Ellington v Heinrich Constructions P/L & Ors [2004] QSC 155
SUPREME COURT OF QUEENSLAND
CITATION: Ellington v Heinrich Constructions P/L & Ors [2004] QSC
155
PARTIES: ROBERT SNEITH ELLINGTON
(plaintiff)
v
HEINRICH CONSTRUCTIONS PTY LTD
(ACN 080 897 605)
(first defendant)
WATPAC AUSTRALIA PTY LTD
(ACN 010 462 816)
(second defendant)
DUMARESQ CONSTRUCTIONS PTY LTD
(ACN 080 341 564)
(third defendant)
FILE NOS: SC 5805 of 2003
DIVISION: Trial Division
PROCEEDING: Trial
ORIGINATING
COURT: Supreme Court at Brisbane
DELIVERED ON: 21 May 2004
DELIVERED AT: Brisbane
HEARING DATE: 16, 17, 18 February 2004
JUDGE: Muir J
CATCHWORDS: DAMAGES - MEASURE OF DAMAGES IN ACTIONS
FOR TORT- PERSONAL INJURIES - MEDICAL AND
HOSPITAL EXPENSES - LOSS OF EARNINGS AND
EARNING CAPACITY- PERSONAL INJURIES - PAIN
AND SUFFERING - LOSS OF AMENITIES
TORTS- NEGLIGENCE - ESSENTIALS OF ACTION FOR
NEGLIGENCE - DUTY OF CARE- REASONABLE
FORESEEABILITY OF DAMAGE- GENERALLY -
whether the second defendant ought reasonably to have
foreseen the risk of injury
GUARANTEE AND INDEMNITY-INDEMNITIES-
CONSTRUCTION OF CONTRACT - where a sub-contract
exists between the second and third defendants - whether the
indemnity clause within the sub-contract indemnifies the
second defendant only against loss occasioned by the
trespass, nuisance or negligence of the third defendant- or
-- 1 of 20 --
2
alternatively against loss occasioned by its own negligence
CONTRACT - CONSTRUCTION AND
INTERPRETATION OF CONTRACTS - where a clause of
the sub-contract required the third defendant to effect an
insurance policy - whether the policy extended to loss of the
second defendant beyond that against which the third
defendant agreed to indemnify
TORTS-JOINT OR SEVERAL TORTFEASORS -
CONTRIBUTION- GENERALLY- where the second
defendant sought contribution from the plaintiff- ss 6,7 Law
Reform Act 1995 (Qld) what is ‘just and equitable having
regard to the extent of the person’s responsibility for the
damage’
Law Reform Act 1995 (Qld), ss 6,7
WorkCover Queensland Act 1996 (Qld), s 12 (1)
Antaios Compania Naviera SA v Salen Rederierna AB [1985]
AC 191
Astley v Austrust Limited (1999) 197 CLR 1
Baird v Roberts [1977] 2 NSWLR 389
Canberra Formwork Pty Ltd v Civil & Civic Ltd (1982) 41
ACTR 1
Darlington Futures v Velco Australia Pty Ltd [1986] 161
CLR 500
Davis v Commissioner for Main Roads (1968) 117 CLR 529
Gillespie Bros & Co Ltd v Roy Bowles Transport Ltd [1973]
QB 400
Fink v Fink (1946) 74 CLR 127
Van Der Sterren v Cibernetics (Holdings) Pty Ltd (1970) 44
ALJR 157
James Hardie and Coy Pty Ltd v Roberts (1997) 72 ALJR 65
Naylor v Yorkshire Electricity Board (1968) AC 529
Podrebersek v Australian Iron & Steel Pty Ltd (1985) 59
ALJR 492
Port Jackson Stevedoring Pty Ltd v Salmond & Spraggon
(Aust) Pty Ltd (1978) 139 CLR 231
Purkess v Crittenden (1965) 114 CLR 164
Raimondo v State of South Australia (1979) 23 ALR 513
Smith v South Wales Switchgear Limited [1978] 1 WLR 165
Smith v Topp [2003] QCA 397
State of New South Wales v Moss (2000) 54 NSWLR 536
State of NSW v Tempo Services Ltd [2004] NSWCA 4
Sydney Corporation v West (1965) 114 CLR 481
Thomas National Transport (Melbourne) Pty Ltd v May &
Baker (Australia) Pty Ltd (1966) 115 CLR 353
Wynbergen v Hoyts Corporation Pty Ltd (1997) 72 ALJR 65
COUNSEL: T Matthews, with D J Schneidewin for the plaintiff
-- 2 of 20 --
3
P D Lane for the first defendant
R B Dickson for the second defendant
J B Rolls, with K Phillips for the third defendant
SOLICITORS: Quinlan Miller & Treston for the plaintiff
Barry & Nilsson for the first defendant
Jensen McConaghy for the second defendant
Minter Ellison for the third defendant
Introduction
[1] The plaintiff, born on 27 February 1955, was injured on 30 June 1999 in the course
of his employment by the third defendant when, whilst assisting others in
positioning a pre-fabricated steel beam, he fell from formwork some four metres
onto the ground below. The subject works were part of the Brisbane Cricket Ground
redevelopment for which the second defendant, Watpac Australia Pty Ltd, was the
head contractor. The third defendant was a subcontractor of the second defendant
with responsibilities, relevantly, for pre-fabricating and placing reinforcing steel.
The first defendant, another of the second defendant’s subcontractors, had
responsibility under its subcontract for the construction of the formwork preparatory
to the placement of the reinforcing steel and the pouring of concrete.
[2] Before considering the plaintiff’s allegations against each defendant and the second
and third defendants’ claims for contribution, it is useful to consider, in a little more
detail, the nature of the works and the circumstances in which the accident occurred.
[3] The plaintiff fell from wooden formwork erected on top of reinforced concrete piers
on which reinforcing steel, measuring 900 mm x 800 mm x 26 m and described as
“beam 3B8”, was being placed in position. Although referred to as a beam, the
reinforcing steel, at the time of the accident, was the steel core around which
concrete was to be poured in order to constitute a horizontal beam. Prefabricated
concrete “planks” were then to be placed over the beam and adjoining beams to
provide flooring.
