Donovan v Donovan [2009] QSC 26
SUPREME COURT OF QUEENSLAND
CITATION: Donovan v Donovan [2009] QSC 26
PARTIES: LYNDA JANE DONOVAN (AS EXECUTOR OF THE
ESTATE OF RONALD JOSEPH DONOVAN)
(applicant/cross-respondent)
v
HELGA DONOVAN (AS EXECUTOR OF THE
ESTATE OF RONALD JOSEPH DONOVAN)
(respondent/cross-appellant)
FILE NO/S: 11565 of 2008
11886 of 2008
DIVISION: Trial
PROCEEDING: Application
ORIGINATING
COURT:
Supreme Court
DELIVERED ON: 16 February 2009
DELIVERED AT: Brisbane
HEARING DATE: 16 February 2009
JUDGE: Fryberg J
ORDER: 1) Answers to questions in order made on 20 November
2008:
(a) unnecessary to answer;
(b) the requirements of r 6.17A(6) of the
Superannuation Industry (Supervision)
Regulations 1994 apply to the Helron
Superannuation Fund;
(c) the deceased’s letter of 10 April 2006 is a
non-binding death benefit nomination.
2) Costs of both parties be assessed on the indemnity
basis and paid out of the estate.
CATCHWORDS: Superannuation – Benefits – Matters affecting entitlement to
and payment of – Other matters – Payment of benefit upon
death – non-binding death nomination
-- 1 of 12 --
1-2 JUDGMENT
1
10
20
30
40
50
60
Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Act 1993 (Cth) s
51(1A)
Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Regulations 1994
(Cth) r 6.17A
McFadden v Public Trustee for Victoria [1981] 1 NSWLR 15
contrasted
COUNSEL: Applicant/cross-respondent: D Thomae
Respondent/cross-applicant: M Amerena
SOLICITORS: Applicant/cross-respondent: McCowans Solicitors
Respondent/cross-applicant: Geoff Williams and Associates
-- 2 of 12 --
1-3 JUDGMENT
1
10
20
30
40
50
60
SUPREME COURT OF QUEENSLAND
CIVIL JURISDICTION [2009] QSC 26
FRYBERG J
No 11565 of 2008
LYNDA JANE DONOVAN (AS EXECUTOR OF
THE ESTATE OF RONALD JOSEPH DONOVAN) Applicant
and
HELGA DONOVAN (AS EXECUTOR OF THE
ESTATE OF RONALD JOSEPH DONOVAN) Respondent
No 11886 of 2008
HELGA DONOVAN (AS EXECUTOR OF THE Applicant
ESTATE OF RONALD JOSEPH DONOVAN)
And
LYNDA JANE DONOVAN (AS EXECUTOR OF
THE ESTATE OF RONALD JOSEPH DONOVAN) Respondent
BRISBANE
..DATE 16/02/2009
JUDGMENT
-- 3 of 12 --
1-4 JUDGMENT
1
10
20
30
40
50
60
HIS HONOUR: The parties are the executors of the Will of
Ronald Joseph Donovan, whom I shall call Ronald, who died on
18 June 2007. His death left the respondent, Helga, his widow
after some 29 years of marriage. The applicant, Lynda, is his
daughter by his first marriage. Mr Donovan established a
superannuation fund in 1991 called the Helron Superannuation
Fund. The trustee was Villaricci Pty Ltd and Ronald was a
member at all material times. In November 2000 Villaricci
amended the trust deed so that the rules took the form in
issue in these proceedings. Ronald and Helga were director
and secretary of Villaricci at that time. I infer that the
deed was amended by reason of and to comply with changes made
to superannuation legislation in and about 1999.
Clause 11.4 of the deed provides that in respect of payment of
a death benefit:
(a) A Member may designate a Dependant or legal personal
representative of the Member as the person entitled
to payment of the Death Benefit in writing to the
Trustee in such form as the Trustee may from time to
time approve;
(b) A Member may make a binding death benefit nomination
in the form required to satisfy the Statutory
Requirements;
(c) A Member may revoke a nomination by completing a new
form in the case of a non-binding nomination or in
the method set out in the Statutory Requirements in
the case of a binding death benefit nomination.
Clauses 11.5 and 11.6 provided:
11.5 Where a Member has made a valid binding death
benefit nomination in accordance with Rule 11.4 the
Trustee must pay the Death Benefit to the nominated
legal personal representative or Dependant of the
Member.
11.6 Where a Member does not have a binding death benefit
nomination in force, any Death Benefit shall be paid
as the Trustee in its absolute discretion decides to
-- 4 of 12 --
1-5 JUDGMENT
1
10
20
30
40
50
60
such one or more of the nominated beneficiaries (if
any) or other Dependants or legal personal
representative of the Member.
The ultimate question in the present litigation is whether the
trustee must dispose of the death benefit which by a chain of
definitions means the net amount standing to Ronald's account,
plus the value at the time of his death of any insurance
policy in respect of him, in accordance with clause 11.5 or
clause 11.6.
