Dew v Suncorp Life & Superannuation Ltd [2001] QCA 459
SUPREME COURT OF QUEENSLAND
CITATION: Dew v Suncorp Life & Superannuation Ltd [2001] QCA 459
PARTIES: JUDY ANNE DEW
(plaintiff/respondent)
v
SUNCORP LIFE AND SUPERANNUATION LIMITED
ACN 073 979 530
(defendant/appellant)
FILE NO/S: Appeal No 3327 of 2001
SC No 13 of 1999
DIVISION: Court of Appeal
PROCEEDING: General Civil Appeal
ORIGINATING
COURT:
Supreme Court at Cairns
DELIVERED ON: 26 October 2001
DELIVERED AT: Brisbane
HEARING DATE: 10 October 2001
JUDGES: McMurdo P, McPherson JA and Cullinane J
Separate reasons for judgment of each member of the Court,
each concurring as to the order made.
ORDER: Appeal dismissed with costs
CATCHWORDS: INSURANCE – LIFE INSURANCE – THE CONTRACT –
Appeal against judgment in an action in which respondent
sued appellant on a policy of life insurance pursuant to which
appellant insured respondent against total and permanent
disability
APPEAL AND NEW TRIAL – PRACTICE AND
PROCEDURE – QUEENSLAND – THE HEARING OF
THE APPEAL – PROOF OF EVIDENCE AND
PROCEEDINGS BELOW – whether Trial Judge ought to
have accepted expert opinion based upon assumption that
respondent suffered certain symptoms – finding of fact that
symptoms not suffered before policy signed
INSURANCE – GENERAL – POLICIES OF INSURANCE
– MISREPRESENTATION AND NON-DISCLOSURE –
DUTY OF DISCLOSURE – whether duty to disclose arose
on admitted medical history – whether finding of fact that no
duty arose should be disturbed – whether erroneous test
applied under s 21(1)(b) Insurance Contracts Act 1984 of
how reasonable person would view the matter
-- 1 of 8 --
2
Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth), ss 21(1)(a), 21(1)(b)
COUNSEL: S Keim for the appellant
R Hanson QC for the respondent
SOLICITORS: Clayton Utz for the appellant
Thompson & Royds for the respondent
[1] McMURDO P: I agree with the reasons for judgment of Cullinane J and with the
order he proposes.
[2] McPHERSON JA: I agree with the reasons for judgment of Cullinane J for
dismissing this appeal with costs.
[3] CULLINANE J: The appellant appeals against a judgment in favour of the
respondent in the sum of $522,000.00. The judgment was given on 21 March 2001,
in an action in which the respondent sued the appellant on a policy of insurance
pursuant to which the appellant insured the respondent against total and permanent
disability.
[4] The issues litigated before the trial judge were whether there was a failure to make
disclosure under s 21 of the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 and whether the
respondent was guilty of a fraudulent misrepresentation. The latter is not an issue
on this appeal.
[5] On 13 June 1996, the respondent made application to the applicant for life cover
with an extension for total and permanent disability. She completed a proposal
form and underwent a medical examination at the appellant’s request. At the time
of completing the proposal form the appellant’s representative did not require her to
answer a number of questions in the form concerning her medical history because
of the proposed medical examination.
[6] At the time of the medical examination she completed a questionnaire and a form
provided by the appellant which was described in evidence as a “personal
statement”.
[7] In completing the personal statement the respondent answered some questions
about her medical history. The questions and answers are as follows:
1. Have you ever had a disorder of
any of the following?
(a) Nervous system and
brain such as nervous
tension, nervous
breakdown, mental
disorder, epilepsy?
Yes
˛
No
®
If “Yes” give full
details
Family deaths
2. During the last 5 years have you had any
medical examination, advice or treatment,
any x-ray, blood test or any other tests? If
“Yes”, full details required below –
including result to tests.
Yes
˛
No
®
-- 2 of 8 --
3
Nature of
Illness or
Injury
Date Period Disabled Completely
Recovered?
Treatment
Given
Full Name and
Address of
Doctor or
Hospital
Stress Yes Advised to
rest
Dr Kemp
3.
(c) Do you now take, or have you
ever taken drugs, tablets or
medication on a regular basis
(Period used & name of
drugs/tablets)
Yes
®
No
˛
If “Yes” give
full details
[8] On 17 July 1996, the appellant accepted the risk arising from the policy. Shortly
after the appellant accepted the risk the respondent, on 30 July 1996, attended on
her general practitioner, Dr Kemp, (who had earlier seen her on behalf of the
appellant) having suffered a psychotic episode. She presented in a state of agitation
claiming to have been hearing voices and experiencing symptoms of paranoia. She
was referred to Dr Likely, a consultant psychiatrist, whom she saw on
19 August 1996. She complained to him of:
1. Feeling that she was composed of six different persons with different
personalities and thought patterns;
2. Hearing voices of the different personalities conducting internal debates;
3. Having persecutory delusions;
4. Anxiety and distress and various physical symptoms associated with
increasingly frequent episodes of the symptoms referred to above and the
belief that she was going crazy.