[4] The formwork, the base of which was about 4.1 m above ground level, consisted of:
large vertical uprights referred to as “whalers”; plywood flooring supported by
horizontal wooden beams and smaller pieces of timber nailed to the whalers and the
wooden horizontal beam forming the edge of the formwork flooring. The latter
pieces of timber, which are at an angle of perhaps 45 degrees to the whalers, are
described as “soldiers”.
[5] The steel reinforcing was being lowered onto the floor of the formwork by an
appropriately positioned crane. Steel fixers, including the plaintiff, were positioned
on ledges about 330mm wide formed by that part of the base of the formwork
outside the whalers in order to guide the steel into position inside the whalers. They
were required also to place on the formwork underneath the reinforcing steel
appropriately spaced 40 millimetres high pieces of plastic called “chairs”, in order
to ensure that the reinforcing was properly positioned within the concrete when
poured.
[6] Also assisting in this operation was a “dogman” whose role was to communicate
with the crane operator. A steel fixer engaged in the activity I have just described
faces an appreciable risk of falling from the ledge while concentrating on the job of
-- 3 of 20 --
4
positioning the beam and chairs. In response to that risk the second defendant, in the
case of previously constructed beams, had caused steel guard rails, consisting of an
upper rail and a mid rail, to be fixed along the outside of each ledge. No such
precaution was taken in relation to beam 3B8.
Aspects of site safety
[7] Prior to the accident, the second defendant caused a Workplace Health and Safety
committee to be constituted for the project. The committee held meetings at
approximately fortnightly intervals. Those meetings were chaired by Mr Gildea, the
site manager of the second defendant and Mr Houston, also an employee of the
second defendant and the site safety officer for the project. Representatives of
various subcontractors, including the first defendant, but not including the third
defendant, attended the meetings. The minutes of the meeting of the committee of
21 May contain the entry “5.07 Workers at heights are to have edge protection (i.e.
handrails) or are to use harnesses”. The minutes of the meeting held on 4 June 1999
record “5.03 Barricades/handrails/signs/ to be observed”.
[8] Prior to the accident Mr Houston, in his capacity as site safety officer, had reviewed
a safety plan dated 10 March 1999 submitted to the second defendant by the third
defendant. It contained the following entry:
“a. Generally, these facilities are to be provided by the Builder or
other sub-contractor, but we must observe the following points:
b. No worker is to use makeshift or unsafe scaffolding, or work in
an area with inadequate handrails.
c. All scaffolding to be erected by qualified personnel, to Health
and Safety regulations.”
Events on site immediately prior to the accident
[9] On 30 June, prior to the accident, Mr Houston, when speaking to Mr Bussel, the
third defendant’s site supervisor, noticed one of the third defendant’s employees
working on a beam which had no handrails. He informed Mr Bussel that “We can’t
be working anywhere where there isn’t any handrails” and Mr Bussel instructed the
employee to cease working on the beam. Mr Houston’s evidence was that this
exchange occurred before “we had our smoko break and smoko is at 9.30”.
[10] Mr Carter, one of the second defendant’s site managers, gave the following account
of events in two statements to Workplace Health and Safety inspectors in July 1999.
[11] On the morning of 30 June 1999, Mr Gildea, Mr Carter’s superior, instructed that
work commence on the subject beam. That was sometime after morning tea. At the
time Mr Carter was standing beside Mr Bussel who heard the instruction. Mr Carter
was aware that no safety rails were in position on the subject site as was Mr Gildea.
It seems that there were no spare handrails on site. Nevertheless, work proceeded.
There had been discussions between representatives of the second defendant and
representatives of the first defendant concerning the erection of wooden handrails
prior to work proceeding but a decision was taken by the second defendant not to
proceed with that option. Mr Carter was not unduly concerned about the lack of
safety because he thought it was “safe enough to drop the beams in”.
[12] In one part of his statement of 21 July, Mr Carter appears to be suggesting that he
was unaware that wooden handrails had not been erected on the subject site. His
-- 4 of 20 --
5
statements, however, properly considered, should be seen as an admission of his
awareness that no rails were on the subject site at the time of the accident. In any
event, the statements, to which no objection was taken, provide evidence of Mr
Gildea’s knowledge of the lack of railings at material times.
[13] It was argued on behalf of the second defendant that Mr Houston’s conversation
with Mr Bussel may have occurred after Mr Gildea gave his instructions to Mr
Carter and Mr Bussel. The evidence, to which I have referred, does not support that
conclusion and I find to the contrary.
[14] Neither Carter nor Gildea was called by the second defendant to give any
explanation or to make any clarification or correction of Mr Carter’s statements.
The accident
[15] On the morning of 30 June 1999 the plaintiff and two other work mates were
directed by Mr Bussel to go to the subject formwork to work on the positioning of
the beam. They were met at the site by other employees of the third defendant and a
dogman. The workmen positioned themselves on the formwork ledges in order to
perform the tasks described earlier. The beam, when being lowered, became caught
on an obstruction and had to be lifted. While it was being lifted, the plaintiff moved
to his left and took hold of a soldier with his right hand. It gave way and he then fell
backwards off the ledge on to the ground some 4.1 metres below, landing on his
heels.
[16] Mr Collins, a colleague of the plaintiff working on site, whose evidence I accept,
recalls that he was on a ledge of the formwork opposite to the ledge on which the
plaintiff was standing, one of the ends of the beam was not sitting correctly and had
to be lifted. As that was happening he observed the following: “And Bob stood
back, stood up and grabbed one of the soldiers and it give (sic) way straightaway
and he went backwards”.
The plaintiff’s injuries
[17] The plaintiff was admitted to the Princess Alexandra Hospital on the day of his
accident, where an x-ray revealed “bilateral comminuted intra-articular fractures of
the calcaneum with severe disruption of the subtalar joints bilaterally”. The injuries
were unable to be alleviated by any surgical procedure and, for a time, the plaintiff
was confined to a bed or wheelchair and given physiotherapy treatment. He was
discharged on 6 July 1999. The plaintiff was still using a wheelchair when he was
seen by the hospital’s orthopaedic registrar in August 1999. The registrar
commented in her report of 18 November 1999 that at that time the plaintiff had
“stiff and painful subtalar joints” and had developed a pressure area over the right
heel. The registrar observed that on 30 September 1999, when she next saw the
plaintiff, “he was mobilising on crutches with some discomfort”. She further noted
that the plaintiff had not been attending the physiotherapy sessions which she had
directed and that when he presented on 11 November 1999 he still had not
“bothered to attend physiotherapy”.