By letter dated 10 April 2006 Ronald wrote to the directors of
Villaricci as follows:
"46 Martingale Circuit, Clear Island Waters, Qld, 4226
Tel/Fax 07 9953 2896
(All correspondence to P O Box 569 Robina DC, QLD 4226)
10/4/06
The Directors,
Villaricci Pty Ltd
Trustee Helron Superannuation Fund
PO Box 569
Robina DC
Robina
QLD 4226
RE ENTITLEMENTS IN THE Helron Superannuation Fund
Account Ronald Joseph Donovan
I hereby advise that it is my wish that the balance of any
amounts standing in my name in the above named superannuation
fund, on my demise, be paid to my Legal Personal
Representative for inclusion in my estate assets.
Yours faithfully,
(signed)
R.J. Donovan"
On 20 November last year a Judge ordered that the following
questions be heard and determined in advance of all other
-- 5 of 12 --
1-6 JUDGMENT
1
10
20
30
40
50
60
questions in the proceedings:
"(a) Section 59(1A) of the Superannuation Industry
(Supervision) Act 1993 (Cth) and Reg 6.17A of the
Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Regulations
1993 apply to self managed superannuation funds;
(b) Section 59(1A) of the Superannuation Industry
(Supervision) Act (1993) (Cth) and Reg 6.17A of the
Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Regulations
1993 apply to the Helron Superannuation Fund by
force of statute and further or alternatively
because such statutory requirements are incorporated
in the rules of the Helron Superannuation Fund;
(c) The letter of 10 April 2006 from Ronald Joseph
Donovan (deceased) to Villaricci Pty Ltd as trustee
of the Helron Superannuation Fund is a binding or
non-binding death benefit nomination."
It is convenient to deal with the third question first. In
doing so I point out that the parties have approached the case
on the basis that it is to be resolved simply on the
documents. The only evidence before me is the letter of 10
April 2006, the trust deed and rules, a draft determination of
the Commissioner of Taxation dated 10 September 2008, and a
letter evidencing the dispute between the parties.
Lynda relies on clause 11.4 as the source of Ronald's right to
make a binding nomination of the person entitled to the death
benefit. She does not contend that any right to make such a
nomination existed under the general law. She submits that on
its face the letter was sufficient to designate a legal
personal representative under clause 11.4(a), and to
constitute a binding death benefit nomination within the
meaning of those words in clause 11.4(b). I will leave aside
for the moment the question of form in relation to the
statutory requirements. Alternatively, she submits that
clause 11.4(b) may be read alone as having the result for
-- 6 of 12 --
1-7 JUDGMENT
1
10
20
30
40
50
60
which she contends.
Helga did not challenge the idea that the letter was adequate
as a designation of the legal personal representative. In the
course of the argument, I raised with counsel whether there
was any evidence that the letter was in a form which the
trustee had approved, and if not what was the consequence of
this. Neither side seemed interested in pursuing this
question. If the question fell for decision I would infer
that at the time the letter was written no such approval had
been given. I shall proceed on the assumption that the
trustee may still give such an approval retrospectively and
that no issue of non-compliance with this part of clause
11.4(a) arises between the parties.
Helga submitted that the language of the letter was
insufficient to convey the notion that Ronald was nominating
his legal personal representative in a binding way. She
submitted that the word "wish" can sometimes in context be a
command, but more often was merely a request or indication of
desire, and that one would have expected clear words such as
"I direct" or "I require". I would not accept the last part
of that submission, but it is not necessary to do so in order
to find, as I do, that the letter did not manifest an
intention to make a binding death benefit nomination.
Whatever effect is given to that part of sub-clause (b)
specifying that the nomination be in the form required to
satisfy the statutory requirements, the letter simply does not
indicate whether it is to be binding or non-binding. It was
-- 7 of 12 --
1-8 JUDGMENT
1
10
20
30
40
50
60
written to the trustee, and so may be assumed to have been
referable to the trust deed, but that document envisages both
sorts of nomination. The letter makes no attempt to follow
any particular form. Even if Lynda is correct in submitting
that it is not obliged to follow any particular form, it could
hardly be expected that Ronald would have known that. There
is in my judgment nothing in rule 11.10 which detracts from
this result.
Were I of a different opinion it might have been necessary to
consider whether the letter could validly operate as a Will to
dispose of property after death. Contrast McFadden v Public
Trustee for Victoria [1981] 1 NSWLR 15. If it could be
revoked at any time (sub-clause (c)), it is unlikely to be
construed as making a present disposition of an interest in
property.
Strictly speaking, that is sufficient to resolve the dispute
between the parties and it is unnecessary to answer the other
questions. I shall, however, deal in part at least with the
second question as it relates to the question of form in a way
which reinforces the interpretation of the letter. The rules
required a binding nomination to be in the form required to
satisfy the statutory requirements. "Statutory requirements"
was defined to mean:
"Statutory Requirements" means the requirements imposed
under any law or by any Statutory Authority which must be
satisfied by a superannuation fund in order to qualify
for income tax concessions provided that where the
Member's Application indicates that the pension is taken
out to comply with the requirements of the Social
Security Act 1991 of the Veteran's Entitlements Act 1986,
the term shall include those acts."
