FAI General Insurance Co Ltd v Tidbold [1999] QCA 524
SUPREME COURT OF QUEENSLAND
CITATION: FAI General Insce v ACN 010 087 573 Pty Ltd and Anor
[1999] QCA 524
PARTIES: FAI GENERAL INSURANCE COMPANY LIMITED
(ACN 004 304 545)
(Appellant/Respondent)
v
ACN 010 087 573 PTY LTD
(First Respondent/First Applicant)
MICHAEL GEORGE TIDBOLD
(Second Respondent/Second Applicant)
FILE NO: Appeal No 5507 of 1999
SC No 520 of 1994
DIVISION: Court of Appeal
PROCEEDING: General Civil Appeal
ORIGINATING
COURT: Supreme Court at Brisbane
DELIVERED ON: 21 December 1999
DELIVERED AT: Brisbane
HEARING DATE: 30 July 1999
JUDGES: McPherson JA, Derrington and Byrne JJ
Separate reasons for judgment of each member of the Court;
each concurring as to the orders made.
ORDER: Appeal allowed. Orders below set aside. No order as to
costs.
CATCHWORDS: PROCEDURE – DISCLOSURE – joint legal professional
privilege - where insurer took over conduct of defence of
insured in earlier proceedings – where information provided
to joint solicitor who obtained material for the purpose of
joint endeavour – where original action settled yet issue of
indemnity as between insurer and insured remains – where
each party entitled to access material acquired by joint
solicitor in which they showed common interest and joint
privilege against others – whether one party may unilaterally
waive joint privilege and disclose material to third party
during related proceedings in which other party not a party.
PROCEDURE – DISCLOSURE – joint legal professional
privilege – confidentiality – whether one party entitled to use
materials provided in confidence to joint solicitor by other
party – improper purpose.
-- 1 of 15 --
2
Ali Shipping Corporation v Shipyard Trogir [1999] 1 WLR
314, cited
Ampolex Ltd v Perpetual Trustee Co (Canberra) Ltd (1995)
37 NSWLR 405, 412-3, cited
Atlanta International Insurance Company v Bell 475 NW 2d
294, cited
Boyce v Goodyear Australia Ltd (Unreported, NSW CA, 16
September 1996), considered
Breen v Williams (1996) 186 CLR 71, discussed
Brown v Guardian Royal Exchange Assurance PLC (1994) 2
Ll Rep 325 at 329, considered
CI & D Industries Pty Ltd v Keeling (Unrep NSW SC,
Abadee J, 26 March 1997), cited
Commissioner of Australian Federal Police v Propend
Finance Pty Ltd (1997) 188 CLR 501, cited
Commonwealth of Australia v John Fairfax & Sons Ltd
(1980) 147 CLR 39, discussed
Corrs Pavey Whiting & Byrne v Collector of Customs (Vic)
(1987) 14 FCR 434, 443, discussed
Coulthard v State of South Australia (1995) 63 SASR 531
Deta Nominees Pty Ltd v Viscount Plastic Products Pty Ltd
[1979] VR 167, cited
Distillers Co Bio-Chemicals (Aust) Pty Ltd v Ajax Insurance
Co Ltd (1973-1974) 130 CLR 1, cited
Esso Australia Resources Ltd v Plowman (1995) 183 CLR
10, discussed
Farrow Mortgage Services Pty Ltd (in liq) v Webb (1996) 39
NSWLR 601, cited
Fractionated Cane Technology Ltd v Ruiz-Avila [1988] 2 Qd
R 610, cited
Global Funds Management (NSW) Ltd v Rooney (1994) 36
NSWLR 122, cited
Groom v Croker (1939) 1 KB 194, cited
re Crocker [1936] Ch 696, cited
Johns v Australian Securities Commission (1993) 178 CLR
408, cited
Lister v Romford Ice & Cold Storage Co Ltd (1957) AC
555,cited
Lord Ashburton v Pape [1913] 2 Ch 469, cited
Moorgate Tobacco Co Ltd v Philip Morris Ltd (No 2) (1984)
156 CLR 414, cited
Murray v Yorkshire Fund Managers Ltd [1998] 1 WLR 951
Oceanic Life Ltd v HIH Casualty & General Insurance Ltd
(1999) 10 ANZ Ins Cas 61.438, cited
Rockwell International Corporation v Superior Court of Los
Angeles County 32 Cal Rptr 2d 153 (Cal. App. 2 Dist 1994)
SCIC (SA) v Paneros (1988) 5 ANZ Ins Cases ¶60-857,
considered
-- 2 of 15 --
3
Telstra Corporation Ltd v First Netcom Pty Ltd (1997) 78
FCR 132, cited
Thiess Contractors Pty Ltd v Terokell Pty Ltd (1993) 2 QdR
341, cited
Verson Cleaning International v Ward & Partners (1997) 9
ANZ Ins Cases ¶61-352 at 76, cited
Webster v James Chapman & Co (a firm) [1989] 3 All ER
939, cited
Welfare v Birdon Sands Pty Ltd (1997) 79 FCR 220, cited
COUNSEL: Mr P Garling SC, with him Mr P A Freeburn for the appellant
Mr B D O’Donnell QC, with him Mr L F Kelly for the
respondent
SOLICITORS: Minter Ellison for the appellant
Allen Allen & Hemsley for the respondent
[1] McPHERSON JA: The trial of this action has been completed and judgment is
reserved. In these circumstances I can identify no purpose for which at present
access to the documents could legitimately now be required. That being so, I agree
with the reasons given by Byrne J for allowing this appeal and setting aside the
orders made by the learned judge at trial. I agree with the orders proposed by his
Honour.