[18] Dr Curtis, orthopaedic surgeon , in a report of 30 January 2002, observed –
. “There is a broadening and flattening of both hind feet;
. There is a gross and symmetrical wasting of both calves;
-- 5 of 20 --
6
. There is a swelling of both hind feet and ankles with .5 cm
of increased girth on the right side;
. There is considerable sclerosis throughout the calcaneus;
. The fractures are now united with considerable residual
deformity producing pain and stiffness and deformity of
both feet;
. There is considerable restriction of movement of both ankle
joints and mid tarsal joints and virtual ankylosis of the
subtalar joints.”
[19] Dr Curtis expressed the opinion that the plaintiff’s disabilities amount to 30%
impairment of his right lower limb as a whole and 25% impairment of the left lower
limb as a whole.
[20] Dr Curtis was further of the opinion that the plaintiff would be unable to resume his
occupation as a steel fixer or to undertake work of that nature but that he would be
capable of “some suitable light alternative work of a sedentary nature at which he is
predominantly sitting down, such as a car park attendant, gate keeper etc”.
[21] In cross-examination, Dr Curtis said that the plaintiff could possibly work as a
service station attendant “provided he would not have to stock shelves or carry
heavy objects”. In his report, he stated the opinion that consideration may need to be
given to bilateral subtalar fusions and that there was a 10% to 20% chance that such
a procedure would be required. His opinion, given in oral evidence, was that if such
a procedure was required it would be necessary within 12 years, after which time it
would tend to become ineffective.
[22] Dr Saxby, orthopaedic surgeon, who saw the plaintiff in September 1999, was also
of the opinion that the plaintiff would not be able to work as a steel fixer but was
capable of sedentary work for example, as a night watchman, console operator at a
service station or gate keeper if “he could sit down for some of the time”.
[23] Dr Landy, consultant neurologist, agreed that the plaintiff was unsuited for work in
the building industry.
[24] Another orthopaedic surgeon, Dr Kwa, had treated the plaintiff in 2000. Dr Kwa’s
opinion as to the plaintiff’s employability coincided generally with that of Dr
Curtis. He considered that the plaintiff would need to be able to sit for long periods
while performing his duty and would not be able to undertake work which required
his walking on uneven ground.
The plaintiff’s pre-accident history
[25] The plaintiff left school at age 16. After that time he had a variety of occupations.
Initially he worked part and full time as a painter and docker. He also worked as a
storeman and as a labourer. Of recent years however, he has worked only as a steel
fixer.
[26] The plaintiff does not appear to have been active in any sporting pursuits prior to
the accident. He did say however that prior to the accident “we used to play a bit of
touch football, golf, fishing”.
The plaintiff’s post-accident history
-- 6 of 20 --
7
[27] The plaintiff is still able to enjoy fishing but is denied participation in the other
more active sports. It is not suggested that he ardently pursued his sporting activities
before the accident or that his inability to continue to engage in them has caused
him any great distress.
[28] The plaintiff was hospitalized for about a week after the accident. He was then
reliant on a wheelchair for mobility for about three months during which time he
lived with his sister and brother-in-law at their home. He experienced intermittent
pain during this period. After three months he was able to move with the assistance
of crutches.
[29] His movement remains restricted. He is able to walk for about a kilometre, provided
the ground is reasonably flat, before his aching feet require him to rest.
[30] He finds difficulty in walking on uneven and hilly ground and has had to give up
touch football and golf. Dr Landy’s report reveals that the plaintiff informed him
that he had done a three day computer course and also a seven day typing course.
He has not attempted to obtain employment or, as far as one can tell, to investigate
employment opportunities.
Pain, suffering and loss of amenities of life
[31] The plaintiff was not very forthcoming about the aftermath of his injuries and, in
particular, about the pain, discomfort and disability flowing from them. He has
borne his sufferings with admirable stoicism. One can detect, however, from the
nature of the plaintiff’s injuries and from the medical evidence that the plaintiff has
experienced a considerable amount of pain and discomfort. He also suffers from the
considerable disadvantage of having his everyday freedom of movement curtailed.
[32] I accept the submission on behalf of the third defendant that an appropriate award
under this heading is $70,000. That figure is supported by the comparable awards to
which I was referred by counsel. Interest at 2% is allowed on $25,000.
Special damages
[33] Mr Rolls, for the third defendant, put forward a figure of $11,848 which was
accepted by Mr Matthews, for the plaintiff.
[34] There was no dispute as to the plaintiff’s claim for interest on special damages of
$438 and that figure will be allowed.
Griffiths v Kerkemeyer (past gratuitous care)
[35] Mr Matthews relied on a schedule based on the evidence of the plaintiff’s sister and
brother-in-law to arrive at a figure of $16,564. The evidence, necessarily, was quite
general. Mr Dickson, for the second defendant, invited me to “adopt a broad brush
approach”, and award $10,000 for past gratuitous care. He relied particularly on a
concession made by the plaintiff that he was able to cook, clean, feed and look after
himself from six months after the accident. That evidence was not entirely
unqualified and did not take into account difficulties experienced by the plaintiff in
moving up and down stairs, over rough ground and the restrictions resulting from
his pain. In the light of these matters it is appropriate to discount the claimed figure
by 20% and I allow $13,160. Interest is allowed on that figure at 5% per annum.
-- 7 of 20 --
8
Griffiths v Kerkemeyer (future gratuitous care)
[36] The plaintiff claims $21,393. That is calculated on the basis of one hour per week
at $22.90 for 30 years, discounted by 10% for contingencies and further discounted
on the 3% tables.
[37] In reliance on the evidence referred to under the last heading, Mr Dickson submitted
that nothing should be allowed on account of future gratuitous care. I accept that
the evidence supporting the claim is modest but, in my view, the general evidence
of the plaintiff’s incapacity supports a claim of to the order of one half hour per
week and I allow $10,000 (calculated generally on the basis put forward by Mr
Matthews).
Fox v Wood
[38] This figure is agreed at $9,227.
WorkCover Queensland refund
[39] Agreed at $96,571.