She also complained of episodes of depression.
Dr Likely assessed her as suffering from a psychotic disorder.
[9] The respondent continued to work for a period before having to cease her
employment. It is common ground that she is totally and permanently disabled
within the terms of the policy.
[10] On 7 April 1998, the respondent made a claim under the policy. On 31 July 1998,
the appellant cancelled the policy on the grounds of non-disclosure and fraudulent
misrepresentation.
[11] Section 21(1) of the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 provides as follows:
“(1) Subject to this Act, an insured has a duty to disclose to the
insurer, before the relevant contract of insurance is entered
into, every matter that is known to the insured, being a
matter that:
-- 3 of 8 --
4
(a) the insured knows to be a matter relevant to the
decision of the insurer whether to accept the risk
and, if so, on what terms; or
(b) a reasonable person in the circumstances could be
expected to know to be a matter so relevant.”
[12] The appellant carried the onus of proof in respect of these matters.
[13] One matter raised by the appellant was that the learned trial judge, in his
consideration of s 21(1)(b) applied an erroneous test. Ultimately, the appellant
confined its argument on appeal to a non-disclosure under s 21(1)(b).
[14] With the qualification referred to in the last paragraph the appellant can only
succeed if some findings of fact made by the learned trial judge are overturned.
These findings turned in part upon the credibility of witnesses.
[15] The case conducted by the appellant was that the respondent had, for a number of
years prior to presenting with the symptoms on 30 July 1996, suffered from the
symptoms listed in paragraph 6 of these reasons. (It was undisputed that she had
consulted doctors on occasions for episodes of depression.) This evidence came
from what the respondent (as His Honour found notwithstanding her denials) told
Dr Likely and Ms Wainwright, a psychologist, who both saw her after 30 July 1996
and what she related to Dr Kemp when she saw him on 30 July 1996.
[16] In paragraph 49 of his judgment His Honour made it clear that if it were the case
that the respondent had been suffering from such symptoms prior to 30 July 1996,
her failure to disclose this to the appellant would constitute an obvious breach of
her duty and would be fatal to her claim.
[17] Although it is clear that the respondent was psychotic at the time she was seen by
Dr Likely, it was not the appellant’s case that she was psychotic prior to
30 July 1996 although she was suffering from the symptoms already referred to. It
was Dr Likely’s evidence that she suffered, for many years, from a personality
disorder.
[18] The evidence presented the learned trial judge with the issue whether the
respondent in fact had suffered for some significant earlier period from the
symptoms which she presented with on 30 July 1996.
[19] There was a body of evidence pointing the other way. Firstly, the plaintiff gave
evidence that she had not suffered from such symptoms earlier. Her former
husband also gave evidence to this effect. It is clear from His Honour’s findings
that he was impressed by the evidence of the respondent’s former husband.
[20] There was also a body of medical evidence which took the form of records and
testimony of medical practitioners who had seen the respondent on occasion over a
number of years prior to 1996. His Honour summarises this evidence in paragraph
37 of his reasons. The respondent with some relatively minor qualifications accept
these findings as correct.
“The psychological problems for which there is medical record in
the five years preceding the application are on any view, quite
-- 4 of 8 --
5
minor. In February 1992 the plaintiff complained of anxiety attacks
to Dr. Vij. In the six week period between November 1992 and
January 1993 the plaintiff again complained to Dr. Vij of anxiety and
was referred to Dr. Moorthy whom she saw on two occasions. She
was diagnosed as suffering from an adjustment disorder with
depression at that time. In November/December 1994 the plaintiff
complained to Dr. Kemp of being depressed and irritable and again
on 31 August 1995 complained of anxiety. Effectively, this adds up
to four episodes of anxiety, irritability or emotional problems in a
period of four years. When the details of the plaintiff’s
circumstances during these periods are known, the anxiety states are
well explained. In 1992 and 1993 her husband was a serving
member of the Royal Australian Navy and was frequently absent
from home on voyages. During 1990 he had done a tour of duty in
the Middle East associated with the Gulf War. There were changes
in his navy postings which meant that the plaintiff had to make new
friends and adapt to new circumstances on a number of occasions.
The problems which this lifestyle gave rise to, have to be seen in the
context of the plaintiff’s past. She had an impoverished upbringing.