[2] DERRINGTON J: The appellant (“the insurer”) was the insurer of the
respondents (“the insured”), who were valuers employed by Interchase Corporation
Limited (in liquidation) to value a large inner city development which Interchase
wished to, and ultimately did, purchase. The insured consisted of a company
(“Colliers”) and its employee (“Mr Tidbold”). Interchase also engaged another
valuer (“Hillier Parker”) for a check valuation and it used its employee (“Mr
Waghorn”).
[3] Interchase now claims that it paid an excessive price in its purchase as the result of
negligent valuations by both sets of valuers and it has brought an action for
damages against Colliers as first defendant, Tidbold as second defendant, Hillier
Parker as third defendant and Waghorn as fourth defendant. The third and fourth
defendants have claimed contribution against the first and second defendants as
possible co-tortfeasors.
[4] When the claim was first raised, the insurer would not commit itself to provide
indemnity to the insured and the two sides were each represented by separate
solicitors. However, for a while the insurer was prepared to undertake the defence
of the insured in Interchase=s action but reserved its right ultimately to refuse
indemnity. This conflict made it untenable for either side to agree that the other=s
solicitors should conduct the defence and so the insurer appointed an independent
firm (“Clayton Utz”) to act in that behalf while the parties continued to retain their
respective solicitors in their continuing dispute as to indemnity.
[5] The insured participated in this arrangement, but there was no final resolution of a
difficulty between them as to certain terms. Relevantly, the insurer wanted any
-- 3 of 15 --
4
material obtained by Clayton Utz to be available to each side for later use against
the other, and the insured strictly opposed this 1. Absent any agreement on that
point and because the insurer finally retained Clayton Utz exclusively for the
defence of Interchase=s claim, it must follow that as between these parties the
material was to have a confidentiality confining its use to the sole purpose for
which it was to be generated.
[6] In the course of time, apparently with the mutual approval of the insurer and the
insured, Clayton Utz also conducted the defence of the insured against the
contribution claim of the third and fourth defendants.
[7] For the purpose of the defence against Interchase=s claim, they engaged
independent expert valuers, Mr Kernke and Mr Norris, to provide reports to be
used, if appropriate, as evidence. Consistently with their position, they provided
copies of the reports to both the insurer and the insured and, pursuant to a practice
direction of the court, disclosed further copies to Interchase and the third and fourth
defendants as the reports of experts who might be called to give evidence in the
trial. This disclosure did not, nor was it required to, include privileged material
associated with the solicitors= instructions to and discussion with the valuers about
the contents of their reports.
[8] It might be observed here parenthetically that while the insurer was a party to
waiving privilege in the report by disclosing it in this way, it did not necessarily
waive privilege in the related material. This is discussed in the judgment in the
appeal in FAI General Insurance Co Ltd v Interchase Corporation Limited (in liq),
[1999] QCA 523; Appeal No 5506 of 1999, 21 December 1999, and will need the
determination of the learned trial judge on the principles there set out. If the
privilege is lost there, then the consequent publication of the material would defeat
it entirely and further discussion is otiose. However, on the real chance that the
privilege will be upheld, it is necessary to resolve the issues between the insurer and
the insured, which are described below. Meanwhile the narrative of events should
be completed.
[9] Subsequently and before the trial, the insurer finally rejected the insured=s claim
for indemnity and it discontinued its retention of Clayton Utz who then ceased to
act in the matter. On separate advice, the insured then negotiated with Interchase
what seems to have been a type of Damron Agreement. The insured, Colliers,
admitted liability to Interchase and the damages were to be assessed but limited to
$20m and the action against Tidbold was discontinued. Whether as is usual, there
was also an assignment to Interchase of the insured=s rights against the insurer in
full settlement of the agreed liability is not known, nor is it relevant to these
proceedings.
[10] Interchase continued its action against the third and fourth defendants, who
continued to claim contribution from the insured; and since there was no longer any
issue between Interchase and the insured, Interchase=s solicitors (ΑAllens≅) are
now also acting for the insured in their defence of the contribution claim. Because
1 As matters have turned out, it will be seen that the parties are each now arguing contrary to their
original position.
-- 4 of 15 --
5
of these developments, the insured have had no occasion to call Messrs Kernke and
Norris, but the third and fourth defendants have called them in their defence of the
Interchase claim.
[11] While this evidence may be adverse to Interchase, it may be adverse to or benefit
the insured depending on whether by relieving the third and fourth defendants from
contributing to any damages or diminishing their obligation in that respect, it
enlarges or reduces the insureds= contribution in respect of it its liability to
Interchase. This would also depend on the provisions of the Damron agreement on
the subject of contribution. Conversely any privileged material adverse to the
validity of the expert evidence would be favourable to Interchase and, but for the
effect of the Damron agreement, possibly unfavourable to the insured. If the latter,
it would also be adverse to the interests of the insurer since its possible obligation to
indemnify the insured has yet to be decided; and if there is such an obligation, it
would not be reduced by any benefit to the insured under the Damron agreement.