Past Economic Loss
[40] I generally adopt the plaintiff’s calculations. They appeared to me to more nearly
reflect the income the plaintiff would have received had he not been injured than did
the calculations put forward on behalf of the third defendant. One difficulty with
those calculations is that they sought to draw a mean between net earnings in the
year ended 30 June 1999 and those established at 1 March 2004. The calculation
was thus necessarily general and did not give an accurate reflection of the true rate
of remuneration resulting from changes in rates of pay at relevant times.
[41] The plaintiff’s past economic loss schedule, was not subjected to any specific
challenge. From it however, must be deducted the travel allowance and the meal
allowance. Those allowances are to accommodate extra costs occasioned by travel
and by being away from one’s place of residence during the working day. The third
defendant also submitted that past economic loss should be discounted by 15%
whereas the plaintiff’s calculations allow for a 10% discount on account of
contingencies. Having regard to the evidence of the close down in the industry in
the Christmas/New Year period, the likelihood of changes in jobs, downturns
between employee’s jobs and time off for injuries and ill health I conclude that 15%
is the more appropriate figure. There will be interest on the figures so calculated,
net of WorkCover benefits and Centrelink benefits, totalling $60,669.50 at 5%.
Future Economic Loss
[42] The plaintiff submits that a figure of $536,761 is an appropriate award calculated on
the basis of $1,235 per week net for 16 years to age 65 ($715,682.50), discounted
by 25% for contingencies and residual earning capacity. The third defendant’s
submissions accept a prospective retirement age of 65 years but are calculated on a
net wage of $877 per week for 16.4 years giving a total sum of $509,140. It is then
submitted that a 40% discount should be applied to arrive at a figure of $305,484.
No doubt has been cast on the plaintiff’s income calculations and I adopt them
-- 8 of 20 --
9
except that they must be re-adjusted to exclude the figures on account of travel
allowance and meal allowance. Additionally, I consider that the discount for
contingencies and residual earning capacity should be 33 1 / 3%.
[43] The work of a steel fixer is quite heavy in nature. Some workers are able to
continue to do it until normal retirement age but many cannot. There is a high
attrition rate, as one might expect. It is relevant also that the plaintiff, in my
estimation, is not a highly motivated person and would be unlikely to persist in
work which caused him substantial physical pain or discomfort. Relevant also are
periods of industry downturn and, as mentioned above, gaps in remuneration
between jobs and during industry breaks.
[44] The plaintiff’s residual income earning capacity must be taken into account. The
medical evidence discloses that it is substantial. The income which could be
expected as a result of that capacity was not explored in evidence, it being the
position of the second and third defendants that the plaintiff had the onus of proof
whilst the plaintiff contended that the defendants bore the onus.
[45] The legal onus of proving that damage has been suffered and the quantum of the
damage rests with the plaintiff 1 . It was thus for the plaintiff to establish the extent
of his loss, particularly as the plaintiff’s own evidence revealed the existence of a
substantial income earning capacity.
[46] In the absence of other than minimal evidence about the availability of work within
the plaintiff’s capacity and the remuneration for such work, there are obvious
difficulties in quantification but the plaintiff’s claim does not fail on that account.
The Court is entitled, and perhaps obliged, to make the best estimate it can in the
circumstances 2 . In determining loss resulting from diminution in earning capacity
courts have a broad discretion and may make awards on the basis of little evidence3 .
[47] The plaintiff having regard to his limited education and clerical attainments will
require some training and the range of jobs available to him is restricted because of
his physical limitations, including his need to sit periodically.
Future medical expenses
[48] The plaintiff claims $8,000. The third defendant’s schedule allows for $6,711. The
difference between the two figures is essentially the difference between the 10%
and the 15% discounting factors for which they respectively contend. In my view
10% is appropriate and I allow $8,000.
Conclusions
[49] There will be judgment for the plaintiff against the second and third defendants.
The first defendant is entitled to judgment against the plaintiff with costs. I invite
the parties to agree a calculation of damages and to bring in minutes of order to give
effect to the foregoing reasons.
1 Purkess v Crittenden (1965) 114 CLR 164 at 167, 168.
2 Fink v Fink (1946) 74 CLR 127 at 143; Naylor v Yorkshire Electricity Board (1968) AC 529 at 548;
Baird v Roberts (1977) 2 NSWLR 389; State of New South Wales v Moss (2000) 54 NSWLR 536.
3 State of New South Wales v Moss (at para 87) and Smith v Topp [2003] QCA 397 para 26.
-- 9 of 20 --
10
The plaintiff’s claims against the second and third defendants
[50] Counsel for the second and third defendants did not argue in addresses that their
respective clients were not liable to the plaintiff. The implicit concessions were
properly made. It is plain that these parties each breached a tortious duty of care to
the plaintiff.
The plaintiff’s claim against the first defendant
[51] In submissions, reliance was placed on the following particulars of negligence –
“11. ...
(c) failing to take any or any adequate or proper precautions to
ensure that the ‘soldiers’ it had affixed did not become or
remain a danger to the plaintiff;
(d) causing or permitting the soldiers to be or become or to remain
fixed in a manner which presented a danger to the plaintiff in
that the same may be utilised as a handhold in the absence of
guard or hand rails or scaffold;
(e) failing to give to the plaintiff any or any adequate or proper
warning as to the condition of and/or danger presented by the
soldiers prior to the commencement of his work;
…
(g) failing to erect any or any proper or adequate system of
scaffolding, hand rails, guard rails or any other form of fall
protection;”.
[52] The essence of the plaintiff’s case against the first defendant is that the soldier
which gave way was not securely nailed and that the first defendant was aware or
ought reasonably to have been aware that in the absence of protective railings,
persons working on the formwork could use the soldiers for “some form of
support”.
[53] The difficulty with the plaintiff’s case is that the evidence does not suggest that the
first defendant ought to have appreciated that workmen would work on the subject
formwork unprotected by appropriate protective railings. The evidence is to the
contrary. The degree of risk of an accident occurring and the degree of injury likely
to result from such an accident are relevant to a determination of whether there is a
breach of a duty to take reasonable care.4
[54] There is no evidence either from which one could form a sensible appreciation of
the risks presented by a loose soldier where a protective railing had been erected.