Her mother left the family home when the plaintiff was five years of
age and she was raised by her alcoholic father, who quite often left
her at home alone. When she was 19 years of age the plaintiff was
subjected to high level emotional trauma when her then partner was
the victim of a shooting incident and at his funeral, further people
were killed in a reprisal attack. During this period in the early 90’s
there were a number of deaths in the plaintiff’s family. These
included the deaths of a cousin in 1990, her stepfather in 1992, her
father and her mother in March and July 1994 respectively and
another close friend in July 1995. Also during that period, her
brother was diagnosed as positive to HIV.”
[21] Apart from seeing Dr Kemp on two occasions because she was depressed she saw
him on a number of occasions in the year or so prior to the contract of insurance
being entered into.
[22] During the period covered by the evidence of the respondent’s medical history, no
complaints were made of any of the symptoms which she described in July and
August 1996 and which are listed in paragraph 6 of these reasons.
[23] The learned trial judge was faced then with a substantial discrepancy between what
the respondent had told Dr Likely and Dr Kemp (in July 1996) and Ms Wainwright
on the one hand and on the other hand evidence which suggested a quite different
state of affairs. He was inclined to accept what the respondent’s husband had said
in evidence (see paragraph 43 of the reasons for judgment) and the evidence of the
respondent’s medical history revealed no sign of such symptoms. It is perhaps not
surprising that His Honour then considered whether there was anything which
might explain why the respondent would give a false account.
[24] His Honour turned to this question at paragraph 35 of his reasons where he referred
to evidence given by Dr Likely about a phenomenon known as retrospective
falsification in which a person suffering a psychotic condition might give a false
-- 5 of 8 --
6
account of that person’s medical history and the duration of such symptoms. He
concluded at paragraph 57 as follows:
“On balance I find the more likely explanation is that the plaintiff in
her then mental condition unconsciously falsified the timing of the
onset of psychotic symptoms. The plaintiff in giving her evidence
was a reliable witness. The experience was difficult for her given
her present condition and the intensity of her agoraphobia. Despite
being cross-examined over a period of two days on matters that were
emotionally upsetting, her answers, in the main, were satisfactory.
On important issues her evidence was consistent with that of her
former husband to which I have already made reference. I accept as
correct her evidence that prior to July 1996 she did not experience
psychotic symptoms. Accordingly, the evidence of her complaints
to Drs. Kemp and Likely and Ms Wainwright does not suggest to me
that at the time of her proposal, the plaintiff was aware of any
significant mental condition of which she ought to have made
disclosure.”
[25] It is contended that the learned trial judge, in finding that it was likely that the
respondent had unconsciously falsified her symptoms prior to the onset of a
psychotic condition, failed to make due allowance for the factors which Dr Likely
in evidence thought would militate against this.
[26] It was also contended that Dr Likely’s evidence, given his expertise as a
psychiatrist, and that his opinion was based upon an assessment of her history as a
whole ought to have been accepted. That is, it is contended that the opinion which
he expressed that she was suffering from a longstanding personality disorder but not
a psychotic condition ought to have been accepted.
[27] The respondent had never been diagnosed as having suffered from a personality
disorder and the first time that this was suggested was by Dr Likely who saw her
first in August 1996.
[28] Dr Likely, when speaking of the personality disorder, explained what he meant by
his diagnosis of it in his evidence at page 172:
“Looking at the whole of that, in terms of the possibility that you
mentioned in your conversation with Dr Jensen about retrospective
falsification of symptoms, does that make it more or less likely that
this was a women who had retrospectively made up symptoms?--
She gave me a fairly clear account at the time of the evolution of her
phenomena. There is just one concerning affect which I wasn’t
questioned on by Mr Jensen and that relies to – relates to what I have
made reference to in one of my reports in terms of an underlying
personality disorder. If I can just talk a little bit about that if that’s
all right with you.
Sure?-- Personality disorders can or often do arise as a result of
some adverse event in the patient’s developmental history and I
think in the paragraph outlining the developmental history, I referred
to a few of those. Now those types of personality disorders can be
associated with symptoms which mimic those of psychotic illness,
-- 6 of 8 --
7
that is, it is sometimes very difficult to tell between a psychotic
phenomena and symptoms that we see in personality disorders.
Personality disorders are also associated or one type of personality
disorder which is referred to as borderline personality disorder, so-
called because it was felt at one stage to rest on the borderline
between psychosis and normality, that psychosis which often arises
out of adverse developmental experiences like with Ms Dew and be
referred to as a affective instability, in other words periods of quite
rapid changes of moods and phenomenon that borders on psychosis.