[12] There is evidence that in the course of producing his report, Mr Kernke elevated his
original valuation by about $30m, and Interchase has sought to subpoena any notes
or correspondence he had with Clayton Utz which may have affected his
assessment.2 It is anticipated that some similar action will be taken in respect of
Mr Norris when he gives evidence. In answer to the subpoena, Clayton Utz stand
ready to abide the decision of the court as to the production of the material. In
support of Interchase the insured are prepared to waive their privilege in it but the
insurer, though not a party to the action, has appeared by leave and has claimed
privilege over it in order to prevent its public disclosure which would effectively
defeat any later claim of privilege. The overruling of its claim against Interchase=s
subpoena is the subject of the related appeal.
[13] The insured have independently sought an order that Clayton Utz produce the
documents for their inspection. The insurer has opposed this particularly since the
insured now have common solicitors with Interchase and in the absence of any
other apparent reason, the circumstances strongly suggest that their only interest in
the documents is to make them available to that party. The learned trial judge=s
decision in their favour is the subject of this appeal.
[14] Before this court, the insurer wisely abandoned its primary position taken below,
that the insured have no privilege in the material because Clayton Utz were not their
solicitors. That was plainly untenable.3 However, the insured has now taken the
opposite and equally extreme position that Clayton Utz were not the insurer=s
solicitors so that it would have no privilege in the documents. This is despite the
uncontested facts that it engaged them and was responsible for their costs and
charges; and that their retainer was to attend to the interests of both the insured and
the insurer in defence of the claim. The insurer plainly had a contingent interest in
the defence depending upon whether it will ultimately be obliged to indemnify the
insured, in which case any judgment against the insured in respect of the insured=s
2 Nothing adverse is suggested against Clayton Utz.
3 In re Crocker [1936] Ch D 696, 701-703; Verson Cleaning International v Ward & Partners (1997)
9 ANZ Ins Cases ¶61-352 at 76, 905.
-- 5 of 15 --
6
liability and the amount of it would be prima facie evidence of those matters against
the insurer.4
[15] Because the insurer=s status as a client of the solicitors engaged by it is so plainly
established, there has rarely been any specific advertence to that issue, and such
general references as have been made to it have implied an unquestioned
acceptance of the insurer=s position. 5 The controversy has always been whether the
insured were clients of the solicitors and whether that modified the insurer=s rights
in any way. For example, in Brown v Guardian Royal Exchange Assurance PLC,6
Neill LJ said:
ΑThe fact that insurers fund the cost of legal advice and
representation and have a common interest in the defeat of the claim
against their insured does not necessarily mean that they are entitled
to see all the documents passing between the insured and his
solicitors. The extent of the insurer=s rights to see documents
covered by legal professional privilege will depend primarily on the
terms of the policy. ≅
[16] The insured rely upon this authority because it held that the insurer=s entitlement to
access all the material obtained by the solicitor over the insured=s claim of
privilege was the result only of a provision in the policy associated with the conduct
of the defence. It provided that generally the insured=s authority to instruct
solicitors required the antecedent approval of the insurer, who would then pay the
fees and expenses, and that the insurer could require the solicitor=s reports to be
submitted directly to it. By clear implication, it follows from the above remarks
that, but for that provision, the insured=s legal professional privilege as to the
material there in dispute would have operated against the insurer. The insured here
would elevate this implication to the proposition that the solicitor was not the
solicitor for the insurer in any way, so that all documents the subject of legal
professional privilege generated by the solicitor would be privileged against it.
[17] That does not follow. After originally undertaking the defence, the insurer in
Brown=s case had reserved its rights upon the basis of an exclusion relating to
dishonest or fraudulent conduct. From that time, although the material provided by
the insured to the solicitor was primarily related to the defence of the third party=s
action, it also touched upon material relevant to the insurance conflict which had
developed and was confidential in that respect. It was that material to which
Neill LJ referred when he said that in ordinary circumstances and subject to
4 Lister v Romford Ice & Cold Storage Co Ltd (1957) AC 555; Oceanic Life Ltd v HIH Casualty &
General Insurance Ltd (1999) 10 ANZ Ins Cas ¶61.438.
5 See Verson Cleaning International v Ward (supra) at 76 905; Thiess Contractors Pty Ltd v Terokell
Pty Ltd [1993] 2 QdR 341; Farrow Mortgage Services Pty Ltd (in liq) v Webb (1996) 39 NSWLR
601; Groom v Croker [1939] 1 KB 194, 201; SCIC (SA) v Paneros (1988) 5 ANZ Ins Cases ¶60-857
at 75, 372.
6 (1994) 2 Ll Rep 325 at 329.
-- 6 of 15 --
7
anything in the policy to the contrary, the insurer was not necessarily entitled to
access to all the documents provided by the insured. He implied that but for this
there would be full access. The disputed material in the present case was generated
by the solicitors with the experts and is not of the nature of material confidential to
the insured to which Neill LJ was referring as a possible exception.