The width of the ledges is such that a worker using them would, at all times, have
the railings available for immediate support. They would provide protection, not
only against the risk of falling off the platform but against the risk of a fall resulting
from a loose soldier giving way. In those circumstances, I am unable to find a
breach of any pleaded duty of care on the part of the first defendant.
4 Raimondo v State of South Australia (1978-1989) 23 ALR 513 at 518.
-- 10 of 20 --
11
Is the second defendant entitled to indemnity under the first limb of clause 16 of
the subcontract?
[55] As against the third defendant, the second defendant relies on clause 16 of the
subcontract entered into between those parties to claim an indemnity against it in
respect of the plaintiff’s claim. The second defendant also claims damages arising
out of the third defendant’s alleged failure to provide the insurance stipulated in the
clause. Clause 16 provides as follows –
“Liabilities, Indemnities and Insurances The Subcontractor shall
not commit any act of trespass or commit any nuisance or be guilty
of any negligence and shall effectually protect and hereby
indemnifies the Builder and the Builder’s employees against all loss,
damage, injury or liability whatsoever that may occur in respect of
the Works or through the execution of the Works and in case of any
such loss, damage, injury or liability occurring the Subcontractor
shall make full compensation and shall make good all such loss,
damage, injury or liability and if the Builder is required to pay any
damages for such loss, damage, injury or liability the amount of such
damages may together with all costs which the Builder may have
incurred in defending or settling the claim for such damages may be
deducted from any monies due or becoming due to the Subcontractor
under this Contract or may be recovered from the Subcontractor as
liquidated damages in that respect incurred and without any way
affecting the generality of the foregoing the Subcontractor expressly
covenants and agrees with the Builder that in respect of –
(a) Injury to Persons and Property
The Subcontractor shall effect a Public and Products Liability
Insurance Policy in the joint names of the Proprietor, the Builder
and the Subcontractor, for an amount not less than that stated in
the Second Schedule in respect of any one occurrence. The
Policy shall include a Cross Liability Clause, in which the
Insurer waives all rights of subrogation against any of the parties
comprising the Insured, and accepts that each of these parties is
considered as if a separate Policy had been issued to each of
them. The Policy must indemnify the Insured parties in respect of
claims made against them by any person who is not defined as a
‘worker’ under the WorkCover Queensland Act 1996. The Policy
shall be maintained until the Final Certificate under the Head
Contract is received by the Builder.
(b) Injury to Employees and PPS Workers
The Subcontractor shall insure and keep insured against any
liability, loss, claim or proceedings whatsoever whether arising at
Common Law or by virtue of any statute relating to Workers
Compensation or Employer’s Liability by any person employed
by him in or about the execution of the Works. The amount of
insurance in respect of Common Law Liability shall be for an
unlimited amount. The Subcontractor shall also insure any
person engaged by them, who is not defined as a ‘worker’ under
-- 11 of 20 --
12
the WorkCover Queensland Act 1996, under an Eligible Persons
cover or Income Protection Insurance.”
[56] The scope of the indemnity is limited, to an extent, by the definition of Works
which is –
“Provide all supervision, labour, materials, plant and equipment
necessary to place and fix of all the steel reinforcement and
associated works, in accordance with the plans, specification and
tender documentation.”
[57] The third defendant disputes the applicability of the first limb of clause 16 on the
basis that, properly construed, it indemnifies the second defendant only against loss
it suffers occasioned by the trespass, nuisance or negligence of the third defendant.
That result is said to flow from the introductory words of the clause. It is submitted,
in reliance on the following passage from the reasons of Lord Dilhorne in Smith v
South Wales Switchgear Limited5 that, as the clause seeks to have one person
indemnify another against loss occasioned by its own negligence or fault, it should
be strictly construed –
“While an indemnity clause may be regarded as the obverse of an
exempting clause, when considering the meaning of such a clause
one must, I think, regard it as even more inherently improbable that
one party should agree to discharge the liability of the other for acts
for which he is responsible.”
[58] Reliance is placed also on Canberra Formwork Pty Ltd v Civil & Civic Ltd6 in
which a provision, almost identical to the first limb of clause 16, was construed in
the manner for which the third defendant contends. There is considerable similarity
between the facts in Canberra Formwork and those in this case. In the former, the
plaintiff, a formwork contractor contracted with the first defendant builder to supply
and construct formwork for the concrete to be used in constructing a multistorey
building. That contract contained the indemnity clause to which reference has been
made. An employee of the plaintiff was killed in an accident on formwork erected
by the plaintiff and his widow succeeded in an action against the plaintiff. The
plaintiff then sought contribution from the first defendant and the second defendant,
who was the first defendant’s site engineer. It was held that the second defendant
had failed to take reasonable steps to prevent injury to the deceased and would have
been liable to his widow and further that the first defendant, as the second
defendant’s employer, would have been vicariously liable to the widow. It was held
also that each defendant was liable to contribute one-third of the amount of the
plaintiff’s liability.
[59] In the course of his reasons Blackburn CJ analysed the clause as follows:
“The vital question is whether the words ‘any loss, damage, injury or
liability that may occur’ in the second limb extend to those caused by
the fault of the general contractor. The third limb does not help in
this problem because the word ‘such’ shows that its meaning is co-
extensive with that of the second. The first limb is clear in itself.
Were it followed by a full stop, and a fortiori if the second limb
began a new clause or a new paragraph, there would be a strong
5 (1978) 1 WLR 165.
6 (1982) 41 ACTR 1.
-- 12 of 20 --
13
argument that the first limb does not affect the sense of the second.
But as the clause stands, I think that the first limb indicates the extent
of meaning of the phrase ‘loss, damage, injury or liability’ in the
second and third limbs – that is, loss etc occasioned by fault of the
kind indicated by the first limb. To construe the second limb more
extensively is to attribute to the draftsman a grossly forced
conjunction of two distinct provisions. Construed as I think it should
be, the second limb does not extend to loss etc occasioned by the
fault of the general contractor. It indemnifies the general contractor
against liability for breach of a non-delegable duty (eg one imposed
by statute) or for strict liability eg under the Rylands v Fletcher
[1861-73] All ER Rep 1, doctrine), occasioned by the trespass,
nuisance, or negligence of the sub-contractor, but not against liability
arising from the fault of the general contractor itself.”