My view would be that the symptoms that Ms Dew experienced
which I referred to as a long history would be due to her personality
dysfunction but that there had then been an onset of separate
psychotic phenomena in the immediate period preceding her contact
with myself, so I think we are dealing with two different things.”
[29] The “long history” to which Dr Likely referred was a history of the symptoms listed
in paragraph 6 of these reasons. (See Exhibit 7 at p 401 and the evidence in chief at
p 162.) In my view, it is clear from the reading of Dr Likely’s evidence in this
passage and from his evidence as a whole, that his opinion that the respondent was
suffering from a longstanding personality disorder was in substance based upon his
acceptance of her statement to him that she had suffered from such symptoms prior
to late July 1996.
[30] His Honour has made findings which in my view, were open on the evidence that
she did not suffer from such symptoms prior to July 1996. Similarly, it was open to
His Honour to find that the phenomena of retrospective falsification referred to by
Dr Likely could lead, in a case such as this, to an inaccurate history being provided.
There is nothing to suggest that in his consideration of this issue His Honour
overlooked Dr Likely’s evidence in cross-examination that some features of the
respondent’s condition made this less rather than more likely. His Honour, as I
have said, had been impressed by evidence, which suggested her account to Dr
Likely, Ms Wainwright and Dr Kemp was not correct.
[31] The appellant also contends that on the proven medical history His Honour ought to
have found that there was a breach of s 21(1)(b), that is, that he ought to have found
that a reasonable person would have regarded those matters as matters relevant to
the decision of the insurer whether to accept the risk and if so, on what terms.
[32] His Honour’s assessment of the respondent’s medical history has already been set
out. He describes her psychological problems as revealed by the medical records in
the five years preceding the application as “minor” and refers to the various
stressful and difficult situations which the respondent encountered during these
periods.
[33] The evidence paints a picture of episodic difficulties often associated with stressful
situations which the respondent had had to face. Overall, the impression is of
somebody who has encountered somewhat more of the knocks and bumps of life
than an average person and who has suffered, as a consequence, psychological and
emotional difficulties. This, at any rate, is the effect of His Honour’s findings on
the evidence before him. There was, on the evidence His Honour accepted, no
ongoing condition from which the respondent suffered.
-- 7 of 8 --
8
[34] The learned trial judge’s findings on s 21(1)(a) and 21(1)(b) appear in his
conclusions at paragraph 73 and 75 respectively:
“The plaintiff did not respond fully to Question 2 in the personal
statement by her failure to identify the names of the medical
practitioners whom she consulted, other than Dr. Kemp. Her failure
to do so stemmed from her genuine belief that symptoms which
caused her to consult those practitioners did not identify a material
injury or illness. In those circumstances the visits were not relevant
to the insurer’s acceptance of the risk. Even if she had identified the
doctors by name and identified the symptoms she experienced on
each occasion, it is unlikely that there would be any difference in the
identification of illness or injury. On each occasion the plaintiff
appears to have recovered completely from the intermittent episodes
of stress and her treatment, at the hands of the Sydney doctors, was
non-specific.
…
These are the extrinsic factors which, for the purpose of s 21(1)(b) of
the Act, constitute the circumstances in which the objective
assessment is to be made. In those circumstances I have taken the
view that the plaintiff has conveyed to the insurer the matters that
she knew to be relevant for a decision which the defendant had to
make. In my view also, a reasonable person in the circumstances
would not have regarded the symptoms complained of to the medical
practitioners as being relevant to the insurer’s risk.”
[35] These findings also, in my view, were open to His Honour on the evidence before
him.
[36] As was said earlier, it was argued that the learned trial judge had applied an
erroneous test when considering s 21(1)(b). This is said to be revealed by what His
Honour said at paragraph 21 of his reasons:
“This case essentially confirms the test as being an objective one
having regard to the particular circumstances in which an insured
person finds himself or herself. Or, as put by the authors of
Australian Insurance Law, “an objective test modified by subjective
criteria”.[1]
[37] Whether this is a correct statement of the relevant principle or not, it is clear when
one looks at paragraphs 74 and 75 of the reasons that the only circumstances which
His Honour has referred to when considering s 21(1)(b) are those which he refers to
in paragraph 74 and which are extrinsic to the plaintiff. There is nothing to suggest
that His Honour has done anything other than apply a wholly objective test to the
question of s 21(1)(b). His conclusion is unsurprising in view of his findings about
the respondent’s medical history.
[38] I would dismiss the appeal with costs.
1 See also “Australian Insurance Law” Second Ed. Tarr, Liew and Holligan at p.92-2
-- 8 of 8 --
Official source: https://www.sclqld.org.au/caselaw/QCA/2001/459