[18] It is understandable that privilege as to material generated by the joint endeavour of
the parties against a common opponent, but which might be adverse to one of them
in a separate dispute inter se, should be treated in this way. Generally, each party is
entitled to access to all material acquired by their joint solicitor, as to which they
had common interest and joint privilege against others.7 However, their joint
retainer cannot be used by one of them to penetrate or defeat the privilege of the
other as to confidential material which could otherwise be invoked against the
latter. Under the arrangement between them, the quality of confidentiality prevents
such use for any ulterior purpose.
[19] Not only does this give efficacy to the joint enterprise which would be seriously
impeded without it but, more importantly, it would be unconscionable for either
party to abuse the confidence for such an ulterior purpose and there is no reason
why this principle should work only one way.
[20] This confidentiality is the essential element in those cases where the privilege of the
insured against the insurer has been recognised in respect of material supplied by
the insured to their joint solicitor, which the insurer then seeks to discover or use
against the insured in the insurance dispute between them. 8 In Paneros,9 for
example, the insured under a compulsory motor vehicle policy admitted to the joint
solicitors that he had been intoxicated at the time of the accident in which his wife
was injured. The insurer had paid out the damages and was claiming recovery from
the insured. The insurer=s interest and rights in relation to the solicitor=s material
were not questioned, and the primary issue was whether the insured had any rights.
It was found that he was a client of the solicitor, and because his “information was
imparted in circumstances importing an obligation of confidence”, and he “was
doing so in the belief that such information was to be used solely for the purpose of
defending the claim brought by his wife against him”, which “was known, or
should have been known, (by the solicitors) at the time”, it was privileged since it
was “in confidence for the purpose of defending the action of (the third party)”.
The joint retainer was expressly recognised, but despite that the limited purpose for
which the material was provided in confidence was seen as qualifying the insurer=s
rights. The court said:
“Although (the solicitors) to the knowledge of the defendant were
the solicitors for both him and the insurer, the privilege was that of
7 Farrow Mortgage Services Pty Ltd v Webb (supra at 608).
8 Distillers Co Bio-Chemicals (Aust) Pty Ltd v Ajax Insurance Co Ltd (1973-1974) 130 CLR 1, 31;
SGIC (SA) v Paneros (1989) 5 ANZIC Ins Cases ¶60-940; Boyce v Goodyear Australia Ltd NSWSC
(CA) 16 September 1996 BC9607060; CI & D Industries Pty Ltd v Keeling NSWSC (Abadee J)
Austlii 97010343.
9 SGIC (SA) v Paneros (1988) 5 ANZ Ins Cas ¶60-857.
-- 7 of 15 --
8
the defendant alone because of the potential conflict of interest
which existed: Goddard v Nationwide Building Society (1986) 3 All
ER 264. The defendant has never waived that privilege.”
[21] The same principle was applied in Goodyear Australia Ltd.10 The joint solicitors
had acted for the insurer and the insured in earlier similar claims and had obtained
from the insured=s employees information which was to be used by the insurer in
the current action to deny that the trigger of the cover had occurred during the
policy period. The solicitors were enjoined from continuing to act contrary to the
insured=s interests, and were required to discover to it the material that they had
collected. Their prior refusal to make that discovery had been based upon their
argument that the insured was not their client and had no claim to the material.
[22] The decisions of the primary judge and the Court of Appeal were both ex tempore
and dealt with the matter briefly upon the basis that the insured was plainly a client
of the solicitors and that they could not withhold or use against their client=s
interest any confidential information that they had obtained from it. Giles AJA
said:
“But solicitors cannot, having obtained as solicitor for a client
information and documents, at least some of which appears to be
confidential and related to the facts in issue, seek to use or at least
appear to threaten to use that information against the client and claim
in some way privilege from production of such documents.”
There was no finding that the insurer was not also a client, but insofar as the
material became relevant to a dispute between the joint clients, the solicitors were
obliged to respect the confidence invested by the client who had provided the
information. 11 This principle is extended to bind the insurer when the confidential
information has passed into its hands through the joint solicitor.
[23] In these cases, the discussion cites and is interchangeable with discussion in other
authorities dealing with a solicitor=s ordinary duty of confidentiality in the use
made of information supplied by a client. This broader principle of confidentiality
applies to any circumstances where a recipient of information should ordinarily
understand that, by reason of its relationship with the other party, the nature of the
information and the circumstances of the communication, it is provided in
confidence.12 The present case sits comfortably within that description.
[24] The same essential reasoning applies to the principle that joint legal professional
privilege, as distinct from common interest privilege, cannot be waived except by
10 Boyce v Goodyear Australia Ltd (Unreported, NSW CA, 16 September 1996).
11 The same approach was taken in CI & D Industries Pty Ltd v Keeling (Unrep NSW SC, Abadee J,
26 March 1997); Commonwealth of Australia v John Fairfax & Sons Ltd (1980) 147 CLR 39.
12 Deta Nominees Pty Ltd v Viscount Plastic Products Pty Ltd [1979] VR 167, 193; Fractionated Cane
Technology Ltd v Ruiz-Avila [1988] 2 Qd R 610, 618.