[60] Blackburn CJ then found support for his conclusions in the application of the contra
proferentem rule and from the general unlikelihood, in his view, that the parties
intended that one indemnify the other against the latter’s own default. He referred to
the following passage from the reasons of Buckley LJ in Gillespie Bros & Co Ltd v
Roy Bowles Transport Ltd – 7
“It is … a fundamental consideration in the construction of contracts
of this kind that it is inherently improbable that one party to the
contract should intend to absolve the other party from the
consequences of the latter’s own negligence.”
[61] He referred also to like observations by Kitto J in Davis v Commissioner for Main
Roads – 8
“It seems to me impossible to suppose that the parties were intending
that the appellant should indemnify the respondent against claims
based upon the respondent’s negligence.”
[62] The second defendant argues that Canberra Formwork is distinguishable as the
word “whatsoever” in the fourth line of clause 16 has no counterpart in the clause
under consideration in Canberra Formwork. It does not seem to me though that the
deletion of that word from clause 16 would alter its sense. The indemnity is against
“all loss, damage, injury or liability… that may occur in respect of the Works …”.
Placing “whatsoever” after “liability” does no more than emphasise that “all” should
be read literally. It cannot operate to change the nature of the loss etc. to which the
indemnity extends.
[63] The second defendant urged also that support for its construction was to be derived
from State of NSW v Tempo Services Ltd9 and Astley v Austrust Limited.10 The
former case concerned the construction of an indemnity clause in a contract between
the State of New South Wales and the respondent company which carried on a
business of contract cleaning. The clause relevantly provided –
“The Contractor shall be liable for and indemnifies and shall keep
indemnified the Government against any liability, loss, expense,
damages, claims, suits, actions, demands or proceedings, whether
7 [1973] QB 400 at 419.
8 (1968) 117 CLR 529 at 534.
9 [2004] NSWCA 4.
10 (1999) 197 CLR 1.
-- 13 of 20 --
14
arising under any statute or at common law, in respect of personal
injury (including illness) to or death of any person arising out of or in
connection with or caused by the performance of the Services.”
[64] A cleaner employed by the respondent tripped in the courtyard of a school premises
the subject of a cleaning contract between the State and the respondent. The cleaner
had a “back pack” vacuum cleaner strapped to her back, was holding a mop and
when injured was crossing the school courtyard in order to commence her cleaning
activities within the school building.
[65] The primary judge, for a variety of reasons, held that the indemnity clause did not
apply. One such reason was that the clause was not intended to apply in
circumstances in which there was no blame attributable to the State of New South
Wales and no “causal connection” between the injury and the performance of the
services. The reasons in the Court of Appeal, which allowed the appeal, point out
that the question which the primary judge had to decide was one of contractual
construction into which questions of fault did not intrude. The case, as I think is
apparent from the foregoing account, being on the construction of a provision of a
contract markedly different to the provision under consideration here, can offer
little, if any guidance.
[66] In Astley it was observed that it was common place for contracts to contain
provisions regulating liability for breach of a duty to take reasonable care. It was
then said in the joint judgment –
“Commercial people in particular prefer the certainty of fixed rules
to the vagueness of concepts such as ‘just and equitable’. That is
why it is commonplace for contracts to contain provisions regulating
liability for breach of a duty to take reasonable care, whether by
excluding liability altogether or limiting it in some other way.
Absent some contractual stipulation to the contrary, there is no
reason of justice or sound legal policy which should prevent the
plaintiff in a case such as the present recovering for all the damage
that is causally connected to the defendant’s breach even if the
plaintiff’s conduct has contributed to the damage which he or she has
suffered. By its own voluntary act, the defendant has accepted an
obligation to take reasonable care and, subject to remoteness rules, to
pay damages for any loss or damage flowing from a breach of that
obligation. If the defendant wishes to reduce its liability in a
situation where the plaintiff’s own conduct contributes to the damage
suffered, it is open to the defendant to make a bargain with the
plaintiff to achieve that end. Of course, the result of such a bargain
may be that the defendant will have to take a reduced consideration
for its promise to take reasonable care. But the bargain will be the
product of the parties’ voluntary agreement to subject themselves to
their respective obligations.”11
11 At 37.
-- 14 of 20 --
15
[67] Principles applicable to the construction of exclusion and limitation clauses are
expounded in Darlington Futures v Velco Australia Pty Ltd12 in which, after
referring to four earlier decisions of the Court, 13 it was said –
“These decisions clearly establish that the interpretation of an
exclusion clause is to be determined by construing the clause
according to its natural and ordinary meaning, read in the light of the
contract as a whole, thereby giving due weight to the context in
which the clause appears including the nature and object of the
contract, and, where appropriate, construing the clause contra
proferentem in case of ambiguity. Notwithstanding the comments of
Lord Fraser in Ailsa Craig [1983] 1 All E.R., at p. 105, the same
principle applies to the construction of limitation clauses. … And the
principle, in the form in which we have expressed it, does no more
than express the general approach to the interpretation of contracts
and it is of sufficient generality to accommodate the different
considerations that may arise in the interpretation of a wide variety
of exclusion and limitation clauses in formal commercial contracts
between business people where no question of the reasonableness or
fairness of the clause arises.”
[68] In Van Der Sterren v Cibernetics (Holdings) Pty Ltd,14 Walsh J drew attention to
the necessity of ascertaining the parties’ intention –
“The terms of exception clauses must sometimes be read down if
they cannot be applied literally without creating an absurdity or
defeating the main object of the contract … But such a modification
by implication of the language which the parties have used in an
exception clause is not to be made unless it is necessary to give
effect to what the parties must be understood to have intended.”
[69] Another illustration of the way in which the parties’ intention may depart from the
meaning of a clause literally construed is provided by Sydney Corporation v West.
It was a parking ticket case in which the ticket contained the clause –15
“The Council does not accept any responsibility for the loss or
damage to any vehicle … however such loss, damage … may arise
or be caused. … The plaintiff’s car was taken from the parking
station by an unauthorized person who surrendered to the attendant a
duplicate parking ticket relating to another car which he had obtained
by falsely representing that he had lost his ticket. It was the
attendant’s duty not to allow cars to proceed out of the station
otherwise than upon the surrender by the driver of the appropriate
ticket.”
