an opportunity. Whether that is so or not and
given the nature of the basis upon which the learned District
Court judge decided and on which, I think, he was correct in
so deciding, I do not think that that is of great
significance. The applicant was, in any event, given a full
opportunity to argue the point in this Court. But the point
really is, it seems to me, that, at least in his written
outline, the applicant has misconceived the function of a
court on appeal.
In his oral submissions to this Court the applicant appears to
accept that position, as I have outlined, although that is not
entirely clear from the way he argued the matter before us.
The learned District Court judge said correctly that there was
a series of yearly policies of insurance running from
10 April 1997. When the policy referred to an event not
occurring within the period of insurance, it was referring to
an event not occurring within the yearly period of insurance
in which the claim was made. The question then is whether the
event from which the applicant's liability for costs arose
occurred outside that period of one year commencing on
8
-- 8 of 11 --
10 April 2001.
If leave were granted the applicant would seek to argue that
the event which gave rise to his liability to pay costs was
the incurring of those costs. That argument, in my opinion,
would conflate the event from which the liability arises with
the actual occurring of that liability. It simply does not
make sense.
The event within the meaning of the provision must be either
the termination of the applicant's employment, which as I have
said occurred on 12 August 1996, or the commencement of the
proceedings from which liability to pay costs arose, which
occurred in the Queensland Industrial Relations Commission in
September 1996 and in the Federal Court on 12 July 1999. None
of these dates was within the period of insurance commencing
on 10 April 2001.
Like his Honour I think that for that reason alone the
applicant's claim was bound to fail. It is therefore
unnecessary to consider the other bases upon which the
respondent contended that the claim must fail, because if
leave were granted any appeal would be bound to fail. I would
refuse the application.
9
-- 9 of 11 --
The question as I have described it involved no complex matter
of law nor was it one of general importance, nor does it
possess any of the other characteristics which might attract a
grant of leave to appeal to this Court. Moreover, as I have
already mentioned, it involved a total sum of only a little
over $16,000 and the applicant has already had one appeal.
For those reasons, in my opinion, it may well have been
sufficient to refuse leave to appeal without further
considering any of these substantive questions.
For my own part I would not like it thought that the fact that
I have considered and expressed an opinion on the substantive
questions in this case means that I would do so in any future
application for leave to appeal in a case of this kind. It
follows from the conclusions which I have reached that the
applicant must pay both the costs already ordered to be paid
and the respondent's costs of this application.
THE PRESIDENT: I agree. I would only add that the appellant
has contended that even if he were unsuccessful in this
application he should at least not have any costs orders made
against him here and in the District Court because it was the
deficiency of the Magistrate's reasons that necessitated his
appeal. That submission is without merit and I agree with the
orders proposed by Justice Davies.
10
-- 10 of 11 --
MACKENZIE J: I agree with the orders proposed by Justice
Davies for the reasons given by him.
THE PRESIDENT: The application for leave to appeal is
refused with costs to be assessed.
11
-- 11 of 11 --
Official source: https://www.sclqld.org.au/caselaw/QCA/2004/029