-- 8 of 15 --
9
all joint holders.13 Where the documents that are the subject of joint privilege have
been generated for a specific purpose in circumstances where there is an
understanding that they are to remain privileged except for that purpose, then the
court will restrain the improper use of the material, which in such circumstances has
the same character as confidential information. 14 Accordingly, although the insured
is otherwise entitled to access to the relevant documents in the hands of the joint
solicitor, they are not entitled to use them, or to waive privilege to allow others to
use them, for a purpose contrary to the purpose by which they obtained their right
of access. That purpose was confined to defending themselves against liability or
enlargement of the damages or contribution in this action for which the insurer may
ultimately be liable to provide indemnity. The purpose of the insureds= waiver in
assisting Interchase is certainly ulterior and perhaps antipathetic to that and is
therefore in breach of their duty of confidence.
[25] This impediment would not have applied to the genuine use of the material in the
defence of the Interchase claim, which is relevant to their common interest, and it
could probably have been used by one party without the approval of the other for
that purpose, but that is not the basis of its justification here. Consequently, the
insured must not act in a way adverse to that confidentiality, either by disclosure to
the plaintiff through inspection by a common solicitor15 or otherwise, or by waiver
of privilege in favour of the plaintiff.
[26] It cannot be said that any breach would be harmless. There is unusual complexity
flowing from the insured=s arrangements with the plaintiff (not all of which are
known), and the fact that the third and fourth defendants are calling the expert
whose evidence the plaintiff seeks to impugn through the privileged material. As
the insured=s liability to the plaintiff is fixed, the expert=s evidence cannot affect
that. Consequently the original purpose for the use of the material no longer exists;
but the liability of the other defendants and its extent may have an effect in different
ways on the insured=s liability, and on the insurer=s possible obligation to provide
indemnity. Because of the twist of events, it is not clear to what extent the insurer
and the insured might have a common interest in having the third and fourth
defendants found liable to Interchase and the joint purpose behind the production of
this material may well not have included its use to have those parties held to be co-
tortfeasors.
[27] Further a total lifting of privilege over the material may affect the insurer=s later
defence of the insured=s claim for indemnity. If the insured=s liability and the
amount of it are put in issue, then the publication by discovery in this trial of the
controversial material may effectively defeat the insurer=s privilege in respect of it
so that it could later be used to attack the reports on which the insurer might rely.
13 Global Funds Management (NSW) Ltd v Rooney (1994) 36 NSWLR 122; Ampolex Ltd v Perpetual
Trustee Co (Canberra) Ltd (1995) 37 NSWLR 405, 412-3; Farrow Mortgage Services Pty Ltd (in
liq) v Webb (1996) 39 NSWLR 601, 619.
14 Lord Ashburton v Pape [1913] 2 Ch 469. The difference between privilege and confidentiality is
explained in Webster v James Chapman & Co (a firm) [1989] 3 All ER 939, 943-944, but of course
they may overlap.
15 This is not a criticism of the solicitor=s conduct in acting for both parties.
-- 9 of 15 --
10
For all these reasons, any breach of confidentiality cannot be excused as having no
harmful effect so that there is not need for it. In any case, since this is not a case of
waiver of common interest privilege, prejudice from the insured=s waiver has no
relevance. The holder of joint privilege is not required to show prejudice by any
waiver in order to preserve it.
[28] The result is that in respect of the material remaining in dispute, the insurer enjoys
joint legal professional privilege with the insured; the insured cannot unilaterally
waive privilege; the insured are entitled to access to the material held by the joint
solicitors; but they must not breach their duty of confidentiality by using it for an
ulterior purpose such as divulging it to Interchase. In the present circumstances
once the criteria set out by Gummow J in Corrs Pavey Whiting & Byrne v Collector
of Customs (Vic)16 are met, before the court would grant relief to the insured, it
would require an undertaking or at least to be assured that they would observe their
duty.
Addendum
[29] Since writing the above, having had the benefit of reading the reasons of Byrne J, I
would add the following:
1. The point of the order from which the appeal was brought was the
production of limited correspondence between Clayton Utz and the expert
then under cross-examination, and the order’s effect that was complained of
was the disclosure of the confidential material to Interchase through its
solicitor whom it had in common with the insured. I agree with Byrne J
that, events that remove its purpose having overtaken the order, it should
now be set aside and consequently the costs orders should be set aside.
2. This however still permits the insured to have access to the material held by
its solicitor whom it shared jointly with the insurer, save as to the insurer’s
right to invoke confidentiality against disclosure of confidential material,
such as material provided by the insurer from its private resources that
would help the insured in the dispute over indemnity.
3. The doctrine of utmost good faith would restrain the insured from using
such of the solicitor’s material as is available to it to the prejudice of the
insurer in its defence of its interests against others. Whether this extends to
Interchase’s action against the insurer pursuant to the insured’s assignment
of its rights has yet to be considered.
4. While the authorities show that the disclosure and use by one party of
material supplied in confidence by the other to the joint solicitor will be
restrained, they do not suggest that, apart from the requirements of utmost
good faith, that embargo operates in respect of the other material to prevent
its use by one partly against the other in respect of the claim for indemnity.