[70] Barwick CJ and Taylor J, in explaining why the clause did not exclude the
defendant from liability, said:16
12 [1986] 161 CLR 500.
13 Sydney Corporation v West (1965) 114 CLR 481; Thomas National Transport (Melbourne) Pty Ltd v
May & Baker (Australia) Pty Ltd (1966) 115 CLR 353; Van Der Sterren v Cibernetics (Holdings)
Pty Ltd (1970) 44 ALJR 157, at p 158; Port Jackson Stevedoring Pty Ltd v Salmond & Spraggon
(Aust) Pty Ltd (1978) 139 CLR 231, at p 238.
14 (1970) 44 ALJR 157 at 158.
15 At 481.
16 At 488.
-- 15 of 20 --
16
“… in the case where a contract of bailment contains an exempting
clause such as we have to consider the protection afforded by the
clause will be lost if the goods the subject of the bailment are stored
in a place or in a manner other than that authorized by the contract or
if the bailee consumes or destroys them instead of storing them or if
he sells them.
...
But we would deny the application of such a clause in those
circumstances simply upon the interpretation of the clause itself.
Such a clause contemplates that loss or damage may occur by reason
of negligence on the part of the warehouseman or his servants in
carrying out the obligations’ created by the contract. But in our view
it has no application to negligence in relation to acts done with
respect to a bailor’s goods which are neither authorized nor permitted
by the contract … Negligence in these circumstances would be right
outside the purview of the clause.”
[71] The following often quoted observations of Diplock LJ in Antaios Compania
Naviera SA v Salen Rederierna AB are also pertinent:17
“… if detailed semantic and syntactical analysis of words in a
commercial contract is going to lead to a conclusion that flouts
business commonsense, it must be made to yield to business
commonsense.”
[72] There is obvious difficulty in construing clause 16 as if the words “caused by any
such trespass” appeared after “loss, damage, injury or liability whatsoever”. Not
only do those words not appear in the clause but the introductory words of
prohibition do not naturally qualify “loss, damage etc”.
[73] On balance, and with consideration hesitation, I accept the defendants’ construction.
I adopt, with respect, much of the reasoning of Blackburn CJ. In particular, I regard
it as significant that the introductory words are not contained in a separate sentence
let alone a paragraph. Unless the clause is construed in this way the introductory
words are quite incongruous and, being limited in scope, in contrast with the
indemnity provisions, have a limited role. That role would appear to be to give rise
to an act of default under clause 16 in the event of breach.
[74] Unless the clause is construed in this way, the subcontractor would be liable for
losses sustained by the builder as a result of its negligence, its breaches of the head
contract or breaches of statutory duty. It may even be arguable that the
subcontractor would be liable for damages sustained by the builder as a result of its
own deliberate wrongdoing. The parties, of course, may make such a contract if
they wish, but in ascertaining the parties’ intention, it is appropriate to have
particular regard to textual indications that no such consequences were intended.
[75] The fact that the subject provisions were agreed to by the parties well after the
reported decision in Canberra Formwork Pty Ltd supports the conclusion I have
reached.
17 [1985] AC 191, 201
-- 16 of 20 --
17
Was there a breach by the third defendant of its obligations under clause 16(a) of
the subcontract?
[76] Sub-clause (a) of clause 16 creates an obligation on the part of the third defendant to
effect a Public and Products Liability Insurance Policy “in respect of any one
occurrence”. It does not elaborate on the risk against which the insurance is to be
effected. The third defendant argues that to determine the scope of the obligation it
is necessary to go to the first sub-clause of clause 16. By this process it may be
ascertained that the risk is that against which the third defendant has indemnified
the second defendant namely, “all loss, damage, injury or liability whatsoever that
may occur in respect of the Works or through the execution of the Works”.
[77] The wording of sub-clause (b), however, is inconsistent with that approach. It
requires that a Public and Products Liability Insurance Policy be taken out against
injury to persons and property. It is implicit that it is in respect of “the works”. The
insured are to be “the Proprietor, the Builder and the Subcontractor”. The insurer is
to have no right of subrogation against any of the insured parties and each is to be
“considered as if a separate policy had been issued to each of them”. The language
of the sub-clause thus does not suggest that the policy is to be limited to the liability
indemnified against under the first limb of clause (16).
[78] Reference to sub-clause (c), headed “Injury to Employees and POS workers”, shows
that there is no correlation between the indemnity given under the first limb of
clause 16 and the scope of the insurance required under that sub-clause. The
insurance is required to be against loss arising from statutory as well as common
law claims.
[79] Sub-clause (b) defines the nature of the required policy in greater detail than does
sub-clause (a) but the reason for that, in my view, lies in the nature of the subject
policies. In respect of the “Public and Products Liability” policy required under sub-
clause (a), it is unnecessary to go beyond specifying that the “Policy must
indemnify the Insured parties in respect of claims made against them by any
person…” It was not argued that a clause in such terms would be so indefinite in its
meaning as to be void for uncertainty. Nor was it argued that its terms would not
extend to loss or damage of the nature of the subject loss and damage.
[80] Also, there is nothing unusual from a commercial viewpoint in requiring a
subcontractor to be responsible for effecting the insurance cover required for its part
of the works. The considerations underlying the construction of the first limb of
clause 16 are thus generally inapplicable to the construction of sub-clause (a).
[81] Finally, on this aspect of the matter, I mention that it was not pleaded or argued that
there should be some discounting of the damages recoverable by the second
defendant to take into account the risk that the insurer may not pay out in full or at
all.
[82] It was argued that there was no obligation to effect the policy of insurance as it did
not apply to any person defined as a “worker” under the WorkCover Queensland
Act 1996 (Qld). Section 12(1) of that Act contains the following definition –
“12.(1) A ‘worker’ is an individual who –
(a) works under a contract of service; and
(b) is a PAYE taxpayer in relation to the remuneration or other benefit
received for the performance of work under the contract of service.”
-- 17 of 20 --
18
If that provision is construed literally, the clause would not apply to claims by a
person who, in effect, was an employee of any person, firm or company. It is
highly unlikely that was the intention of the parties. Nor do I consider it likely that
the parties intended that the policy not apply to a claim against the proprietor or
builder by a person who was not a “worker” in respect of the proprietor or builder,
as the case may be. The more obvious intent was that the policy not apply to a
claim against a named insured by an employee of that insured. That construction,
as it should, takes into account the operation of sub-clause (b) which requires the
subcontractor to have appropriate insurance cover in respect of its workers.