-- 8 of 12 --
1-9 JUDGMENT
1
10
20
30
40
50
60
The only requirements arguably capable of satisfying that
definition were those in regulation 6.17A of the
Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Regulations 1994. So
far as material, those regulations provided:
"(2) For subsection 59 (1A) of the Act, the governing
rules of a fund may permit a member of the fund to
require the trustee to provide any benefits in
respect of the member, on or after the death of the
member, to the legal personal representative or a
dependant of the member if the trustee gives to the
member information under subregulation (3).
(3) The trustee must give to the member information that
the trustee reasonably believes the member
reasonably needs for the purpose of understanding
the right of that member to require the trustee to
provide the benefits.
(5) A member who gives notice under subregulation (4)
may:
(a) confirm the notice by giving to the trustee a
written notice, signed, and dated, by the
member, to that effect; or
(b) amend, or revoke, the notice by giving to the
trustee notice, in accordance with
subregulation (6), of the amendment or
revocation.
(6) For paragraphs (4)(c) and (5)(b), the notice:
(a) must be in writing; and
(b) must be signed, and dated, by the member
in the presence of 2 witnesses, being
persons:
(i) each of whom has turned 18; and
(ii) neither of whom is a person mentioned
in the notice; and
(c) must contain a declaration signed, and
dated, by the witnesses stating that the
notice was signed by the member in their
presence.
(7) Unless sooner revoked by the member, a notice under
subregulation (4) ceases to have effect:
(a) at the end of the period of 3 years after
the day it was first signed, or last
-- 9 of 12 --
1-10 JUDGMENT
1
10
20
30
40
50
60
confirmed or amended, by the member; or
(b) if the governing rules of the fund fix a
shorter period - at the end of that
period."
Lynda accepts that the nomination was not in the form required
to satisfy that provision. Helga submits that the regulation
requires the use of such a form by reason of its operation in
conjunction with section 59(1A) of the Superannuation Industry
(Supervision) Act 1993, or alternatively because its
requirements have been incorporated into the rules by
reference.
Lynda submits that by reason of the words "which must be
satisfied by a superannuation fund in order to qualify for
income tax concessions" in the definition, no particular form
need be used because there is no legislative requirement which
applies to this particular fund. That raises the first
question of those reserved for consideration. However, let it
be assumed for the moment that there was no statutory
obligation for Ronald to use a particular form to make a
binding death benefit nomination, nor, perhaps more
relevantly, for the nomination to be in a particular form so
as to permit or require a payment under clause 11.5.
Lynda's submission is in my judgment inconsistent with the
words of the definition of "statutory requirements" in the
deed. Those words do not refer to requirements which must be
satisfied by this particular superannuation fund in order to
qualify for income tax concessions, though they easily could
have done so. They are of general import. In my judgment it
-- 10 of 12 --
1-11 JUDGMENT
1
10
20
30
40
50
60
is quite plain that the intent of the deed is to require the
nomination to be in the form described in regulation 6.17A(6).
There are two reasons for this conclusion. First, were it
otherwise, the requirements of clause 11.4(b) as to form would
be meaningless. Second, such an interpretation makes sense in
the context of a superannuation deed. The legislation
governing superannuation in Australia is notoriously
convoluted and is reminiscent of the legendary oomidoodle
bird. It is very easy for trustees and members to make a
mistake about the requirements applicable in their particular
case. It is very understandable that a deed should specify a
requirement in effect to comply with the form described in
regulation 6.17A(6) out of an abundance of caution. The
alternative would be to require the trustees or the member to
take legal advice about the answer to the first question posed
to me, and to run the risk that their advice might turn out to
be incorrect. Such an approach is uncommercial and unlikely.
Interestingly, requiring conformity with that regulation also
eliminates any argument about whether the disposition is a
testamentary disposition which fails to meet the requirements
of a will.
For these reasons I answer the questions in the order made on
20 November 2008: (a), unnecessary to answer; (b), the
requirements of regulation 6.17A(6) of the Superannuation
Industry Supervision Regulations, 1994, apply to rule 11.4(b)
of the rules of the Helron Superannuation Fund; (c), the
letter of 10 April 2006 sent from Ronald Joseph Donovan to
-- 11 of 12 --
1-12 JUDGMENT
1
10
20
30
40
50
60
Villaricci Pty Ltd as trustee of the Helron Superannuation
Fund, is a non-binding death benefit nomination.
....
HIS HONOUR: I order that the costs of both parties be
assessed on the indemnity basis and paid out of the estate of
Ronald Joseph Donovan.
-----
-- 12 of 12 --
Official source: https://www.sclqld.org.au/caselaw/QSC/2009/026