[30] Because the appellant insurer rightly failed below on its plainly untenable
argument, and because each party=s success on appeal is limited, there should be no
order as to the costs of it.
16 (1987) 14 FCR 434, 443.
-- 10 of 15 --
11
[31] BYRNE J: Derrington J’s account of the background enables me to pass directly
to a discussion of the critical issues and pertinent circumstances.
[32] The judge’s order required Clayton Utz to provide their former clients, the insured,
with access to documents in the solicitors’ possession which they had created or
received in acting for the insured. The solicitors did not dispute the insured’s
entitlement 17 to see and copy these documents, which were brought into existence
for the purposes of the solicitor-client relationships that existed with Clayton Utz in
relation to the defence of Interchase’s claims against the insured for damages. But
the insurer did oppose such access, contending before the judge that the insured
were not Clayton Utz’s clients, as well as raising arguments about privilege. The
insurer, however, now accepts that a relevant relationship of solicitor and client did
subsist between Clayton Utz and the insured. And arguments about privilege are a
distraction; for there was no need for an order compelling18 Clayton Utz to accord
access: the solicitors were content to abide the outcome of a judicial determination
of the insured’s right to access. All this was, in effect, accepted for the insurer
during the hearing of the appeal, whereupon the true issue emerged: whether the
documents and information retained by Clayton Utz may be used by the insured in
prosecuting their claim for indemnity under the policy.
[33] So the contest bears a different aspect from that presented to the judge, who did not
decide the use to which the information may lawfully be put. However, the question
whether the documents and the information they contain may, if accessed, be used
against the insurer in the indemnity proceedings has now been argued, and it has
not been suggested that the issue cannot conveniently be decided on the materials
and arguments placed before us.
[34] The insured were initially represented by other solicitors. After a time, the insurer
asserted its contractual right “to take over and conduct” the defence of Interchase’s
claim. The insurer appointed Clayton Utz as the insured’s solicitors in that regard.
When the appointment was made, the insurer had not decided whether to indemnify
in relation to the claims agitated in the Interchase litigation. So the insurer retained
other solicitors to advise it on the indemnity issue. The insurer then sought the
insured’s agreement to the terms of Clayton Utz’s engagement, proposing terms
that would have obliged the insured to provide such information as Clayton Utz
requested. The draft also stipulated for an acknowledgment that information and
documents received by Clayton Utz during their conduct of the defence would be
made available to insured and insurer, who were to “agree that as between
themselves no claim for confidentiality will be made … over any such document or
information”. This proposal to allow both parties to use the material without
constraint was rejected by the insured, whose solicitors contended that “while
indemnity has not been confirmed”, it “would not be prudent” to do so, no doubt
anticipating that the insured might supply information for the defence of the
Interchase litigation on which the insurer could rely to decline indemnity.
17 See In re Crocker [1936] Ch 696.
18 Cf Commissioner of Australian Federal Police v Propend Finance Pty Ltd (1997) 188 CLR 501,
564-566, 570 per Gummow J; A.L.E. Newbold, “Inadvertent Disclosure in Civil Proceedings”,
(1991) 107 Law Quarterly Review 99, 100, 112, 116, 124.
-- 11 of 15 --
12
[35] In view of Interchase’s complaints about the quality of the insured’s valuation, it
must have been apparent that information germane to the defences in the Interchase
litigation had every potential to bear upon the extent of the insurer’s obligation to
indemnify. And it cannot have escaped attention that the proper conduct of the
insured’s defence probably depended upon adequate disclosure to Clayton Utz of
facts pertaining to the making of the valuation. If, therefore, Clayton Utz were
retained for both insurer and insured, the latter confronted this dilemma: either
candidly to provide Clayton Utz with the information needed to advance the
common interests of insurer and insured in resisting Interchase’s claims, thereby
running the risk that the solicitors would acquire, and disclose to the insurer,
information capable of prejudicing the insured’s claim for indemnity; or else to
relate to Clayton Utz guardedly, risking a response by the insurer that a lack of co-
operation afforded grounds for refusing indemnity. This troubling predicament
could have been avoided by the adoption of an expedient common in the United
States - the insurer’s paying for the defence but not becoming the lawyer’s client.19
Unfortunately, that was not to be.
[36] As the negotiations concerning Clayton Utz’s appointment proceeded, the insurer
continued to contend for an agreed entitlement to receive from Clayton Utz
information relevant to Interchase’s claim and to be made aware of defences
available in the litigation. The insurer also pressed for “a mutual waiver for any
claim for confidentiality” in respect of information obtained by Clayton Utz. Still
the insured would not agree. They were willing to consider a waiver of “any claim
for confidentiality”, as it was put in correspondence, but only upon written request
specifying “as precisely as possible” the information in question.