[83] The evidence discloses that the third defendant failed to take out the policy required
under sub-clause (a). It was thus in breach of contract. Nothing in the third
defendant’s pleaded case or in the evidence suggests that the loss suffered by the
second defendant in consequence of the breach is not commensurate with the extent
of the loss recoverable by the plaintiff against the second defendant and its costs.
Contribution between the second and third defendants
[84] Each of the second and third defendants claims contribution against the other. In
view of previous findings, the second defendant’s obligation to make contribution to
the third defendant will not result in any practical benefit for the third defendant: the
second defendant’s loss resulting from the third defendant’s breach of clause 16(a)
will be increased to the extent of the contribution. It is necessary, however, to make
findings in relation to contribution in case the matters goes on appeal.
[85] Apportionment of liability between joint tortfeasors is effected under s 6 and s 7 of
the Law Reform Act 1995 (Qld).
[86] Section 7 provides that the contribution recoverable from any person “shall be such
as may be found by the court to be just and equitable having regard to the extent of
that person's responsibility for the damage”.
[87] In Wynbergen v Hoyts Corporation Pty Ltd,18 Hayne J, with whose reasons the
other members of the Court agreed, referring to sections 7-10 of the Law Reform
(Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1965 (NSW) said –
“This and other apportionment legislation is predicated upon a
finding that a person suffers damage as the result partly of the
person’s own fault and partly of the fault of any other person or
persons. No doubt the making of the apportionment which the
legislation requires involves comparison of the culpability of the
parties, ie, the degree to which each has departed from the standard
of what is reasonable, but that is not the only element to be
considered. Regard must be had to the ‘relative importance of the
acts of the parties in causing the damage’ and it is ‘the whole conduct
of each negligent party in relation to the circumstances of the
accident which must be subjected to comparative examination’
(italics added).
No doubt also, as the Court said in Podrebersek v Australian Iron &
Steel Pty Ltd ‘[t]he significance of the various elements involved in
18 (1997) 72 ALJR 65 at 68.
-- 18 of 20 --
19
such an examination will vary from case to case’ and ‘the
circumstances of some cases may be such that a comparison of the
relative importance of the acts of the parties in causing the damage
will be of little, if any, importance.’” (Footnotes omitted)
[88] Wynbergen and Podrebersek19 were concerned with contribution between an injured
claimant and a wrongdoer, but as Sheller JA, with whose reasons Spigelman CJ and
Stein JA agreed, observed in James Hardie and Coy Pty Ltd v Roberts20 there is no
reason to think that any different principles apply when considering contribution as
between tortfeasors.
[89] The conduct of the second and third defendants is comparable to the extent that they
were both aware that: steel workers were being required to work on the site without
the protection of railings; such railings had been provided when similar work had
been undertaken elsewhere on the site and that the provision of appropriate railings
was necessary if a foreseeable risk of injury resulting from a fall from a
considerable height was to be obviated or, at least, minimised.
[90] The relevant points of difference in those parties’ conduct appear to me to be these.
The third defendant had the direction and control of the plaintiff’s activities and a
duty to provide a safe system of work. The second defendant had the overall control
of the site, including the general management of site safety. It had the responsibility
of erecting protective railings where they were needed. It had assumed that
responsibility in the past and the first and third defendants looked to it to continue
with that role.
[91] It was the second defendant which made the decision that the subject work be done
despite the absence of the safety precautions which it deemed necessary. It directed
the third defendant to undertake the work and thus created the opportunity for the
plaintiff’s accident.
[92] The second defendant’s conduct and, in particular, its direction to do the subject
work, cannot excuse the third defendant’s dereliction of its duty to its employee.
The reality of the situation, however, was that the subcontractors such as the third
defendant would tend to rely on the second defendant in relation to matters of safety
and would tend to follow its directions concerning the work to be undertaken. That
is particularly so where, as was the case here, the builder’s site foreman was
requiring significant aspects of the works to be performed immediately or virtually
so.
[93] For these reasons, I conclude that the second defendant is more culpable and that its
acts and omissions played a more significant role in causing the plaintiff’s damage
than did those of the third defendant. Accordingly, I conclude that the appropriate
apportionment is two-thirds to the second defendant and one-third to the third
defendant and that the third defendant is entitled to recover contribution from the
second defendant for two-thirds of the damages and costs it is liable to pay the
plaintiff. The second defendant is entitled to recover contribution from the first
defendant for one-third of its damages and costs. The consequences of those
findings, however, need to be assessed in the light of the third defendant’s breach of
clause 16 and the damages flowing therefrom.
19 (1985) 59 ALJR 492.
20 (1999) 47 NSWLR 425 at 446.
-- 19 of 20 --
20
Contribution between the plaintiff and each of the second and third defendants
[94] The third defendant did not seek contribution against the plaintiff. The second
defendant, however, did seek such contribution. That claim fails. The plaintiff did
what he was told to do directly by his employer and indirectly by the second
defendant contractor. The plaintiff knew that there was a site safety officer and it
may be inferred that he was aware that careful consideration had been given by his
employer and the head contractor to site safety and statutory obligations relating
thereto. In the circumstances under consideration (which include the fact that the
second defendant is a large corporation of high repute) he was entitled to think that
the relevant instructions had issued after due consideration had been given to their
implications from an industrial safety viewpoint.
Conclusion
[95] The plaintiff is entitled to judgment with costs against the second and third
defendants.
The first defendant is entitled to judgment with costs against the plaintiff.
The second defendant has findings that the third defendant is in breach of clause
16(a) of the subcontract and that the loss flowing from such breach is co-extensive
with the quantum of the plaintiff’s claim against the second defendant together with
costs recoverable by the plaintiff from the second defendant
It is appropriate in the light of the above findings, and in view of the necessity to
give further consideration to the consequences of the WorkCover Queensland Act,
to give the parties an opportunity to consider these reasons and make submissions as
to the appropriate consequential orders.
-- 20 of 20 --
Official source: https://www.sclqld.org.au/caselaw/QSC/2004/155