[37] In the result, Clayton Utz came to act as the parties’ solicitors in circumstances
where they all recognized that there was a real chance of conflict on the indemnity
question, and that the resolution of such a dispute might be affected by information
that the solicitors could expect to receive in the course of defending against
Interchase’s claims. Alert to the problem, but nonetheless content to assume the
obligations of a solicitor to a client in respect of insured and insurer, Clayton Utz
wrote to the insured in May 1996 “in order to clarify our position in relation to the
conduct of the defence”. This letter raised three matters. It recited that the insurer
had instructed Clayton Utz not to consider the indemnity issue, noting that insured
and insurer had retained their own lawyers in connection with it. Next it recorded
that Clayton Utz knew of the existence of a “dispute” about indemnity but not of its
detail, asking the insured to “refrain from communicating with us on issues relating
to the indemnity dispute”. Thirdly, the letter stated that, in conducting the defence
against Interchase, Clayton Utz “will act on instructions from FAI and will report
openly to both FAI and the insured on all matters arising out of the defence of the
claim”. The insured acquiesced in this arrangement. Thereafter Clayton Utz, with
19 C. Chapman and J. Mallon, “Conflicts of Interest Faced by Solicitors Instructed by Insurers to
Conduct Litigation on Behalf of Insurers”, (1996) 26 Victoria University of Wellington Law Review
679, 691-694; R. Cramton and L. Knowles, “Professional Secrecy and its Exceptions: Spaulding v.
Zimmerman Revisited”, (1998) 83 Minnesota Law Review 61, 91; M. Mills, “Risks and Remedies
for Conflicts of Interest – Perspectives of an Insurer’s Lawyer”, (1999) 10 Insurance Law Journal
167, 168-169; Atlanta International Insurance Company v Bell 475 NW 2d 294, 297, 299, 301
(Mich. 1991); Rockwell International Corporation v Superior Court of Los Angeles County 32 Cal
Rptr 2d 153, 158 (Cal. App. 2 Dist 1994).
-- 12 of 15 --
13
the insured’s co-operation, conducted the defence until October 1996, when the
insurer refused indemnity. In the meantime, Clayton Utz generated, or received,
information in the form of notes, correspondence and reports. This material is
confidential, in the sense that it is not common knowledge.
[38] Throughout the retainers, the insured knew that Clayton Utz would be reporting to
the insurer. It was obvious that the solicitors might convey information concerning
the defence that carried an incidental potential to apprise the insurer of matters
affording possible grounds for declining indemnity. The insurer must also have
realized that there was a chance that Clayton Utz would – unwittingly, for the
solicitors were anxious not to learn the details of an indemnity dispute – give the
insured information that could strengthen their hand. There was, in short, a
recognized risk of communications by the solicitors that could advantage one or
other of their clients in an indemnity contest, at least if the information could be
used for such a purpose. Even so, no consensus was ever expressed on the use the
parties might make of information disclosed to or withheld from them by Clayton
Utz in the event that the insurer declined indemnity. That prospect has eventuated,
and the question is whether the insured is entitled to use the retained information in
prosecuting the claim for indemnity.
[39] Ethical problems20 can confront solicitors who act for both insurer and insured in
circumstances where a serious risk exists that the insurer may refuse indemnity on
grounds related to matters that will arise in the defence of a third party’s claim. And
in such circumstances, the dilemma21 which typically confronts the insured when
the insurer defends under a reservation of rights puts at risk the prospect that the
tripartite arrangement 22 for the defence of the third party’s claim can function
satisfactorily. These considerations perhaps suggest that, to give business efficacy23
to such an arrangement, it might sometimes be necessary to imply into the policy a
term that information shared in the common cause of resisting a third party’s claims
against the insured cannot, without consent, ordinarily be used in an indemnity
contest. However, no reliance was placed on such an idea; so it is unnecessary to
consider it. Nor, in view of the arguments advanced, need we decide whether duties
of the utmost good faith, or provisions of the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth),
might assist.24 And it is not suggested that the arrangement evidenced by Clayton
Utz’s letter constituted a contract separate from the policy. In these circumstances,
20 G. Gray, “Conflicts and Waiver of Privilege in the Insurance Relationship”, (1998) 10 Insurance
Law Journal 75, 79-82; Brown v Guardian Royal Exchange Assurance PLC [1994] 2 Lloyd’s L Rep
325, 328.
21 To cooperate at the risk of jeopardizing the indemnity claim, or to be less than forthcoming on peril
of provoking the insurer to decline indemnity.
22 Among solicitor, insurer and insured.
23 Cf Esso Australia Resources Ltd v Plowman (1995) 183 CLR 10, 30; Breen v Williams (1996) 186
CLR 71, 80, 90, 102-103; Ali Shipping Corporation v Shipyard Trogir [1999] 1 WLR 314, 326-327.
24 See G. Gray, supra, at pp. 87-90.
-- 13 of 15 --
14
any restriction upon the use to which the insured may put the retained material
depends upon equitable concepts.25
[40] Material received or created by Clayton Utz was brought into existence, as both
insurer and insured appreciated, for the limited purpose of conducting the insured’s
defence; and, except in proceedings in the Interchase litigation, that information
was not to be disseminated beyond insurer and insured. No disclosure of the
retained material has occurred yet. Accordingly, that information retains the quality
of confidence necessary to attract equitable protection.
[41] Clayton Utz said26 that they would report “openly … on all matters arising out of
the defence of the claim”. So the retained information might have been disclosed to
the parties consistently with the arrangement they were content to accept. If,
therefore, this apparent assent authorized the use of the material in an indemnity
dispute, resort to that information for such a purpose would not conflict with the
obligations “in conscience”27 that derived from the arrangement.
[42] In deciding whether the insured28 was authorized to use29 the Clayton Utz
information in the indemnity dispute, the retainer negotiations matter. The
correspondence reveals the refusal of the insured to accede to the proposal that use
of the information be unrestricted. Moreover, after Clayton Utz’s letter, neither side
foreshadowed an intention to use the information in an indemnity contest. Plainly,
no express authority was given to the insured to use the information in a contest
between the parties. Is permission to do so to be imputed to the insurer?
[43] Two considerations might be thought to indicate that both parties should be taken to
have consented to the use of the information in an indemnity contest. First,
problems could attend the notion that it cannot be used for such a purpose: in
particular, the indemnity litigation might be bedevilled by skirmishes about whether
conduct in those proceedings was influenced by information received from Clayton
Utz rather than from another source. Secondly, ramifications of the obligations of
utmost good faith assumed by virtue of the policy may have meant that the parties
stood to lose little if the Clayton Utz information became susceptible of unrestricted
use by them. After all, issues in the Interchase litigation were markedly similar to
some of those bound to be presented by an indemnity contest. The insured’s
responsibility to furnish the insurer with facts pertinent to the Interchase defence
25 See Johns v Australian Securities Commission (1993) 178 CLR 408, 426-427, 459, 474; cf
Coulthard v State of South Australia (1995) 63 SASR 531, 534, 545-550; R. P. Meagher, W.M.C.
Gummow & J.R.F. Lehane, Equity Doctrines and Remedies, 3rd ed (1992), pp. 866, 872.
26 To the insured by the May 1996 letter and, presumably, to the insurer as well.
27 Per Brennan CJ in Breen v Williams at 82; cf Moorgate Tobacco Co Ltd v Philip Morris Ltd (No 2)
(1984) 156 CLR 414, 438 per Deane J, referring to an “obligation of conscience”; Fractionated
Cane Technology Ltd v Ruiz-Avila [1988] 2 Qd R 610, 618 per Kelly SPJ.
28 Whether the stance adopted by the insured implies that they must be taken to have consented to the
insurer’s using the information in the indemnity contest is not presently a live issue.
29 A point not mentioned in Brown v Guardian Royal Exchange Assurance where the critical issue –
the use to which discloseable information could be put – was obscured by privilege red herrings.
-- 14 of 15 --
15
may have required them to supply information prejudicial to the indemnity claim.
But neither of these matters was mentioned in argument.
[44] The insured’s case is that silence on the topic was tantamount to assent to the use of
the information in an indemnity dispute. Such an outcome would accord with the
insurer’s proposals during the negotiations. It is not suggested, however, that the
insurer unilaterally manifested assent to the use the insured wish to make of the
retained material. The insured’s contention is that a tacit consensus is to be inferred
from the omission of the parties to advert to the issue during the subsistence of the
Clayton Utz retainers. This cannot be right: among other things, such an attribution
would mean that the insured’s silence evidenced their capitulation to an idea which
they had steadfastly resisted. Despite the change of heart since the termination of
the Clayton Utz retainers, that is scarcely an appropriate inference here.
[45] “Confidential information”, as Lord Millett has said,30 “shares this characteristic
with trust property, that the person who is entrusted with it is bound to use it, if he
uses it at all, only for the purpose for which he received it” and not “for an ulterior
purpose of his own”. Use by the insured of the retained material for the prosecution
of the indemnity claim has not been authorized, expressly or impliedly, by the
insurer; and it would be an unconscientious exploitation of the information.
[46] The insured have been entitled to see the information for the Interchase litigation,
and that use31 was in prospect when the appeal was heard. Since then, however, all
the evidence in those proceedings has been adduced. The retained material has no
further significance for that litigation. And apart from the threatened unlawful use,
the insured have not suggested that they might wish to put the information to any
other use. Until it can be shown, to a judge if need be, that access would serve a
beneficial purpose, it is preferable that Clayton Utz withhold the documents rather
than that they be revealed accompanied by an injunction restricting use.
[47] In the different circumstances which now obtain, 32 the appeal should be allowed
and the judge’s orders set aside. No order should be made for the costs of the
hearing before the judge or of the appeal, as the primary contentions on both sides
have failed: the insured would be entitled to see the documents for a proper
purpose, while their use to prosecute the indemnity claim is not such a purpose.
30 P.J. Millett, “Equity’s Place in the Law of Commerce”, (1998) 114 Law Quarterly Review 214, 222;
cf Telstra Corporation Ltd v First Netcom Pty Ltd (1997) 78 FCR 132, 138-139; Murray v Yorkshire
Fund Managers Ltd [1998] 1 WLR 951, 957 B-D. A similar burden attaches to information
received through curial compulsion: Welfare v Birdon Sands Pty Ltd (1997) 79 FCR 220.
31 For the defence of the contribution claim.
32 It is in the interests of justice to proceed by way of re-hearing (see UCPR 765(4) taking account of
the changed circumstances. The contrary has not been suggested.
-- 15 of 15 --
Official source: https://www.sclqld.org.au/caselaw/QCA/1999/524